We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, nice place, but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton New Orleans Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #73 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, nice place, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed there this past weekend for a conference and trade show at the nearby convention center. Location was great as it was only a couple blocks from the convention center, and a short walk to the French Quarter. Our room was clean, comfortable, and over looked the Mississippi River. Only negative comment of note was the place is pricey. While we had a conference rate, it was still well over $200 per night for a modest room. Our schedule dictated that we have breakfast at the hotel, and that was very pricey. I know downtown hotels can be steep. But, over $50 for the two of us for a basic breakfast!?

Room Tip: Get one over looking the Mississippi River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Craz4u,

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read from your review that you found our hotel to be convenient to your needs. We do understand that you were unsatisifed with our prices and that you found them to be expensive. We apologize for this and assure you that we do all we can to create a great expirience for our guests. We are actively looking for ways to keep costs low and offer enhanced services for our guests comfort and convenience.

Again, thank you for your review and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniencs you may have experienced. Our hope is that you will again consider us next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    1,628
    809
    312
    162
See reviews for
641
973
164
1,974
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed last week for a convention, had all the typical amenities. Nothing out of ordinary. Room was adequate and staff friendly. Used concierge for restaurant recommendations and they were spot on. Was able to look out onto the river which was nice. Very close to French Quarter which made it ideal. On site bar and restaurant were convenient and of good quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbrmnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Kmbrmstr,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to your next visit. The team thanks you for the great review and your comments have been shared with all.

New Orleans is a fun destination any time of the year so next time your travels bring you back this way, give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your next visit to New Orleans.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room for 4 people through Hilton.com and received our receipt by email. Upon checkout they had raised our rate by $61 dollars a night. Upon questioning the rate, they informed us their website notifies us they can raise the rate for 4 people. We showed them our receipt which noted 4 people and gave us our rate. They must be the only company in the world to refute their own receipt? We would have felt more kindly about our situation had the room not been so humid the sheets were damp, they shorted us on towels everyday, and didn't clean the room at all one day. When you call guest services, they just transfer you to a department and you explain your problem to their departments. I felt like I worked for them. This hotel is a bad spot on the Hilton chain.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesawv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Lesawv,

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel. We very much appreciate your business.

Please accept our apologies for the concerns that you have raised in your review. We were both surprised and deeply disappointed by your recount of your experience with us.We assure you that it’s contrary to what our customers typically see from us. However, we can very much empathize with your situation and assure you that we will take your comments into consideration to improve our property.

We apologize if you went through any inconveniences and wehope you give us another chance to serve you, if you travels bring you back to our area. Please know that we value your business and will work hard to earn your trust once again.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location just a block or two from the New Orleans central business distric, French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and Morial Convention Center. That said, it was a little noisy and overpriced considering what else is available in NOLA. Clean, well-kept but just now WOW factor in the place

Room Tip: Upper Floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
John C,

Thank you for your review.We were delighted to read from your review that you found our location to be conveniently located. We do however understand that you were unsatisfied with our prices and that you found them to be too expensive. We sincerely apologize for this and assure you that we do all we can to create a great experience for each one of our guests. We are actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for your comfort and convenience and will definitely keep you review in mind.

Again,we do thank you for your review and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have gone through. We hope that the next time you are in the area you consider staying with us.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Located at the tip of the French Quarter and on the bank of the river, you can't get a much better location than this. Rooms can be very expensive, but this hotel is pure class.

I have stayed in this hotel a few times with my wife and never had anything short of an excellent experience. The bar and restaurant in the hotel are top notch. Taxis sit in a line in front of the hotel, so transportation from the hotel is not an issue, and if you're staying in the Quarter at night (as you should when that close), getting back to the hotel is never an issue either.

For cheap(er) people like me, it can sometimes be rough looking at the bill the next day. For people who want an ultimate experience regardless of price, this will be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knox H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Knox H,

Thank you for the great review! We all enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Lots of fun time ahead here in New Orleans so next time you are ready to return, give us a call and our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to help you plan that next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I recently had a stay at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside while attending a convention. While it wasn't my worst hotel stay, it was definltey my worst hotel stay for the amount of money I paid. For the price, one expects so much more. I realize that hotels in New Orleans are pricey, however, there are so many other hotels that are superior and cost less. The hotel's location is excellent. It's near the Aquarium of Americas, the trolley, the casino at Harrah's, and the Riverwalk. It is, however, several blocks from the French Quarter. Beds were comfortable, pillows and linens were good, and the bathroom had decent amenities. The room also had a mini frig and a safe. A/C worked well. However, it is a huge property and the distance from some of the rooms to restaurants and the convention rooms was considerable. Also, I didn't think it was as clean as it could be, especially the toilet. While sitting in the tub I was able to clearly see black grunge under the rim of the toilet. Also, the room was loud. It was near the train tracks and passing trains blew their whistles into the wee hours of the morning. I had to use earplugs, but it kept waking my husband, and I heard other guests complaining that they had been awakened many times during the two nights we were there. Check-in was efficient, however, bell service at valet was so abysmal that I gave up on a bellhop and carried my own bags. I was told that by the concierge that they contract out the bellhop service. My husband checked in later, parked in the garage and had excellent bellhop service. Definitely inconsistent. Drago's Restaurant is in the hotel. We had one meal there, but in my opinion the food is better at their Metairie location than the one at the Hilton. While the convention space is some of the most generous in size in the New Orleans area, especially for a large group, catering is outrageously expensive and the food is only so-so. If you're going to park, use self-parking in the garage. Valet is around $40 per night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpickerell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
kpickerell,

We are truly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allows us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments have ben internally discussed with our management team. On behalf of the entire team we thank you for your feedback and our sincere apologies for not succeeding in creating a memorable expeirience for you. We look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very LARGE spread out dual towered Hilton. Standard rooms no bathtub. We did not get river view. Layout somewhat confusing but great location. Not noisy and staff are helpful. Walk to riverside and superclose to everything:bourbon street and jackson square and French quarter were easy walks. Trolly runs right out front. For 200+ dollars a night for a small room Im glad the location made up for the price. I think self parking is 35 a night and is a long walk from the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewel10435613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Jewel10435613,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and thank you for you review. Your comments have been shared with our team. Your comments and suggestions will be used to help us build a better hotel experience for our future guests. We certainly enjoyed having you here. Our team will be happy to assist you in planning a future stay with us. Have a great summer!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#30 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#21 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Harrah's Hotel New Orleans
Harrah's Hotel New Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,999 reviews
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing