We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$178
$126
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$238
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$252
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$111
$99
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$179
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,137)
Filter reviews
6,137 results
Traveler rating
2,261
2,121
1,083
444
228
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,261
2,121
1,083
444
228
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerdrago's restaurantexecutive levelcharbroiled oystersoutlet mallhealth clubfrench quartermississippi riverharrah's casinohuge hotelself parkingwithin walking distanceattending a conferencecafe du mondetrolley stopbourbon streetmardi gras
Filter
Updating list...
4,644 - 4,649 of 6,137 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Located where the Garden District meets the French quarter at the river, this location is about as good as you can find should you like to walk and/or are attending an event at the convention center. For those of you who Iike a game of chance, it is immediately adjacent to Harrah's Casino.. Can't comment on restaurants because we ate breakfast on club level as well as lunch and inner out each day. Rooms were relatively large, very clean and nicely appointed with locally themed artwork. Comfortable bed. River side of hotel has great views of the river from both rooms and the club level.

Room Tip: If light sleeper (we're not), request an higher-floor room. Be sure to request river view side, if desired.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

John W,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very nice review. I have shared your comments with the team and all were most appreciative. Our guests rooms in the main tower were renovated last summer and later this year we will began some public space and meeting room renovations. The team looks forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Let me begin by saying that the hotel compensated for our problems by a very substantial reduction. However, we would have much preferred to pay the price at which we reserved and have a seamless stay. We were there for a conference, and the conference facilities are good. Our room had a stunning view of the Mississippi river, but it was not clean. On arrival we discovered a soiled duvet and soiled sheets. Over our stay we uncovered more issues of cleanliness and lack of maintenance: dust everywhere, sloppy and late (up to 5 p.m.) cleaning, a missing light fixture in the bathroom, broken hangings, and pre-existing poop all around the inside of the toilet. The hotel windows can't be opened, which is always an unpleasant feature. The fitness center is not free. The wait for a counter at the front desk can be as long as 15 minutes and is never quick, although staff everywhere were friendly and willing. The open lobby is too small for the hotel so is always crowded and noisy: it is difficult to find a good public area to meet with colleagues or discuss. The one restaurant is bad and also crowded. The only alternative in the hotel is Starbucks. Our complaints were dealt with pleasantly, but in looking through comments before writing this review it seems clear that problems are chronic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

AlexaD,

First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. We appreciate you selecting our hotel. We do however understand that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel specifically regarding the cleanliness of our hotel. We are sorry that you found dust throughout your room as well as finding your sheets and duvet not properly cleaned. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet expectations and we are actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We strive on providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that this issue does not occur again. We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and wewill keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and we invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just spent a week at the Hilton Riverside, and greatly enjoyed my stay. It's a large hotel, mostly for conferences. But the rooms are beautiful, quiet, and have great river views. The most important feature for me was the location. It's just on the seam between the warehouse district and the French quarter. Both are easily walked, depending on your mood.

Room Tip: I love the river views. The Mississippi is an incredibly active waterway, with huge ships, barges, and everything in-between.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMarkWMeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

DrMarkWMeehan,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we certainly enjoyed having you here. We look forward to that next opportunity to serve your New Orleans hotel needs and our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to assist you in planning that next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have a professional conference every few years in NoLA and usually stay here. It's a nice choice as either it's large enough to host the conference itself, or is convenient to the NoLA Convention center. It's very walk-able to the French Quarter and French Market areas. It's got the normal and expected amenities of a convention/business hotel which are appreciated when I travel, particularly a good number and location of outlets for the inevitable charger collection. I've learned not to expect free wi-fi in convention hotels and the Hilton does not offer it. (Why they can't/don't offer it in a $250 a night hotel when the Super 8 at $60/night can offer it, I don't know. But this isn't unique to this hotel) Some convention hotels do offer free wi-fi in the lobby or meeting room area, but the Hilton did not appear to offer any free wi-fi at all. The only glitch was when I arrived early (which is not unusual for a conference) and was assigned my room, only to discover that the room was still occupied. Other than some annoyance at having to trek back down to the lobby with my luggage, the glitch was quickly resolved and the rest of the stay was glitch-free.

Room Tip: The "Riverside" building is only worth staying in if you have an actual river side room. Otherwise stay in the main tower.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Ghp3,

Thank you for your continued patronage and thank you for the great review. In response to many a guest comment, we do offer complimentary WiFi access in our lobby levels and we have added several complimentary HSIA stations for our guests to use in our 2nd level Coffee Shop. Our apologies if this information was not extended to you during your last stay. The team enjoyed having you here and we all look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is awesome, close to the French Quarter and Convention Center/Warehouse District. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable, the front desk staff and cleaning staff was accommodating and helpful. The fitness center was excellent although came with fee.
Having Drago's restaurant down stairs was an added bonus for the char grilled oysters.
It was a pleasure and will return.

Room Tip: Upgraded to executive to use the lounge, internet and get on a higher floor for the views, well worth the money.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

JohnL,

Thank you for the very nice review and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. Your comments have been shared with the team and were all met with smiles. When you are ready to return for some New Orleans fun and Drago's oysters, let us know and we will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews