We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay- good hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay- good hotel for the price”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I felt a bit wary about staying here after reading some of the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and staff. The employees were all friendly and helpful with any questions that we had. The room, although on the small side, was clean, and the towels and bed linens were of good quality. I was traveling with both my grandmother and with my three year old son, and therefore requested a room that would be somewhat quiet at night. Our room overlooked the pool and we did not hear a single noise from outside.
There is an eatery in the hotel lobby at which we ate breakfast a few mornings. The employees were friendly and they had a decent breakfast selection.
The hotel's location was also better than I had expected. It's definitely a bit of a hike to some parts of the Quarter, but is extremely close to the Riverwalk, casino, art galleries, and plenty of restaurants. I actually appreciated staying in this location because it gave us time to explore parts of the city that we would otherwise have missed. And, the location felt extremely safe.
Another note- this hotel did not charge a resort fee, which was a nice surprise. Free internet access is always appreciated. They do charge for parking, but we didn't have a car and relied on cabs instead. There is a cab stand directly across the street and we never had to wait for a taxi.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others. However, we booked the room through priceline at a good rate; I am not sure what the usual rate is.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistyk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    193
    65
    31
    17
See reviews for
174
123
13
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here a couple nights for a quick weekend getaway this past April. i will start with all the good things: great location, nice staff, beautiful lobby, comfortable beds, only a tiny bit of road noise. The staff was able to accommodate an early check-in for me (even though I went through priceline), and the guy who checked us in was courteous & very efficient. The beds and bathroom were nice, and generally a pretty clean room. The thing that killed it a bit for me was the overwhelming smell of body odor from the elevator to around 1/2 way though the 1st corridor...it was always there..so I don't know it if was a guest or a worker who stunk, but it was off-putting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to the convention center -- only 2 short blocks away. The neighborhood is pretty dead. This can be comforting after experiencing the chaos on Bourbon Street in the French Quarter. However, it is a 15-20 minute walk from the French Quarter.

The hotel itself is mediocre. The lobby is nice and renovated. The rooms are old and dingy and need serious renovations. The furniture is beat up and the wood worn out in some places. The bathrooms need serious updating as well. There were small ants around the sink. The rooms have a "motel" quality.

If you do stay here, get the breakfast included rate because the breakfast is a la carte, great quantity and the service is fast. Also ask for a room facing the courtyard/pool, preferably with a balcony or a room that opens out on to the pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard/pool, preferably with a balcony or a room that opens out on to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Greetings worldtravellerLINY-

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to New Orleans! I appreaciate you taking the time to share your experience. I see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and I wanted to take a moment to share with you that we are scheduled for a full guest room renovation starting in July! I will agree with you that our rooms are ready for this scheduled renovation and we are excited for our new rooms to be finished in October 2013. We hope you come back as our guest and enjoy your next visit to New Orleans with us!
Warm Wishes,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel was great..staff were welcoming upon arrival and each day of our stay! We booked room facing the pool and on a high floor..we had a great view and it was relaxing to have a drink on the balcony in the evening after a day walking around New Orleans. The breakfast was a included in our room price and the ladies did a great job! Will be back again next year!

Room Tip: High floor and facing pool area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Better than I feared. Having read a couple of rather nasty (but unlikely) reviews on the Marriot website, I didn't have huge expectations. Chose this location because of proximity to the Julia Street Cruise terminal and it was not far from the French Quarter. There is a faux Starbucks in the lobby; not a "real" Starbucks but they brew the coffee and the muffins weren't too bad; a good place to hang out while my family slept in. Room was clean but small; had a king bed with a sofa. Bed strangely laid out in the room; in a corner facing into the center; they had to do that so it would fit. Front desk staff accommodating but not friendly about it. The valet to help one get a cab was not friendly at all. Easy walking distance to both expensive and inexpensive restaurants including Emeril's NOLA. would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My fiance and I planned a weekend trip to New Orleans, and thanks to the amazing rewards program through Marriott, our rooms were free. We choose this Courtyard because of its proximity to the French Quarter as well as the Warehouse District. From the moment we walked in the doors, we were treated like royalty! Once we told Hope (manager) that we were there to celebrate our one year anniversay, we were offered a snack / drink of our choice from The Market (which is like a small convenience store). They then upgraded our room to this amazing room on Floor 2A that was very large along with an amazing whirpool tub! My boyfriend (at the time) proposed to me on Friday night and upon telling Hope that we were engaged on Saturday, she arranged for us to have drinks comped for us from the Bistro! I must say, we were extremely pleased with our stay and will defintely return. $28 for valet parking may seem a litle steep, but thats around the price you will pay at the other hotels, and we did not feel safe leaving the vehicle out on the street. Very close to Poydras and Canal, so maybe only a 15-20 minute walk to the Quarters. Although the hotel offers Starbucks coffee at the Bistro, if you walk two blocks up to Convention Center Blvd. and turn right, there is a full service starbucks inside of the Marriott Hotel. Hope also reccommend Pi (which is across the street), and we had their pizza and it was very good! Highly reccommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 2A are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneamShreveport_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Greetings reneamShreveport_LA !

First and foremost, Congratulations on your engagement! I wish you and your fiance much happiness! New Orleans is such a romantic city and I am honored to hear your special weekend was during your stay with us! I appreciate you taking a moment to share your wonderful experience and I am pleased to hear Hope, our Assistant General Manager, went above and beyond to ensure your stay with us was special and memorable. She is truly an asset to our team and I thank you for regonizing her! We look forward to having you and your fiance back as our guest the next time you are visiting New Orleans!
Warm Wishes,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel was located in a good area and easy access to all the fun in the French Quarter. Upon check-in the gentlemen who checked me in was very pleasant (Mark, I believe his name was) he took good care of me. Suggested great places for my colleagues and I to eat (Tommy's) which was a great choice! The rooms were a bit outdated but manageable. After reading all the other reviews, I was skeptical about staying here at first but now I would recommend this place to anyone who asks me about it. If you're looking for a reasonable price room, and great location then this a great place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BW678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison H, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear BW678-

I am pleased to read about your positve experience at our hotel! I will personally recognize Mark, one of our guest service represenatives, for his exceptional customer service! I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful and unique city and enjoyed Mark's restaurant recommendations! I would also like to share that we will be going through a complete rooms renovations this year! Our hotel will be recieving the new Courtyard Platinum Room package by October 1st, 2013! We look forward to having you as our guest during your next visit to New Orleans.
Warm Wishes,
Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 Julia St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing