We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #25 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Under renovations”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We made reservations for our 30th wedding anniversary, they never told us the building was under major reservations/ construction. Most of the hotel was closed, construction begins at 8:00am! They never told us the pool/ hot tub was going to be closed. Parking is valet only, both times we needed the car they had to go find the valet. The front desk staff was rude, while having a conversation with us, she picked up the phone and began a conversation with someone else! We checked out after the first night. No complementary coffee, only starbucks at starbucks prices. I am not a happy guest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    206
    74
    33
    19
See reviews for
191
127
19
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Overall the room was satisfactory. The hotel has been updated in the last year or two and the rooms felt clean and well maintained. The room was a decent size and did not feel cramped. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioning was somewhat challenged when it came to cooling the room. The air conditioning never did get the room completely cooled. I'm from the South so the lack was bearable but if you're not used to southern summers you might have been more upset about this than I was. The bathroom was too small. It was one of those where the door only cleared the toilet by a couple of inches when opening i which always bothers me. On the plus side the shower was a good size and glass walled and the counter space was good. There was no concierge and no ice machine on my floor. I was given ice from the cafe area. The location is only a couple of blocks from Canal Street which is the edge of the French Quarter so everything was within 5-15 minutes walking distance. Overall, it was a good stay although I think on my next trip I will try out another hotel. There's no shortage near the French Quarter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed there last night. Great hotel. Customer service was awesome. The bed was really comfortable . The key did not work. Had to go back downstairs and get a new key. Great experience would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a big bath tub in our room we did not use. Just get the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingmom222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Travelingmom222,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us this week during your visit to New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We look forward to having you back again during your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Rooms are clean and spacious. Hotel is walking distance to the French Quarter, the casino, and the cruise terminal. It sits right across the street from the Convention Center. The free breakfast is wonderful, they put out a nice spread. Starbucks coffee bar was the worse. Not Starbucks trained baristas and the hotel staff don't appear to appreciate having to do it. Coffee was okay but service attitude sucked, all over the employee having to make coffees.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Greeting Lisa R-

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad you found our hotel convenient during your stay in New Orleans and that our rooms meet your expectation. I would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory service you had in our Bistro when you ordered a Starbucks coffee. Marriott does train our associates on Starbucks standards and I understand we need to spend time with some of our team re-training them on Starbucks preparation and standards. Thank you for taking the time to share so we can ensure we are meeting all of our guest's expectations in all departments.

Thank you,
Alli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent two nights at this Courtyard near the Convention Center. The building is very interesting and the parking is unqiue. The room was clean and the area seemed safe with lots of street traffic. This hotel is a short walk to the electric streetcar line to the French Quarter but the streetcar is very unreliable. One morning we waited from 8:30 am to 9:45 am for a streetcar to come. The next day the same line was not running because of a maintence problem. The hotel offered a breakfast but we did not sue it because they were training someone and it was taking people a long time to get their food. The pool is located in a courtyard and it was not the cleanest poll I have ever seen. There were also small animals in the the ground cover near the pool that looked like mice or small squirels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay for me and my family. There was a total of 12 of us and we all had a great experience. The location was terrific. We walked practically everywhere, including Bourbon Street. Plenty of great restaurants nearby as well as the River Walk. Our room was well-kept and clean. The pool area and hot tub was also an enjoyable amenity. The Bistro provided quality food at reasonable prices. I would definitely consider a future stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Ron M,
I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit to our wondeful city! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Warm Wishes,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We attempted to stay here in June and switched hotels within 15 minutes of being here. Overpriced for what you can find in close proximity. If you like the feeling of being crammed in an over crowded hotel, then this is your cup of tea. Also, you have to pay to park here, but to be fair....this is the same with other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexanByGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear TexanbyGrace,
I would like to take a moment to express my sincere apologies for the experience you had at our hotel during your recent visit in June. I understand we did not meet your expectations and you choose to swith hotels. At your conveinece, I am available via phone at 504-598-9898 if you would like to share with me further.
Sincerely,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#38 of 164 in New Orleans
908 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 Julia St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing