We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean and convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #36 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Britain, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is clean, quiet, and convenient to the Convention Center. The advertised "free breakfast" leaves much to be desired, which is what lowers my rating. The nearby Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites are probably better overall for a comparable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We were happy to see that you enjoyed our convenient and quiet location.

I was disappointed to see that our breakfast didn’t meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies for your experience in this area. We have recently added additional staff to our breakfast area and hope you have the opportunity to come back and see how we have improved the service for our Atrium AM Skillet breakfast.

Again, thank you for taking time to respond and we hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    323
    92
    29
    12
See reviews for
238
162
30
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay in New Orleans. It was centrally located and we could walk everywhere we went, except for the Audubon Zoo. The city bus access is just a short walk from the hotel. Also, the price was great! I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to New Orleans that wants to get a good night's sleep and enjoys walking. You can just go to the Riverwalk and walk down the sidewalk to all of the big attractions. Also, their continental breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Place Convention Center while exploring the Big Easy! Rooms are impeccably clean! Staff is welcoming and caring, helped us with directions, taxis, and tours! Loved their free breakfast! Very convenient guest-laundry facility on the property! Modern Fitness Room and a free newspaper every morning! What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukrkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, General Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel while exploring the Big Easy.It is great to see that you took the opportunity to enjoy our free breakfast as well as the Fitness Room.

Again, thank you for taking time to respond and we hope to see you back in New Orleans in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Hotel was great very quite, you can't hear any outside noise or hallway noise..They have block out blinds to keep the sunlight out if you get the chance to sleep in.. They have Continential breakfast that was also good.. You are right across the street from the where the Cruise Ship docks..Also that is where you can caught the RTA Streetcar (train)..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at midnight after the Marriott at the Convention Center had given away our room. The staff at the front desk could not have been nicer or more welcoming!
Free breakfast every morning, clean rooms, great staff. I would definitely return if I return to New Orleans. Also, the convention center was directly across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alvasurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised to find that this is a really nice, clean hotel with spacious rooms and a good location right across from the convention centre. It's a bit of a hike to the French Quarter, but it's only a 6 dollar cab ride. Service was friendly. Good option to be a bit outside the Quarter.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jertzy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Because of a convention occurring during our stay, we had to move to this hotel in the middle of our stay. The room was slightly smaller than the typical Hyatt Place rooms in which I've stayed in the past, but still comfortable with all the typical associated amenities. If you're attending an event at the convention center, this is definitely the place to stay. It is located immediately across from the convention center. It has the included breakfast buffet. This particular Hyatt Place had an exceptionally good selection of fresh fruit for breakfast during our stay. The front desk staff was welcoming, professional and helpful throughout our stay. You'll note a lower than possible rating on value because it was a last moment booking occurring during a 35,000 person convention, which drove up the price. I suspect that on other occasions-booked well in advance-you can get very good value.

Room Tip: Because it's immediately across from the convention center, I would suggest booking a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#30 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130-1754 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing