We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convienant and Reasonable Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convienant and Reasonable Choice”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed here while my spouse was on convention at the Crown Astor. The La Quinta hotel is extremelly well located; within walking distance to Burbon Street, the river front and of course Canal Street and half the cost of the Crown Astor!

The rooms were spacious and breakfast had variety. Best of all it was reasonably priced at less than $80 per night! Service was fine but we didn't run into any real trouble to test them. I don't normally chose this brand of hotel but this one will make me consider the brand in the future for quality and value. There was supposed to be a bar/resturant in the lobby but during our stay it was never open, of course there are plenty of bars to choose from!! It's New Orleans!! :-)

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank newbutterfly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    443
    180
    70
    70
See reviews for
337
375
56
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We toured the US in OCT/Nov 2006 and this was the best hotel we found. Very clean, great price, great staff, lovely rooms/beds. Great location. Just a great all -rounder! Cant recommend enough!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bigdave95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unknown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Bed bugs were found on 4th floor. Unknown if exterminator was called. Hotel staff was accommodating.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron Area
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

I read reviews about this place not respecting the quoted rate and offering poor service on the hotel breakfast, so I was hesitant to keep my reservation. But, I have got to say that my husband and I stayed for three nights and received outstanding service. The breakfast was good (and there was plenty of everything), the front desk was always staffed by helpful employees, and the location was fantastic. We had no problem with our room rate or anything else. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed at La Quinta when we were in town for a convention. The hotel was only about 7-10 minutes walk to the convention center. It is reasonably priced and is conveniently located to all the major attractions in downtown New Orleans, especially the street car line, children's museum and the river walk. The parking was a little steep at $22/day, it could have been lower. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. One small grievance was that the floors could have been cleaner - I got pricked by a glass piece on the floor. I told the staff and immediately the room service took care of it. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wanderloost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We stayed here for the French Quarter Fest, It's at a Nice Location, just off Canel St and Very Close (Walking Distance) from the Quarter. The Famous "Mothers" Restaurant is Just around the corner. A Great Price and I would Stay here again!.

  • Liked — Location and price.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amishcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

This hotel has many good qualities however there are a few things that you have to watch out for! On a positive note - the hotel was very clean and was in a spectacular location. Very convenient to everything you would need to be close to Harrahs, Bourbon Street, Canal Street - and at a very reasonable rate. While we were very pleased with the rate as well as the cleanliness and the location there were 2 things that were just unacceptable. I had read another review where someone checked in and they had the wrong rate - well luckily I read this on here and printed out the reservations w/ the confirmed rate b/c upon check in I was give a rate that was $60 more per night than the original quote. I had to produce the confirmation or I would have been charged the additional $60 per night so please be careful if you are staying at this hotel. I was told upon check in that they had problems with the website not confirming rates but from the looks of the reviews this is just a practice this hotel has - and they try to get you to initial by the rate upon check - in so if you catch it later - too bad you've agreed to the rate so please proceed with caution upon check-in.

The only other negative thing we had was the breakfast. If you go in and expect the breakfast advertised please note you will be disappointed. They did offer all of the things on listed on their website however they fill it up in the morning and when its gone - its gone. We went to breakfast at 9AM and they were out of all juices, eggs, sausage, milk, waffles - this might not seem like a lot but it was all they had other than muffins and toast- when you ask for refills the breakfast hostess gets really upset and goes at a snails pace and gives you dirty looks (she likes to sit in the back room and talk with her co-workers) - if this was just a one day thing it would be more understandable but it was every day that we were there so we eventually just gave up on breakfast as we knew we would be disappointed and frustrated from having to wait so long on items. We asked for more juice (again all juice and milk was empty) - waited for 20 minutes - it never came so we just gave up and went and bought our own breakfast.

Overall the hotel is fine and like I said in a great location and clean just be extra cautious of your confirmed rate at check-in, make sure to take your confirmed rate with you and do not plan on having the complimentary breakfast each morning that the hotel promises as you will be heavily let down.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — That our confirmed reservation rate was changed and the poor service for breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tab74mu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#71 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Address: 301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2803 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 15 story LaQuinta Inn and Suites is located just a few blocks from the French Quarter in the heart of New Orleans CBD. We offer valet parking at a charge of $35 per day. Enhanced continental breakfast is provided daily and is complimentary - breakfast hours re 6 am - 9 am weekdays and 7 am - 10 am on weekends. Free wifi and a caring, knowledgeable staff await the opportunity to make your stay at LaQuinta Inn and Suites Downtown New Orleans flawless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
La Quinta New Orleans
New Orleans La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing