We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely "home away from home" experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #33 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plantation, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely "home away from home" experience.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A lovely guest house where they make you feel welcome and at home. The rooms are nice, they have a delicious breakfast, and the sitting areas where you can visit with friends, have a glass of the wine they provide daily or just decompress after a hectic day of exploring are unparelleled.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamGonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    25
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
45
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was an absolutely wonderful find. My wife and I stayed here with friends for Jazzfest and it was absolutely perfect. It's 15 minutes from everything you could imagine, but yet still far enough from Bourbon Street to be quiet and not require you to be impaired to enjoy it. The building itself is nestled right alongside the Audubon Park and Zoo, our room was directly overlooking the park.It was spacious, with comfy beds, jacuzzi baths, excellent staff, and delicious breakfast. We will most definitely be returning. Of all the places we've stayed in New Orleans, this has been by far the most pleasant experience. Keep up the great work!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Close enough to everything and away from the raucous French Quarter, this is a peaceful beauty. Audubon Park and zoo are alongside, so ask for a park facing room. Our room was large with a sitting room, super comfy bed, and finely appointed with antiques. Breakfasts were delicious with pastries, biscuits, eggs, shrimp grits, fresh berries...something delicious and different each day. Snacks, beer, wine and soft drinks in the afternoons and evenings. We enjoyed walking the neighborhood and seeing all the grand homes. Parking on a side street makes getting around easy. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a beautiful place. Not only are the accommodations beautiful but they are homey and comfortable. Each room has its own charm and sitting out on the porch looking out over the park and st. Charles is wonderful. The breakfast is good with a great variety.

Rooms are clean and very comfortable

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Located across street from Tulane University and next to Audobon Park, this is a charming 19th century hotel with amazing service and a bountiful free breakfast with hot food, cereals, pastries, yogurts. Rooms are clean and have beautiful views of the park, staff was friendly and helpful. Walking distance (longish walk) to St. Charles streetcar that takes you to French Quarter in about 20 minutes. Would not stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This guest house was awesome! The "new lady" that assisted us was kind, helpful, and informative. The place was convenient, clean, spacious and beautiful. The free goodies of snacks, drinks, alcohol, breakfast and parking was a great bonus! We'll stay here every time we visit!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teenyNgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights while visiting Tulane. It is the only inn within walking distance of Tulane & Loyola, and sits right on St Charles next to Audobon Park. The service and location were excellent, the breakfast (included) was good as well. Parking is available on the side street (Walnut). It is quite a hike up to the 2nd floor because of the tall ceilings, and even more so to the 3rd floor, since the 2nd floor has the tallest 2nd floor ceilings I have ever seen. We stayed 2 nights in room 10 on the 2nd floor, and one night in room 21 on the 3rd floor. The second floor room was the most charming room I think I've ever stayed in, beautifully decorated and overlooking the park. The 3rd floor room was fine, but a letdown after rm. 10... smaller and less charm. But still fine, and a great stay. Would definitely return, a perfect location and a beautiful place. Complimentary wine, sherry & homemade lemonade each afternoon a treat as we sat on the porch watching activity on St Charles!

Room Tip: stay on the 2nd floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#17 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House

Property: Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Address: 7004 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-3540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Uptown / Carrollton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House is one of the oldest inns in our city, dating to 1884. We have 22 beautiful guest rooms decorated in a traditional New Orleans style. Many have antique tester beds (with new mattresses of course) and period furnishings. Every room has its own modern and well appointed bath. All rooms have flat screen TVs and daily maid service. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served daily in the Audubon Dining Room overlooking the famous Audubon Park on Saint Charles Avenue. Owned and operated by tenth generation locals, the Park View is the place to stay if you want a true New Orleans experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing