We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #77 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Sylacauga, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Check in was excellent, speedy and courteous. Exactly the service and facilities I expected from Hilton! Room had a great view and wonderful bed! The only thing I didn't like was the sensor on the AC that cuts the AC off when no one is in the room or you get still at night! I like a cold room to sleep in, and that was not the case because of the sensor. Otherwise, excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: River View room was only $25 upgrade when I stayed and well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodrow35150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
woodrow35150,

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destiantion. We certainly enjoyed having you here and hope to see you all back again sometime in the near future. If we can assist you in planning your next stay with us, let us know and we will be happy to assist you.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,827
    1,817
    913
    354
    190
See reviews for
763
1,114
174
2,251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

For $300 after taxes and fees, I was expected to be blown away. I was not. The location of the hotel is great for proximity to the casino, the French Quarter and the conference center but there were a couple of things that bugged me. First off, I was forced to stay at the hotel for the nearby conference I was attending otherwise I would have had to pay an extra $250. If the hotel was connected or at least across the street, it wouldn't have mattered. But to get to the conference center you had to walk outside and down a block to get there which took anywhere from 5 to 10 minutes depending how fast you walked. It was raining one day so that was fun trying to stay dry. The second experience is that I had paid a modest upgrade amount to get what I thought was a deluxe room with a river view. I was pretty confident that is what it said on the website when I made the reservation but upon check in I was put in the Riverside building but on the first floor with a lovely view of a wall. I tried to talk to check in but they refused to change my room unless I paid an additional $20 more per night. Unacceptable... Finally, there were a couple of other minor annoyances which just added to my impression: the weak flushing toliet which I had to be very careful not to clog and the fact that every time I turned the tv on, the signal would cut out after a few minutes and I would be staring at a blank tv for 5-10 minutes at a time. This happened at least 3 separate times. I gave up after that and didn't bother to turn the tv on. Everything else was fine. Drago's is a great restaurant and all the service people I encountered were helpful except for the check in person. The bed was comfortable and the room was plenty big enough. Liked having the mini-fridge in the room. Shower pressure was good and the towels were very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
epsharon,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. We thank you for bringing them up in your review as feedback is one of the most important tools that allows us to improve the quality of our services and products. We will certainly use your comments to identify areas where we can improve our hospitality. With regards to conference rates, these rates are negotiated when the contracts are signed and we will share your concerns with our meeting planners in hopes of avoiding any miscommunication going forward. Your business is extremely important to us and we sincerely hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon. Have a wonderful Spring Season!

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverisde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Not much of a lobby but rooms are nice. Hotel is a bit dated compared to many other options in New Orleans. Upper floor with river view is very nice. Close to convention center but it is the North End. The conv. center is very long and the south end is a long distance from the hotel. Other options may be better if that is your mtg location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guest200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
guest200,

Thank you for taking time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via Trip Advisor. We appreciate your honest input on our lobby areas and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly work to improve our guests' experience. Your business is most appreciated and we look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once again.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Request a river view room on an upper floor. Well worth the extra money. No complaints at all with this hotel. In walking distance to many attractions. Go to the Aquarium it is very good. The French Quarter is within walking distance. River side shopping mall was under repair.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 938brucem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
938brucem,


It is good to here that you enjoyed your time here with us. We appreciate your nice review and we hope to have back again soon. Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Right across the street from Harrahs Casino. The concierge lounge is beautiful with a gorgeous view to sit and eat your breakfast. There is a cash bar in the evening. the outdoor pool looked OK. The restaurant near the bar was nice and the service was great but the shrimp po boy lacked taste. Our server was a black female with a thick accent and cute bob hairstyle. We LOVED her!

There is not a late night breakfast spot nearby so beware. Bourbon St was only a 10 min walk with lots of attrations and shopping on the way. I hope this was helpful.

Room Tip: Stayin the newly remodeled side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMichelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
CMichelleB,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and thank you for the very nice review. We certainly enjoyed having you here and hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome back soon. Have a wonderful Spring Season!


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Attended a business conference at this hotel but would not recommend this place for either business or vacation travel. Our room was not ready at check-in time, so we were persuaded to pay extra for upgrade to "deluxe" room that was actually a handicapped room with nothing deluxe about it. Bathroom sink area had no counter space for toiletries, a mirror that could not be used unless you are in a wheelchair and poor lighting. Walls were paper thin -- heard water faucets and flushing toilets from adjacent rooms. Free in-room wifi should be standard for business travelers. We also had a tough time regulating room temperature -- either cold and clammy or hot and stuffy with nothing in between. And though I never expect great food at conferences, the food at this conference was so mediocre I had no motivation to utilize room service or hotel restaurants here when there is so much terrific food at lower prices all over the city. We have vacationed in NOLA several times and found smaller boutique hotels that are better bargains on all fronts with decor, amenities and service all worthy of this incredibly charming city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Kathy K,

We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustom to expect from us. We truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that we will keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to recieve from us..We do everything we can to ensure that our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, we can assure you that your feedback is incredibly important to us and your comments will be taken into consideration.

Thank you for your review and we sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity and stay with us again next time you are in New Orleans.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I chose this hotel because many of my co-workers stay here while on business. This was my family and extended families first trip to New Orleans. The hotel could not have been better suited to our needs for a one night stay in New Orleans. We were able to check in at 11:00 a.m. and the check was a breeze even with many folks waiting in line. The hotel and room decor was beautiful and the beds were very comfy. This location worked well as we were able to take the trolley, located right out the front door, to the French Quarter. We were able to enjoy the St. Patrick's Day festivities but were far enough away that we were not aware of the ongoing fun in the late evening. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sillymamaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
sillymamaluvs2travel,

Thank you so much for the very nice review. we are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasurable one and you enjoyed all the St Patrick's Day celebrations. New Orleans is a fun destination any time of the year and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#79 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New O...
#121 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing