We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #79 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great location”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in April 2013. Check in was handled quickly and we were glad to get to our room after the long flight from Manchester via Atlanta. The room was a good size with 2 queen beds , which were very comfortable, clean nice bathroom and fluffy towels . The housekeeping staff were great and conducted their service while we were out. The hotel is very large with 2 sections joined by a bridge over the railway line . Our room faced the city so were not really disturbed by the freight trains that passed. Although a large hotel with many guests and functions going on the staff were always polite and helpful. The conceirge staff were excellent and recommended places to visit . Gray Line Tours and their driver Mike were great. The street car stop is right outside the hotel and was really convenient to go to the French Quarter . If you plan to travel on it more than once per day the day ticket with unlimited rides for US dollars 3 is great value. The only downside at the hotel is although there are 2 swimming pools they are small and the one in the Courtyard building is difficult to find . All in all a great trip and the Hilton was a good choice

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the rail line could be noisy
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate the water efficient bathroom fittings and the suggestions regarding keeping the towels if they do not require changing
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Kellyae,

Thank you for the wonderful review!. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. I have shared your comments with Mike and he was most appreciative. Have a great summer and we hope to see you again soon.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,013
    1,943
    983
    404
    204
See reviews for
820
1,170
185
2,518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in June 2012. I was very impressed with the room as well as quality of service across the hotel. The room was on the top floor with a beautiful view of the New Orleans Waterfront. Nice and modern bathroom. Delicious breakfast every morning! Fresh bacon, eggs, fruit, toast, etc. The hotel is directly across the street from Harrah's Casino. Short walk (approx. 15 min) from the hotel to the notorious French Quarter. Tip the bellhops/bartenders to ensure fast service when you need it. Lunch and dinner is good in the hotel, but suggest going to other places outside and venture across the city to try real New Orleans cuisine. Hotel is directly on river-walk, so you can run outside every morning/afternoon for miles. Overall, a great hotel. Will definitely come back soon.

Room Tip: Book a room with breakfast included. Delicious! It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
Green Features: very nice. I like a place that puts the environment first.
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paymon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
ManvsHotel,

Thank you very much for your very nice review. We all enjoyed having you here and look forward to the next time we see you again. Your comments have been shared with the team and we all thank you for your kind words. Have a great summer and when you are ready to come back to New Orleans let us know and we will be happy to help you plan your next stay with us.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
934 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Hilton is in a great location except that there is a rail line running right through the middle of the hotel. The trains run 24 hours a day and lthe locos sound their whistle at all times of the night. Our room overlooked the rail line which made the noise far worse. These are big trains, with lots of carriages and plenty of noise.

if you want to stay there, get away from the rail line.

Room Tip: away from the train line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
CoCoTampa,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your New Orleans destination. Our apologies for the train noise. We assume that one of our Managers on Duty moved you to another location of the hotel once you brought this matter to their attention. Your comments have been shared with the Yard Masters Office at the Public Belt Railway and we can understand how the noise could have disrupted your sleep. The Rail Supervisors work well with the businesses along the Riverfront when noise complaints come there way.Our team enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, wi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a very large hotel right next to the Convention Center. Check in went smoothly. We reserved a King non-smoking and that is exactly what we got. The big plus for us was the view of the Mississippi. We could watch the barges and boat traffic easily being on the 11th floor. The bed was very comfortable and had plenty of pillows.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynettez50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
lynettez50,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team enjoyed having you here and we all hope to see you again soon. New Orleans is a fun destination all year around so when you are ready to return, give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your next New Orleans vacation. Have a great summer!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went to a conference and chose this location. Easy to get to, clean and the staff very professional.

The Shoe Shine Pro is called Richard. Been there forever. Best shine ever! Rooms are very well maintained.

Room Tip: We stayed right next to the elevator and had no problem. Very good sound protection
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Harry M,

Thank you for your review. We were happy to have you here with us and the team enjoyed having you here. Your nice comments have been shared with Richard and he was most appreciative. We all look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The conference services staff were excellent. They were available to resolve issues immediately and checked back with me often. Rooms were large and well maintained. It was a little noisy on the "river" side of the hotel, you heard the paddle boat horn and the trolly car horn throughout the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Barbara P,

Thank you for the very nice review. We enjoyed havng you here and look forward to seeing you again. If the team can be of assistance to you when planning your next stay, give us a call and we will be happy to help youconfirm your plans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for the first weekend of Jazz Festival. Hotel is huge - one of the largest Hotels I have ever stayed at. Rooms are clean and bed was comfortable. We checked in and the only room that was available was a King Size Bed - Smoking. . . . no way. We made these reservations months ahead of time. The lady behind the desk got us a dual Queen Deluxe with a river view . . . . way cool and thank you. We dined at two of the Restaurants in the Hotel . . . . Drago's and Le Croissant Express. Drago's was OK and Le Croissant had a good breakfast buffet. I think the only complaint I had was the parking. If you stay here take a cab and avoid the onsite parking. We paid $105 for three nights of parking - This is just crazy stupid expensive. We got there late and I guess I didn't notice what it cost. For what we paid for the room the parking should be free. All in all a really good stay but when we left I was a bit shocked at what we paid for parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Travel574,

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we understand that you were unsatisfied with our prices for parking. We can assure you that we do all we can to create a great experience for our guests and this includes looking for ways to keep costs low while offering enhanced services. Again we thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#38 of 165 in New Orleans
917 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 165 in New Orleans
2,517 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#75 of 165 in New Orleans
3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
#67 of 165 in New Orleans
3,876 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing