We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel near the convention center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good hotel near the convention center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Columbus Day weekend. I was travelling with my wife, my daughter and her friend. Originally we were going to get a King room with a pull out sofa and a rollaway bed. Upon checking in, we met Hope at the front desk. I was told the rooms were not big enough to accomodate the roll away and the sofa bed. She was able to put us in a room that had a conference room and a door that closed to the bedroom. It was like a suite and we were able to get the rollaway bed in the room. My hat goes off to Hope for thinking outside the box and having a stay where we were all very comfortable. We did have some issues with the A/C but maintenance came up to fix it very fast.

The only downside to the hotel was that there was no complimentary coffee in the morning. If you wanted coffee, there is a Starbucks on site if you want to buy something.

To all the people that are complaining about parking, yes this hotel does charge for parking, $28 a day with in and out priveledges. This was actually one of the cheaper parking at the hotels in the area. And in the French Quarter, it is a lot more. Since New Orleans is a walking city and you don't really need your car, If you do want to leave your car and not use it, you can find a daily lot on the edge of the business district where they will charge you only $10-15 for 24 hours of parking.

Also by the hotel, there is a large parking deck that is used for parking at the cruise ships. I think it was called Fulton Parking. They only charge $20 a day, but if you stay 3 days, you can have in and out priveledges for free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smartdesserts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Smartdessets Atlanta,

Wow! Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that Hope was able to upgrade your rooms and accomodate you and your family in one of our Hospitality Suites. I am glad you found our hotel convenient and comfortable during your stay in New Orleans. I will share your comment with Hope and personally recoginize her for making your stay great!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Wishes,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    187
    63
    30
    17
See reviews for
168
117
12
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days for a combination business trip and family getaway. Was very close to the convention center and also convenient to a lot of restaurants, trolly and other attractions. Room was comfortable, recently renovated, but the pool was still undergoing construction. Only downside was the breakfast was kinda lame.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the internal courtyard were very quiet. Higher floors have a balcony facing courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Fun_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Very close to Convention Center. Friendly stuff. Freshly renovated. Walking distance to Canal Str. and French Quarter. I was impressed how soundproof window is. But vibration still was there from night club sounds across narrow street.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlexeyAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear AlexeyAV,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms! I will share your comments with my team and we look forward to having your stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This one is brand new, renovated from a ware house, I like the decoration and layouts a lot. Fairly convenient to walk to French Quarter. And it is very close to some good restaurants such as Cochon. I bid it on Priceline for $50 per night and it is money well spent, it may be more expensive if you do not bid. The only thing with us is the the construction smell, but it should be better after a couple months.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the street side if you sleep light, there is a night club downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YuqingX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend, after having great experiences in other Courtyard Marriotts.

Rooms are average sized, nice and modern looking and seemed clean.

There's a Starbucks coffee at the lobby which was very convenient, with lots of seating and extras like cellphone charging stations and booths. However, there was a strong fishy smell at the lobby.

The first night we slept okay, but the second night around 3 am we all woke up because of LOUD music noise coming from a street party (on a Sunday night) that was set up by one of the clubs next door (S.Pete street). The windows vibrated a lot with the music... it was awful. After several failed attempts to make them control their volume, by calling the concierge and asking them to contact the club about it, and even call the local police (which we found out, didn't care about this kind of things), we got finally moved to a different area of the hotel and we could sleep better for the rest of the night. One of us had to wake up at 4:30 am to catch a plane.

Parking is NOT free. Only valet is available. We got there driving and did't use the car all weekend. We walked everywhere (good location), but had to pay the money we saved on this stay on parking (about $60). If we would have known about this + the noise problem, we would have have probably stayed in the middle of the action.

Service was okay. Staff was friendly. The valet staff though, had to spend a few minutes trying to find the keys of our car, after we checked out. It was a bit scary, but they ended up being in the car and not in the key box... go figure.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing St. Pete street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Greetings anonymous282 miami-

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear you were able to enjoy our newly renovated rooms and the convenience of our Bistro with Starbucks. I am terribly sorry that the noise from an outside restaurant/nightclub negativly effected your stay with us. I understand your frustrations and I am glad we were able to move you away from the noise so you could have better sleep for the remainder of your stay.
If you would like to speak with me directly, I can be reached at 504-598-9898.

Thank you for sharing,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for three nights. We had a renovated double queen room on the fifth floor. The new rooms are very nice and let me tell you, the memory foam bed was FABULOUS! We found ourselves looking forward to getting back to the room to lounge in them. It was HUMID in NO while we were there but the temp in the room was always nice and cool. The one thing that I didn't like was the light for the toilet and shower area was in the vanity area outside the door. We did potty in the dark a few times.

What really made the stay was the staff that greeted us. Jasmine checked us in at 9 pm and made us feel welcome from the very first hello. She gave directions to the room, described what to expect with the renovations and made us feel welcome after a LONG day. The next night, she remembered us and asked how the day went. She gave us ideas for the next day and helped me out by fixing my key card. On our final night, we met Michael, another wonderful and friendly face who joked with us and gave us more tips for our final day. Jasmine and Michael worked well together and made us feel special. They accommodated our late check out request, and as we left today, Jasmine was there to give us a hug, and hail us a can!

Is this hotel a bit of a walk from the French quarter? Yes, but there name "Courtyard Marriott at the convention center" and a map would tell you that.

Is there an abundance of night activities in close proximity to the hotel? Not typical tourist spots, but there is local night life. We walked the area after sunset and were never approached by homeless people begging for money or dunk people yelling obscenities; can't say the same for the Quarter.

All in all, know where you are staying and enjoy your vacation! It's is a vacation after all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Tonyafrog-

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Than you for taking the time to share your experience and recoginize two of our wonderful guest service representatives, Jasmine and Michael. I am so glad they made your stay special and memorable, I will share your comments with my team and personally recoginize Jasmine and Michael!

Warm Wishes,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Wells, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

was not told until we checked in that the pool/spa tub was not working also did not know it was undergoing renovations, should have been told by someone before this and would have changed to their sister hotel which was a block over and around the corner (was told we could walk over there but you don't want to be out walking in the neighborhood at night!) and also was told that the parking was $20.00 a night only to find out when i checked in that it was more. the staff was okay but certainly not very friendly, had to keep telling them to bring us more towels then they would only leave one washcloth, asked one of the housekeepers if we could have more than one washcloth and he said yes in an hour or so when the laundry was done. Really?? all in all just not a very good hotel, wasn't satisfied at all and would not stay there again, had i been offered the chance to stay at their sister hotel which was nearby and did have the pool/spa tub might have been okay with it but wasn't offered that opportunity, poor management, will tell anyone that's going to that great city NOT to stay there! also beds are hard as a rock!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 Julia St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing