We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in New Orleans good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“When in New Orleans good place to stay”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Spent five nights here during Jazz Fest. Room was nice had a view overlooking Mississippi where Cruise Ships checked in. Enjoyed the hotel, room was nice and bed slept well with
plenty of pillows. Had access to the Executive Level and it was very adequate for getting the day started and the happy hour always had nice treats from 5pm to 7pm. Great view of the City
or River depending on what side of Executive Level you were sitting. Make sure to take in Oysters at Drago's Seafood restaurant on the first floor. Pool was adequate with plenty of towels, gym was good with all the basics. Great location along the River with Trolley stop right outside the door and a Casino across the street. Cabs are reasonable for patrolling around the
French Quarter. Maid service was excellent and staff around the hotel were all helpful if called upon. Nice stay.
So many things to do in this town if you looking for some fun, food and patrolling give it a try at
Jazz Fest you'll have fun.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a view either the city view or river view are both nice. Ask for upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaGoldVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
VaGoldVirginia,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your recent experience at our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us as your Jazz Fest 2014 destination and we hope to se you gain next year for Jazz Fest 2015.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,905
    1,876
    946
    370
    196
See reviews for
780
1,145
182
2,360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was in N.O. for a meeting at the Convention Center - a short walk from this hotel. I stayed in a river view room - very nice- and had access to the concierge floor. The morning breakfast is nothing special - only basics - and not a reflection of a city renowned for food.

Room Tip: River view rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSSATLANTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
GSSATLANTA,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on Breakfast and we will certainly take your comments into consideration as we improve our in house guest experience. We all enjoyed having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back once again next time your travels bring you back this way. Have a wonderful summer.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel is right on the river and only a short walk to the French Quarter. The casino is directly across the street and there are enough places to eat within two blocks that during a two week stay you need never eat at the same place twice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Robert W,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. We enjoyed having you here and we look forward to that next opportunity to welcome you back once again. New Orleans is a fun destination any time of the year and we will be happy to assist you in planning a future stay with us.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was here for a conference and loved that my room was close to all the meeting rooms (in building 1). Very convenient. Staff was very friendly, especially the bartenders, who were courteous in helping me identify gluten-free menu items. I even got an email from the GM and when I said my conditioner hadn't been replenished, he apologized and I had about a half dozen bottles when I came back to my room. (Which cracked me up.) I walked to the French Quarter and it wasn't that far. (It was a nice day.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsarodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Allie S,

We appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were diappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure you that your feedback is incredibly important to us and your comments will be taken into consideration.

Again , thank you very much for your review and we sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you are in New Orleans.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were really looking forward to this trip and we aren't high maintenance guests but I was pretty frustrated by our stay. Everyone we spoke to was wonderful, the staff went above and beyond anything we ever needed, which saved the trip for us. Dragos was amazing! We ate there several times, even with the expensive menu, it was well worth it. The rooms were cleaned and housekeeping even noticed the things we used up and replaced them with extras so the next day went even better. Beds were down and super comfy, which would have been a great nights sleep if it wasn't for the trains that drove through all night. I can't believe there was no warning when we booked that told us we would be woken up every night 2-3 times by a train blasting its horn feet from our window. We just had a baby and had planned this trip to be a recuperating trip and I was saddened by how happy I was to get back home where I could sleep more than 1.5-2 hours at a time. The shower in our room also failed to maintain temperature so you would get 30 seconds of hot water and it would drain down to lukewarm. We had a fabulous view out our window if you ignored the train tracks and construction directly below it. We watched cruise ships come in every morning and really enjoyed beginning our day to the sunrise over the river. I don't think I will return to this hotel, unless I could make the room contingent on being far away from the tracks as possible so we can't hear it. When we went to check out I tried to mention this to the woman behind the desk and she was the only person we interacted with that I felt like could have improved. She clearly had a trainee badge on so I just chalked it to inexperience, but I tried to mention the water not staying warm, and a desk lamp that didn't work, but she rushed us off and told us to have a good day in the middle of my sentence. I would have loved to give this a higher review but I was just too tired when we left to give it more than three.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the tracks!
See more room tips
Green Features: There was no recycling options but they used glasses in the rooms that could be washed rather than tossed like paper or plastic.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Allie S,

We appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. We understand that you were disappointed and we came short of delivering what you are accustomd to expect from us. I truly apologize and I can assure you that your feedback is incredibly important to us. With that said your comments will be taken into consideration.

Again, thank you very much for your review and we sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us again next time you are in New Orleans.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend before a conference. We had a river view on the 17th floor. That was the best part of the stay. We could see the barges and the cruise ships. There was even a weird fog one day that literally rolled in.

Our king room was a little small, but the space was arranged well. There was a desk and a comfortable arm chair with a small table. The bathroom was nice and everything was clean.

We did not eat in the hotel restaurants, but there is a huge Starbucks in the lobby. We bought coffee, fruit, and pastries every morning. We would enjoy these while looking out our window.

If you are planning to spend every minute of your trip in the French Quarter, it is a bit of a hike from the Hilton. We probably walked it four times a day. This was good, because we were eating a lot. If you have any mobility issues at all, you would be better off with a hotel in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Louise_1980,


Thank you for the very nice review and it is nice to hear that you all enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will have another opportunity to welcome you all back again soon and have a wonderful summer!


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The reviews I read had me worried prior to this trip, all were unfounded. The room was nice and well appointed. Cleanliness was not an issue albeit my wife would have liked to have a few things different with housekeeping. Noise was not a problem but we were in the tower on the 13 floor away from the tracks. The restaurant inside the hotel, Dragos was great as well, Char Grilled oysters rival other places in the city. Gift shops were well stocked and reasonable. Al guest relations staff were helpful and polite. business facilities were some of the best I have seen.

Room Tip: Tower in the new section seems best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Charles L,

Thank you both for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your New Orleans destination. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you both again soon. You mentioned that your wife some additional suggestions for Housekeeping. Our guest feedback is very important to us and we would certainly appreciate hearing your wife's suggestions. This information is valuable to us as we continue to find better ways to service our guests. If you all have a few minutes I would certainly appreciate hearing the suggestions- my email address is jim.thibodeaux@hilton.com. Have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you all again soon.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#77 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing