We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Clean and a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #73 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Check in was quick and the Executive Lounge served a continental breakfast and in the evening complimentary hors d'oeuvres. The Executive Level rooms are spacious and the views are magnificent. All in all, our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerGe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

TravelerGe3,

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we all look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. I have shared your comments with the 29th floor team and they were met with smiles. Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,166 - 4,172 of 5,684 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is excellent....definitely upholding the high standards of Hilton. The location is great!!! There is a Trolley stop right out the front door that can take you to any of the streets that lead to many wonderful areas. The bar in the lobby is fun and their staff is great. You HAVE to try the Oyster's Rockafellar at Drago's by the bar....amazing! We stayed there for Mardi Gras in Feb 2012 and are staying there again in April 2013 for Quarter Fest.....can't wait!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for the very nice review. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to that next visit. Your comments have been shared with the team and were all met with smiles.
New Orleans can be a fun destination any time of the year, so when you are ready for some well deserved R&R, give us a call and our team will be happy to help you plan a special getaway to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

As a Gold Member I was sent an email telling me that I could check in at the Executive Lounge instead of the Front Desk. The only down side was that I did not get the email until after I had already checked in at the front desk. I did not get a room on the Executive Level, but I was still given an upgraded room overlooking the Mississippi River and had access to the Executive Lounge. I loved the room because there was plenty of light in the room and every light fixture had an outlet to recharge my cell phone, iPad, and laptop. Drago's was a phenomenal restaurant. I would eat there even if I wasn't staying at the hotel. The Executive Lounge is nicely set up and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

870JenniferG,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. The team enjoyed having you here and we all look forward to seeing you again. I have shared your comments with the Executive Level and the Drago's teams and everyone was most appreciaitve. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Executive Office
Hilton New orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

One of the larger hotels in the area, and obviously popular.
The checkin was the slowest I've experienced- 2 agents at prime time, and you were herded in roped lines for the better part of an hour. Not sure why it would take so long, as I was prepared with checkin info and my turn at the desk went quickly- some folks took forever.
The hotel is at the river, and our request for a river view room was satisfied, although it wasn't a great view.
Beds were very comfortable and the room was a bit smallish for 1 adult and 3 kids.
Hot water for shower was not a highpoint- good pressure, no heat.
Area is ok- near Harrahs and close to the Riverwalk which, outside of being along the river, wasn't all that impressive.
A reasonable walk to French Quarter up Canal St. with lots to see and do nearby.
If you can get this hotel at a reasonable price, it's worth it.
But it's not all that special for a Hilton.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvdirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

tvdirector,

On behalf of the management and staff of our beautiful hotel we’d like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel. At the same time we are disappointed to learn of your mixed feelings, as we always like to ensure that our guests feel cared for, valued and respected, which is our brand promise. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority and we can assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration so that we may find ways to improve our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at this property and could't have been happier. Our room overlooked the Mississippi and I was just facinated by watching the river traffic. Although this hotel is huge and the NCAA Womens BB tournament people were staying here, we never felt like it was overcrowded or a hassle to get in and out. Good location for touring French Quarter and Central Business District. The room was modern and smelled new. I was surprised by how nice this place is.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for the river side but the view on the other side (city) is cool too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dms1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

dms1878,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. We all enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.
I have shared your comments with the team and all were most appreciaitve. The Womens's Final 4 gets into full swing tonight and what a fun time to be here in New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

simply it was a great times and the place was fit for all the purpose of the conference..very social c.warm and friendly ..you can see the river with a beautiful view if your room located at the riverside...people are so helpful ...room service ...front desk ..security ...all of them are so cooperative and working to make your stay so comfortable .smiles everywhere mixed with melodies of Jazz music

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmadaltashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

ahmadisatla,

Thank you for the very nice review. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to your next visit. New Orleans is a fun destination all year around so when that next opportunity arises for some well deserved R&R, keep us in mind and the team will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I checked in Friday, March 29 around noon and checked out on Sunday the 31st. Didn’t have to wait long, but the line grew longer as the day progressed. We stayed on the 5th (top) floor of building two facing the Riverwalk. We enjoyed the view of the river, fountain, and restaurants. There was a band playing from about 3pm until 9pm each day at one of the restaurants. The thumping could be heard inside the room, but was tolerable for us. If you plan on sleeping during the day, you may want to ask for a courtyard view.

The room was large pretty clean, though not immaculate. The room and hallways had wallpaper coming off the walls and scuff marks everywhere. It looked dingy. The handrails in the shower had rust where they met the wall, but the water was hotter than most hotels I’ve stayed in. The bed was ok, a little soft for my taste. Pillows were comfy. There was a small fridge but didn’t use it. The safe in the room was a plus.

The hotel guide said there was a Jacuzzi near the pool, but the only one is in the fitness center. We didn’t try the fitness center because they charge $12 a day, but heard it’s amazing. Parking was $35 a day in the Hilton garage. Harrah’s across the street might be cheaper, but parking is outrageous almost everywhere in New Orleans. There is a Starbucks in the hotel, but it’s pricey and they don’t accept rewards.

Overall it was a good stay because it’s on the Riverwalk and close to French Quarter, but expected a little more upkeep because it’s the Hilton. The streetcar has a stop at the hotel if you want to ride it. The Riverwalk mall is connected to the hotel so if it’s raining or you’re tired of walking (and you will be) you can find something to eat and coffee and beignets at Café Du Monde. We paid $139/night, but probably wouldn’t pay more than that, especially because parking is added on to that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babydoll1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

guitargirl1976,

Thank you for your review from your past stay. We always appreciate hearing from our guests- inlcuding when comments help us identify ways we can improve. Your feedback is very important to us. You can be assured that your comments will be taken into consideration and we hope that you will give us another opportunity when your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 167 in New Orleans
2,593 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#33 of 167 in New Orleans
977 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 167 in New Orleans
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,493 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $140 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing