We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place in NOLA!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #74 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I have been to New Orleans at least 5 times and I've stayed in a different place everytime. This is by far my favorite place to stay. Upon arrival they were very kind and accomodating. They gave us a room with a dual view of the river and the city. They were so sweet to my 9 year old daughter and even sent her a package of sweets, coloring postcards, and a water bottle free of charge. The location is perfect for the aquarium. No other place in New Orleans compares to the Hilton.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

KGarey,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am happy to share your great comments with the team and it is nice to hear that your daughter enjoyed her time here too. We appreciate you choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,636)
There are newer reviews for Hilton New Orleans Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,237 - 3,243 of 5,637 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a huge property with several towers of rooms. The large size lends itself well to its location right next to the Convention Center.

Stayed 5 nights in July in a double queen room overlooking the Mississippi River towards the bridge and cruise ship terminal. It was fun to watch the cruise ships come in and out and lots of barge and steamboat traffic too! Room was clean, well equipped with a small fridge, excellent toiletries, coffee and tea. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows! Elevators at this hotel are excellent, they offer 5 for lower floors & 5 for upper floors out of the main entry building so very speedy service.

Location is just outside the French Quarter within very easy walking distance. Cable car stop right outside the hotel. Taxi cabs always available day & night. Connected to the Outlet Mall that offers decent shopping and a nice food court also. Easy walking to the Aquarium and you could almost literally walk right over to your ship if you are heading on a cruise! Excellent location.

This hotel also boasts a huge indoor court facility for squash & tennis. There is an extra charge to use the courts unless you hold a certain membership level with Hilton Honors. I visited one of the pools and it was nice, but very small and no shade.

Many dining choices inside the hotel also; Starbucks Coffee Shop, Dragos Oysters & Restaurant, Sports Bar and also a small market that is very overpriced.

I would not hesitate to stay again the property was well located and served our needs very well.

Room Tip: River view rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank momtravelswith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

momtravelswith3,

We appreciate you taking time to post such a positive review. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels and I have shared your review with the team. Have a safe and fun summer and we hope to see you all again soon.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. We had a beautiful room overlooking the Mississippi River. It is close to the Riverwalk and great shopping. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. It was a great location to see all the fun parts of New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with view of the MIssissippi.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Joyce M,

Your gracious comments are most appreciated and I have shared your kind words with the team .We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. Have a wonderful summer season and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very nice hotel in a good location within walking distance to many attractions. It was great that the outlet mall was so close with several restaurants right there as well. Hotel staff was friendly and checking in and out was a quick process.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Michelle M.,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the service our team provided. Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we hope to see you again soon !

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently stayed for a convention and loved being within walking distance of the French Quarter and Bourbon St! The Hotel is right next to the river and has a great riverwalk. The bus stop for the Hop on-Hop off bus tour was right across the street! We also were pleasantly surprised that there was a large outlet mall attached to the Hotel. The food in the Hotel restaurant, Drago's, is wonderful and couldn't believe the price of a whole lobster dinner was under $30.00! There is also a casino across the street. This is the best centralized hotel in New Orleans! We had a great time and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. The lights at night reflecting on the water make it very peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Denise D,

Thank you so much for your great review. The team enjoyed having you here and we thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. Hopefully we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Enjoy the balance of the summer season!


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Riverside for a nieces weekend. Very close to all the action. Had a key issue but was compensated nicely for inconvenience. Disappointed in Dragos oysters which we have had many times - way too many shells this time. Hotel is actually connected to riverwalk shopping. Great fun was had. Will be back in December!!

Room Tip: High floors
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

onayantonio,

Thank you for your continued patronage and we certainly look forward to seeing you all again in December. I have shared your comments with the Drago's team and our sincere apologies for the shells. If we can assist you in planning the fun part of your December visit, let us know and our Concierge team will be happy to assist. Enjoy your summer and we will see you soon.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hiltton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

For the price of over $200 per night, the rooms were very small and bed was not comfortable at all. There was also a charged to use the fitness center. I think that this hotel over charged the week of July 4th because the city hosted the Essence Festival

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Angela C,

Thank you for choosing us as your EMF 2014 destination. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you back again for EMF 2015. You can be assured that none of our rates changed for July 4th weekend. Our fees for the ancillary services you mentioned are comparable to other hotels locally and nationally for those services. Hopefully during your next stay you will enjoy our Health Club by Hilton, it is comparable to your local health Club facility and I am certain you will enjoy the many fitness venues the Club has to offer our guests. Enjoy the second half of the summer season. We will see you soon.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 166 in New Orleans
954 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,463 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
#66 of 166 in New Orleans
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $144 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, HotelPower, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing