We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nick hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #81 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Beautiful hotel, very attractive room, close to Bourbon St, superb staff, and very affordable. Parking not so good unless valets are used.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

This hotel offers one of the best locations in New Orleans, a close walk to the Quarter and right in the middle of the CBD. Lots of things are within a short walk out the door. The hotel itself has mediocore rooms. Nothing really bad, but nothing really great either. Just a basic hotel room. The elevators are quick and the rooms are renovated. The shower and bathroom was okay. My biggest complaint is that the rooms are poorly insulated. The doors are thin and you can clearly hear everyone walking by and talking in the hallway and adjacent rooms. The hotel offers a breakfast that is ok, but a bit crowded. They have free wireless internet that was good. All in all, it is an okay choice. Just don't be surprised if you wake up to hall or neighboring room noise. I stayed here on a hotwire rate of $59 per night. For that price, I can't complain too much. If I had paid too much more, I would most likely have been unhappy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooneyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

OK, so parking sucks but thats just the area. On the upside you can walk, take a cab, or trolley very easily, and it was very nice not to have to worry about your vehicle. The valets were adequate and friendly. The bellman was AWESOME. We had to unload 2 vehicles, with pets and he maintained a positive, friendly attitude. The room was on the smallish side, but very clean and well stocked. The free breakfast is signature and pretty typical of this chain. If you are stopping in for a quick visit stay here. One down side was the pet walk. The nearest grassy was 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I had never stayed at a LaQuinta and was verty plesantly surprised at what I discovered. The hotel is very modern and clean. The service is excellent, the General Manager gives out his contact information upon check-in. Free wireless is easy to navigate. Nice pool on 5th floor. Very convenient location - couple of blocks to Bourbon St., Harrah's, etc. Great value!

I spent over 2 weeks on business at the property and I make it a point to tell everyone what a distinguihed LaQuinta property it is...
would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I took my girlfriend there for a surprise weekend away. We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The room was great and extremely clean. The staff was friendly, professional and very knowledgable of the area. The front desk arranged a tour for us to go on, which was most enjoyable. The valet took a little longer than we would have liked, but all in all, there wasn't much more this hotel could've done to make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puppyloveme31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Staff were exceptionally courteous, the room was good size, with an upscale, solid feel to it. Has a well equipped gym but the pool is too small to do any real swimming, the whole pool area is small and plain. The free breakfast is of a good variety with fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt, cereals, muffins etc. The hotel is very quiet for being in the middle of town, it is just a few minutes walk to the french quarter and a 15 minute brisk walk to the convention center, its also right next to the street car. This hotes is a gem and an excellent value when compared to the super high priced hotels close by. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntieannie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This is a very pleasant hotel only 5 minutes walk from the French Quarter, with the advantage of much less noise at night.
I stayed there during Jazzfest 2010 whilst friends of mine stayed at the Moteleone in the French Quarter - they were much more impressed by the quality and standard of my room than theirs!
My room was a 2 x double (photos attached) and was very spacious, clean, modern plus the hotel offers free wifi.
Having previously used other hotels nearby in the last 2 years, I will definitely use this hotel again (as will my friends).
Although the hotel offered a continental breakfast, I must admit I went for something more substantial at the small diner on the opposite side of the street.
For evening meals, I would also recommend The Green Goddess in Exchange Alley - great food and great service from a guy who I assume was the owner.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#104 of 166 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#90 of 166 in New Orleans
911 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Address: 301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2803 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $97 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 15 story LaQuinta Inn and Suites is located just a few blocks from the French Quarter in the heart of New Orleans CBD. We offer valet parking at a charge of $35 per day, plus tax. Enhanced continental breakfast is provided daily and is complimentary - breakfast hours are 6 am - 9 am weekdays and 7 am - 10 am on weekends. Free wifi and a caring, knowledgeable staff await the opportunity to make your stay at LaQuinta Inn and Suites Downtown New Orleans flawless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
La Quinta New Orleans
New Orleans La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing