We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great alternative to the chain hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #33 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great alternative to the chain hotels”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at Park View to be close to Tulane University. It's right across the street! So convenient. Park View is old, but it's clean, comfy and cozy. My room had a/c, a LCD TV and a brand new bathroom with a shower that couldn't be beat by the best five star hotel. Their breakfast was great and they have wine and snacks out in the evening. If all of the above wasn't enough, they're right on the street car line. Park View is in a relatively quiet area, very homey, and will certainly be my New Orleans hotel of choice form now on.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PittTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    25
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
45
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
281 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I traveled to NO to visit my niece that goes to school at Loyola. My sister recommended his place as the closest place to stay. I was traveling alone and normally would stay away from a B and B however I was on a motorcycle and needed a place as close to the school as possible.

This place felt more like a small inn then a B & B because of its size.

The house is beautiful on the inside and out. It location is great for visiting the colleges.

My bedroom was a very nice size. It had a couch, a couple of period dressers and a king size four poster bed.. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a converted walk in closet. It was long but not very wide. The shower was on one end and it was quite large. The sink was in the middle and toilet on the other end. It was not large by any means but did not have a cramped feeling either.

The only possible drawback to my room would be the the person that wants to sleep in in the morning. My room was on the first floor next to the breakfast area. There was quite a bit of noise while people were eating.

Breakfast was a buffet that was tasty with grits and a NO spicy scrambled egg along with fresh fruit and cereals.

There is no off street parking.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in request a room off the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

One of the best choices for Tulane (across the street) but you need to reserve early as it is in high demand. All very nice, very quiet and very convenient. It doesn't have all the hotel amenities but it has everything else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrightdda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent three nights here and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! It is in a great location, right next to Audubon Park, and a block away from Drew Brees' house. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and very nicely decorated. If you're looking for a unique place to stay with the 'New Orleans feel' I would definitely recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

If you want to feel the old fashioned southern vibe without the crowds and noise of the French Quarter, this is your place. The B&B is right next to both the trolley line and the park. The staff was very friendly and they put out wine in the evenings. The breakfast was ok, nothing fancy but certainly nothing to complain about. Room quality was excellent and I'd recommend this place for anyone vacationing in "real New Orleans"

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ry0ohki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here on several occasions and we consistently have a good experience. We have always wanted a balcony room and on this stay we had room 19 on the 3rd floor which has a beautiful balcony overlooking St. Charles. This room is very large with a comfortable king size bed. The bath features a jacuzzi tub with a great shower with a unique "rain" style shower head. We enjoyed the breakfast. One morning featured a good breakfast casserole and the next day there was the traditional eggs and bacon. There are different sweet rolls, toast, and cereal offered as well. If you want to stay in the Garden district, this B&B cannot be beaten. We have already reserved 2 more stays.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel is amazing! As soon as we walked through the door it was love at first sight! Just the scenery and all the antiques and old structure of the house gives that New Orleans feeling/experience! Not to mention, the staff is so nice and extremely helpful, they really do it all. Now, I didnt see them all but the three rooms that we had were all different and original and antique, and might I add the cleanliness...Great housekeepers!!! The breakfast is great! and included with your room. Not just a continental breakfast either they have everything you can imagine and more. I would recommend anyone taking a trip to New Orleans stay at the Park View Guest House! WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: There is no way to pick one that is better than the other, they are all original and all beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mayasmama08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#19 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House

Property: Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House
Address: 7004 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-3540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Uptown / Carrollton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House is one of the oldest inns in our city, dating to 1884. We have 22 beautiful guest rooms decorated in a traditional New Orleans style. Many have antique tester beds (with new mattresses of course) and period furnishings. Every room has its own modern and well appointed bath. All rooms have flat screen TVs and daily maid service. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served daily in the Audubon Dining Room overlooking the famous Audubon Park on Saint Charles Avenue. Owned and operated by tenth generation locals, the Park View is the place to stay if you want a true New Orleans experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Park View Historic Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing