We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #77 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

Clean ,Relaxing, Romantic, Great location. Priced fairly except $40/ Night for parking is ridiculous< despite being the going rate. Room service and restaurant food were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drlaf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,872
    1,842
    933
    363
    193
See reviews for
772
1,137
178
2,305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel was most helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean, and the location on the river front is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed here for three nights during the Mardi Gras weekend leading up to Mardi Gras day. Hotel was very busy with parade participants, families, and other revelers. THis did not present any problems for the two of us - we enjoyed seeing so many people in festive Mardi Gras attire.

Our room was in one of the low-rise buildings, not the central high-rise tower. The room was quite a walk from the lobby, but the view was worth the walk. We directly faced the river. I noticed that other rooms may have had less desireable views of courtyards or other buildings, so be aware.

Room seemed a bit larger than the industry-standard room size. Bathroom size was also was good. Of note, the bath tub had been removed and replaced by a nice, glass-enclosed shower stall. This worked well for us, but if you like to take a bath you should contact the hotel to see if any rooms still have a bath tub.

As usual for these reviews, the photos placed by Tripadvisor users are more accurate and useful than the professional photos. In fact, I think the Expedia photos are out of date - the hotel seems to have been redecorated since those photes were taken.

Location is good, but for our needs and preferences, the location of the Marriott, Sheraton etc. up Canal St. is just a little bit better. The Canal St. location straddles the French Quarter and the Warehouse District, whereas the Hilton is more in the Riverfront/Warehouse district., and a bit farther from the Quarter. But, if you value actual river views, the Hilton has the better location, just be sure to ask for a riverview room.

We used the Hilton only as a place to sleep; we did not use any of the services at the Hilton, so I cannot comment on the food & beverage outlets, the concierge, the business center, pool, parking, etc.

miscellaneous information: there is a Chase bank ATM near the front desk and guests can check-in for flights and print out boarding passes for free at the bell stand kiosks.
This hotel fits my definition of 4*, and I would consider staying here again as a leisure traveler if the price is "right".

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCAcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

I had stayed at this Hilton property on many occasions in the past but it had always not been up to par. I think they finally got it right. Very quick check in. I was recognized immediately as a Hilton Diamond Member. Room was updated with comfortable bedding. All areas of the hotel were very clean. Every staff member we had contact with was helpful and friendly. This hotel is connected to the Riverwalk which has come back to life since I was there last year. If you like to gamble you are located right across the street from the only casino downtown "Harrah's" Easy five block walk down to Bourbon, Hopefully next time I stay things will be just as nice

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

I stayed here for three nights with my husband who was attending a conference. The best thing about the hotel is that the beds are extremely comfortable.

For a conference/business-oriented hotel, they should be ashamed. Cell phone service was very spotty -- people had trouble reaching each other to arrange to meet! The internet service is not wireless and costs over $15 a day. It also dropped connections a couple of times on us. I wanted to print out some restaurant recommendations a friend sent me -- the instructions in the room said go to the business center and hook up to the printer. However, in the business center there, were are no instructions on how to do this. I had to go to the front desk, e-mail the document to the personal e-mail of the woman behind the desk, who then printed it for me.

There was no yellow pages in the room, so my husband asked the concierge desk to look at the yellow pages -- he wasn't allowed take it to a chair to look through in comfort, but had to stand at the desk. When I went to the "concierge" desk , the only thing they were doing was booking people on Grayline tours.

There is a pool and hot tub -- but you have to walk through the convention center and there is no changing room or towels!

Our room on the 16th floor had a nice "realtor's" view -- if you stood by the window you could see the Mississippi river. The room was spacious, but noisy, being located by the clattering ice machine. The last night, some people checked into the adjoining room and you could hear their cell phones ring!

We had a marvelously spicy New Orleans style barbecue prawn appetizer. The other food my husband had at the conference was bland and small servings. However, the hotel is on the edge of the Arts/Warehouse district and you can walk to some good restaurants and bars nearby -- Ernst's is an old-style New Orleans bar, La Boca is Argentinian food and open late.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

the hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. The hotel was in a very good location close to shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend the Hilton River Side.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hefner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

An excellent choice of hotel for our business team. The amenities and location made our week long stay extremely comfortable. The hotel staff was courteous and eagerly shared information about local attactions and dining options. The hotel's accessibility and knowledgable staff were favorable to all of our travel needs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#34 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#12 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#78 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing