We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location in New Orleans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #77 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location in New Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is not the review I thought I was going to give. I had problems with my room and else where in the hotel. I thought I would recommend not to visit here, but once senior management learned of the difficulties, they went above and beyond to make sure I was a happy customer. The hotel and rooms are clean very nice. Even if you are only in the neighborhood, eat at Drago's in the lobby. Food was amazing.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room up against the elevator. Mine was and I could feel the vibration in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
John D,

Thank you for the very nice review and it is good to hear that we were able to correct those challenges for you while you were here. We all enjoyed having you here and we look forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful summer!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riversdie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    1,734
    875
    332
    174
See reviews for
707
1,040
171
2,135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Mal servicio y peor trato al cliente. It' s 1pm ,we left our room At 8:00am they still haven't done it. When i complained at the front desk their excuse are that the housekeeping superviser it's not available. When i asked for a complaining form they don't have any! This is definately not what I expect from a Hilton service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Manuel L,


Our apologies for the service issues you encountered during your recent stay. Your comments have been shared with the team. There is no reason why these issues should have ocurred and we will use your comments to enhance our service training. Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we look forward to the next opportunity we have to serve your hotel needs next time your travels bring back this way.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was nice. We had a riverside view from our room. It was clean. The pool could use an update. The location was ok but could stay closer to bourbon street if looking for short walk to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeceeClo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
CeeceeClo,

Thank for the wonderful review. We all enjoyed having you here and look forward to your next visit. Don't forget us when you begin thinking about your New Year's Eve plans. It will be here before we know it and without a doubt, New Orleans hosts an awesome NYE party and we would certainly enjoy rininging in 2014 with you. Our Conicerge and Reservations teams will be happy to assist you in customizing your NYE fun in New Orleans. Have a wonderful summer!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We wouldn't normally go for something at this price but it was Mardi Gras and the city was full so we thought "what the heck". The bed was worth every penny! It was a huge bed and it felt like I was lying on a cloud! The room and bathroom were both pristine.

The only downside was that the hotel is so big that it took us a long time to walk from the entrance to our room. I mean, a really long time! It was a labyrinth in there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ES74190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
ES74190,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to know that you enjoyed our Beds by Hilton. It sounds as though you enjoyed both New Orleans and Mardi Gras - the team here at HNOR certainly enjoyed having you all here and we look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back this way. Have a wonderful summer!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is just an average full-service hotel. My wife and I experienced two different rooms on a two-day stay:

The first was in Building 4. The room was not ideal, as the maid did a poor job refreshing the bathroom for our stay. In addition, the air conditioner was not working well, so the room was slightly warm. Also, it took a bit of extra time to leave the hotel, as the room was in the rear of the property.

After a slightly uncomfortable first night, we asked to be moved to the main building. All credit to the service of the hotel, as we were able to change rooms with no problem. The second room was much better, as the air worked fine.

The hotel has the level of amenities one would expect in a full service hotel with a restaurant, coffee shop, bell stand service, gift shop, etc. The staff we encountered was friendly and helpful when we had a problem or needed any type of service. Both rooms had a refrigerator, were reasonable clean, and roomy enough for a weekend trip. Internet is an extra expense at the hotel. So, plan on doing without unless you want to pay the steep per-day charge.

Since the hotel is next to the river, going to restaurants and venues in the French Quarter can involve a bit of a walk. Two of the street car lines (Riverside and Canal) are close by, so you may use that as an alternative to walking. We did find the schedule of the street car to be intermittent and so most of the time walked to our destinations.

Overall, this is convention or business hotel and is a decent choice in the city for that type of trip. If you are are looking for a romantic weekend or more New Orleans flavor, consider finding a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IBeSoEloquent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
IBeSoEloquent,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate all of our guest feedback especially when there is an opportunity to create a better hotel experience for our future guests. As a convention tier hotel, ancillary services such as parking, internet access and health club use are not complimnetary services however to appeal to all of our guests we do offer seasonal packages that includes these services in our package fees. When making a future reservation please advise our Reservation Agent of your needs and he or she will assist you in customizing your next stay. Have a wonderful summer!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This Hotel is fine.. understand you are staying here for the location of the property.. The accommodations at the Hotel were ok.. It just ticks me off when they charge 15$ a night for wi-fi.. when you can get that free at the local starbucks.. they charge because they can - just like parking at $35+ a night.. This is just a money grab hotel.. not many perks to being a HH member like myself at this hotel. They even charge to use a treadmill.. It all just left a bad taste - after $200+ a night, you would think normal services would be included.

The location made getting around to the conference center or french quarter manageable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bthomps01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
bthomps01,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We take a great deal of pride in meeting our guest's expectations and we are disappointed anytime we fall short of that goal. Your input and concerns are most appreciated.

Again, thank you for taking time to bring this matter to our attention. We value your business and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a large hotel located right on the river about a 10 minute stroll from the French Quarter. The hotel is neither intimate nor charming; definitley built for large groups and conventions. Rooms are acceptable, but lack any specific redeeming features. Hallways are beat up and tired looking; fortunately the rooms are in better shape. Bell staff are exceptionally helpful; front desk staff not so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank winwolf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Winwolf56,

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We take a great deal of pride in meeting our guest's expectations and are disappointed anytime we fall short of that goal. Your input and your concerns are most appreciated.

Again, thank you for taking time to bring this matter to our attention. Your business is valued and we will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#30 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#56 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing