We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service. Has overcharged me 3 times even after I paid in cash. Red tape trying to get money back. I even called the mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Ranked #50 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Horrible service. Has overcharged me 3 times even after I paid in cash. Red tape trying to get money back. I even called the mai”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Horrible service. Has overcharged me 3 times even after I paid in cash. Red tape trying to get money back. I even called the main office and that manager talked to me like a dog. My sister law so upset with them they gave her room to her for free and I get charged 3 times!!! I will never darken the doors of this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlshuntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPNO_GM, Manager at Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I was disappointed to read about your experience during your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate the opportunity to speak with you yesterday as well as assist with a resolution with the billing related issues.

Our goal is for our guest not to have problems during their stay however if they do, make sure that we provide a resolution and work to prevent recurrence. We will work with our team to provide additional coaching and training around the billing issues that you experienced. I am confident that our team will work hard to prevent issues of this nature in the future.

We appreciate you providing us with an opportunity to return to the hotel and allow us the opportunity to show you we can do better.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    371
    113
    37
    22
See reviews for
289
194
37
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Bay, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was very happy with the location of this hotel, for our business needs as well as our leisure time. Our room was great, and for the most part, the service was pretty good. We ran into a few less than happy people working, but I realize we're all human and we all have bad moments sometimes. Overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel has just been completely remodeled. The rooms are nicely decorated and of decent size.

There are several good restaurants within a short walk (Couchon for example) so the fact that the hotel doesn't have a proper restaurant is not a problem. The breakfast buffet in the morning was good even though a bit unorganized and constantly run out of flatware, but I am sure they will be able to fix that over time.

It's a 20 minute walk or so to French Quarters but if you can stand that this is a great option for your New Orleans stay. Don't forget to visit the WWII museum just a couple of blocks from the hotel.

It might be good to know that the hotel was called "Hotel New Orleans" before it became a Hyatt. Not all cab drivers are aware of the change yet.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is served on the 3rd floor so it can be a bit crowded in the mornings. Try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-South
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

An upscale feel. Very modern and attractively decorated. The food was excellent and the property was conveniently located. Clean and well-maintained. I would return to this property if I were in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank river280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogue Chitto,MS
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's a very nice an clean hotel when u arrive they have this perfume smell coming from d inside, lounge area was very nice there is a bar area also with a few tables in d corner ok to get the elevator to move u must use your key card then press your number this is a great feature to keep out unwanted guest. We stayed in room 708 a corner room next to a exit when entering room there is a closet area then around d corner a bath then lounge area then a bed with a desk coffee maker,freeze in cabinet,free Wifi nice flat screen beautiful view of other buildings. A bit of a walk if u are headed for Bourbon are Frenchmen Street but u could always catch a cab are pedicab not to expensive we paid 10$! for pedicab for 4 blocks staff was very friendly an recommended parking next door which was $10 cheaper! Bed was plenty big an comfy enough for 6 so my overall opinion was I would return!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Smith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend. Located just outside the French Quarter. Rooms were nice and clean. Hot shower, comfy bed. Breakfast could have been better. Located in between the garden district and Canal street. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grays2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family of four went down last weekend to enjoy the zoo. This hotel provided an excellent location since we did not want to be in the canal street/quarter area but was still an easy walk to those areas. The hotel is only a few months old so everything was new and clean!

The free breakfast was great and a bonus we were not expecting. One suggestion would be for the hotel to staff more than one attendant to the dining room. The lone worker was doing a good job but was overwhelmed around 9:30.

Also self parking is only $20 which seems like a bargain when parking downtown.

Room Tip: Corner room was very large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OleMissTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Address: 881 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130-1754 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Convention Center)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans’ downtown Arts District, across the street from the Convention Center, and within walking distance of award-winning restaurants, museums and art galleries, shopping, Harrah’s Casino, the riverfront, Aquarium of the Americas, and the French Quarter. The hotel offers a dine-in atrium restaurant, a fitness and business center, three meeting spaces, and complimentary wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas. The hotel’s convenient location also offers a direct route to the city’s airport, only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Orleans New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing