We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to escape Crazy in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #26 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We checked in early, but there were no rooms available. Staff was supposed to call us but never did. But we did request adjoining rooms and they were able to meet our request. I was impressed at how quiet this room was. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and were never bothered by noise. As reward members, we requested late checkout for Monday, but the staff person told us they were unable to do that. Staff was not very helpful or friendly. Our rooms were large and clean. It is a bit of a walk to French Quarter & Bourbon Street, but the price and quietness made it worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Kdarr,

I'd like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is greatly appriciated and is not overlooked. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our rooms! It is clear that we did not meet your, or our own, expectations with regards to staff service. Please know that you are a valued customer and everything we do is geared toward delivering you exceptional service. Please accept my apology and understand that we are taking immidiate corrective steps to ensure that this does not happen again. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future when your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Thank you again.

Best Regards,

Collin DeSalvio
Operations Manager
Courtyard New Orleans Convention Center
300 Julia Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone: 504-598-9898
Collin.Desalvio@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 788 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed at this courtyard several times. It is a large building, but has always had very quiet, comfortable rooms. It is within walking distance to the French Quarter and lovely shops on Julia Street. The staff in the snack shop prepared a nice breakfast even after the official breakfast time had ended. It was much appreciated.
Our last visit was cut short because of a family emergency. The staff was very understanding about shortening our stay letting us check out late, with no charge. We have always felt safe at this hotel. I would definately recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Ipw2014,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appriciate your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful location. Please come back and see us on your next trip to New Orleans! Thanks again.

Best Wishes,

Collin DeSalvio
Operations Manager
Courtyard New Orleans Convention Center
300 Julia Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone: 504-598-9898
Collin.Desalvio@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

If you are going to a conference at the convention center, this hotel is a good choice. It is an easy walk to the convention center from the front door of the hotel. I want to acknowledge Michael at the front desk. He made check-in a breeze, dealt graciously with our need for separate receipts, made reservations for us at Emeril's, and was good humored about all our questions and requests. Our stay was quite enjoyable and a large part of the credit goes to him! There is one downside to report. The first night in our room we were greeted by a very large cockroach. Being from the Midwest, that was quite disconcerting. We reported the encounter, but no reparations were offered.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank kdlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear KDLC-

I am pleased to read about your positive experience at our hotel during your recent trip for the convention! I will personally recognize Michael, one of our guest service representatives, for his exceptional customer service! I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful and unique city and Michael was able to get you in to Emeril's restaurant!

We look forward to having you as our guest during your next visit to New Orleans.

Warm Wishes,
Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Club across the street plays bass thumping music until 2am. So loud it vibrates things in the room. This is my third night of no sleep until after 2. Front desk can't move me and won't do anything to help with the situation.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idahocountrycowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear IdahoCountryCowgirl:

Please let me extend my most sincere apology for the issues you experienced with the night club during your recent stay. It is important to let you know that we are working closely with other nearby hotels and the city of New Orleans on the noise ordinance and are hopeful that there will be a resolution forthcoming.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Warm regards,

Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I want to say a special thanks to Taurean at reception. He was very gracious and helped us make check in a breeze. My husband and college daughter and I were here for three nights during Spring break. We love this location because it's close to everything in the FQ. Now that we know our way around, I see no reason to ever change! We left our car across the street (it's cheaper than hotel valet parking) and walked to all our favorite restaurants. Deanie's is a stone's throw away for a terrific not too expensive meal. Mr. B's was also close for a pricier more romantic meal. I like the new decor in the rooms. Nice walk-in shower with designer tile. Clean white duvets. In summary, next time we plan a trip to NOLA, we'll most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: We've always had good luck with the rooms. Note that you have to go to the second floor from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Typical Marriott, consistent quality of a courtyard. What made this a great experience was the front desk staff. They allowed us to store our bags here after a cruise (only 2 blocks from the Julia Street cruise port). They checked us in early and called us when the room was ready. Upon checking in, she wheeled our luggage into the elevator and pressed our floor. She recommended Oceanas which was great! These ladies went above and beyond, I will always stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Brandon,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the front desk staff was able to make it a memorable one! I will be sure to share your review to my team and thank them for a job well done. Please come back and see us soon, as we would love to have you back. Thanks again.

Best Regards,

Collin DeSalvio
Operations Manager
Courtyard New Orleans Convention Center
300 Julia Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone: 504-598-9898
Collin.Desalvio@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Read a bunch of reviews on this hotel and its location and it didn't disappoint. A block from the fray of Bourbon Street it was easy to get to the French Quarter and other points nearby. Nice, clean lobby and rooms and very helpful and happy staff. I am still not used to Courtyards not providing the free breakfast in the mornings however the food choices at the new "cafe" are nice and healthy. Would recommend this for anybody that wants to be close to the action without actually had to put up with it.

Room Tip: If you want really quiet room, request one that opens over courtyard and not street level. Dont tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#33 of 166 in New Orleans
1,047 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 300 Julia St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $144 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a contemporary retreat within a renovated warehouse, Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center blends a historic setting with modern comforts. With our downtown location, it's easy to access top attractions including Morial Convention Center, Harrah's Casino, Bourbon Street and Mercedes-Benz Superdome, home to New Orleans' professional football team. When it's time to unwind, our stylish hotel rooms boast designer touches, plush bedding and free Wi-Fi for constant connection to family and friends. Offering a bright start to mornings in New Orleans, our hotel features The Bistro with breakfast options and Starbucks® coffee. In the evenings, we serve dinner with cocktails in a casual atmosphere, great for unwinding with friends or colleagues. During downtime, opt for a dip in our outdoor or enjoy an intense workout in our gym, equipped with cardio machines and free weights. Start your adventure at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing