We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel but” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #74 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel but”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My sister and I and our 22 year old kids stayed at the Hilton Riverside the last week in June to celebrate college graduation for her son. She got there a day early and mentioned her view was of a brick wall. When checking in I requested a view of anything but the wall and was quickly told a view is an upgrade and would be $40 more per night. In the end I was assigned a lovely room with a view of the river at no charge. The hotel is in a great location and has wonderful staff. We have traveled extensively both in and out of the country and are dumbfounded as to why management wouldn't want guests to see their best? The hotel was not full, in fact they were nice enough to let us check in at 11. We spend one weekend a month in NOLA and are returning to this hotel in August. I am curious to see if my experience was an aberration or the norm for the Hilton Riverside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of anything but the wall and decline to pay for the upgrade. There are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beyondblessed3118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
BeyondBlessed3118,


Thank you for taking time to share your review with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of our guest's feedback especially when it gives us an opportunity to get better at the services and product we offer our guests. Please send me an email with your reservation information so that I follow up with you. Unfortantely the information provided in your review is limited. My email address is jim.thibodeaux@hilton.com and I would certainly like to look into this matter for you.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,591
    1,634
    812
    312
    163
See reviews for
649
975
165
1,979
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple days on a business trip and I wished I would have stayed longer. The property was beautiful, valet was a cinch, great service, great bar. As a HHonor member, I've tried out some other Hilton properties in the area and this is by far my favorite. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Intrigueace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Intrigueace,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It means so much to us that you look forward to your next visit. I have shared your review with the team and everyone is most appreciative. Have a safe and fun summer season and we hope to see you again soon.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Despite having a room across from the elevators, I slept well. My husband and I spent 1 night at this hotel. The room was very clean and the view of the Mississippi River was fantastic. This hotel was too large for me. There were people everywhere. If you are looking for a hotel that gives you an escape from being overcrowded at the French Quarter, this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
kfont,

Thank you for the great review. We hope to welcome you both back for another gtreat stay. All the best and have a safe and fun summer season.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I have been to New Orleans at least 5 times and I've stayed in a different place everytime. This is by far my favorite place to stay. Upon arrival they were very kind and accomodating. They gave us a room with a dual view of the river and the city. They were so sweet to my 9 year old daughter and even sent her a package of sweets, coloring postcards, and a water bottle free of charge. The location is perfect for the aquarium. No other place in New Orleans compares to the Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
KGarey,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am happy to share your great comments with the team and it is nice to hear that your daughter enjoyed her time here too. We appreciate you choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a huge property with several towers of rooms. The large size lends itself well to its location right next to the Convention Center.

Stayed 5 nights in July in a double queen room overlooking the Mississippi River towards the bridge and cruise ship terminal. It was fun to watch the cruise ships come in and out and lots of barge and steamboat traffic too! Room was clean, well equipped with a small fridge, excellent toiletries, coffee and tea. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows! Elevators at this hotel are excellent, they offer 5 for lower floors & 5 for upper floors out of the main entry building so very speedy service.

Location is just outside the French Quarter within very easy walking distance. Cable car stop right outside the hotel. Taxi cabs always available day & night. Connected to the Outlet Mall that offers decent shopping and a nice food court also. Easy walking to the Aquarium and you could almost literally walk right over to your ship if you are heading on a cruise! Excellent location.

This hotel also boasts a huge indoor court facility for squash & tennis. There is an extra charge to use the courts unless you hold a certain membership level with Hilton Honors. I visited one of the pools and it was nice, but very small and no shade.

Many dining choices inside the hotel also; Starbucks Coffee Shop, Dragos Oysters & Restaurant, Sports Bar and also a small market that is very overpriced.

I would not hesitate to stay again the property was well located and served our needs very well.

Room Tip: River view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momtravelswith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
momtravelswith3,

We appreciate you taking time to post such a positive review. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels and I have shared your review with the team. Have a safe and fun summer and we hope to see you all again soon.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. We had a beautiful room overlooking the Mississippi River. It is close to the Riverwalk and great shopping. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. It was a great location to see all the fun parts of New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with view of the MIssissippi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Joyce M,

Your gracious comments are most appreciated and I have shared your kind words with the team .We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. Have a wonderful summer season and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very nice hotel in a good location within walking distance to many attractions. It was great that the outlet mall was so close with several restaurants right there as well. Hotel staff was friendly and checking in and out was a quick process.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Michelle M.,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the service our team provided. Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we hope to see you again soon !

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#29 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#19 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Harrah's Hotel New Orleans
Harrah's Hotel New Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,021 reviews
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing