We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in the Big Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #72 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Hilton, Riverside is perfectly situated to get to just about anywhere in New Orleans. You can walk to the Casino, visit great restaurants and just a few steps from the front door is a streetcar stop that takes you as far as the French Market. A direct connection to the Riverwalk places everything at your finger tips. The room we had provided a stunning view of river from 14 floors up. Take advantage of the information provided by the Consierge Desk and all of the guides and maps to New Orleans. Visit the Garden District, ride the St. Charles streetcar to the Camellia Grill or visit their new location in the French Quarter. Christmas is a magical time in New Orleans with many sights decked out in traditional holiday fashion. The Hilton Riverside is the perfect place to begin your collection of memories.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aegiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Aegiss1,

Thank you for the very nice review. We were glad to have had you here and happy to hear that you enjoyed your Holiday time with us. New Orleans can be a fun destination any time and we can agree that there is something magical about a Creole Christmas. Anytime you are ready to return our team will be happy to help you plan that next vacation in New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,493 - 4,499 of 5,955 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hilton Honors Gold Member... No upgrade. Standard room and was told I did not have access to the executive lounge. Not sure what good Hilton Honors Gold does you here. Guess when you use your Hilton Honors points to book a room all upgrades go out the window. Room was average. Light came into room all the way around the door from the hall, very poorly insulated door, which made the hall noise feel like they were in the room with you. Also right out of My Cousin Vinny some boat loves to honk its VERY LOUD horn MULTIPLE TIMES at 4 AM EVERY MORNING on the riverside. So we had noise from the hall and from the window. Expected far better quality from a Hilton Honors reward night and was very disappointed. Will probably try my luck somewhere else next time.

Here's a tip. Beer in the gift shop is $3.50, in the bar it is $6.50, walk up to the gift shop buy your beer and go sit in bar.

Room Tip: Stay away from 2625 it stays lit up from hallway light even when dark, and allows all hall noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

bronco837,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. Our apologies for the door incident. I have asked our Maintenace team to check the door in 2625 and we appreciate you letting us know the room number. As you may not be aware there have been some changes in the benefits of being HHonors Diamond and Gold members and I encourage you to familarize youself with them. As an HHonors Gold member you can choose your rewards via our HHonors " My Way" program prior to your anticipated hotel arrival. We look forward to an opportunity to have you back next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited New Orleans in January 2013 with my family, and could not have had a better hotel experience. Check-in was easy, our rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a fantastic view of the river from our room. The restaurant and bar in the hotel were great, and the staff was friendly and charming. The location was great. It was very easy to get to Jackson Square, and to several other sites and restaurants in the French Quarter. I'm a wine enthusiast, and the hotel was very close to the Wine Institute of New Orleans, where we passed an afternoon tasting from their large selection. Cabs were readily available or easily called when wanting to venture outside the French Quarter. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

VAVoyage,

Thank you for the very nice review! It was a pleasure to have you all here and we look forward to seeing you again during that next visit to New Orleans. Your comments have been shared with the team and they were met with smiles. Let us know when your planning your next visit to New Orleans and our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to assist you in planning that next vacation.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Last month we stayed at the Hilton Bonnet Creek in Orlando and gave it the highest possible rating. The NO hotel is very good but not quite at the same level (hence the 4-star review). We were there for the Rock n Roll Half Marathon. We spent the first two nights at the Wyndham Baronne, which I thought was a great value. It was clean, very quiet, and close (but not too close) to the action in the French Quarter. The Hilton room was almost identical to the one at the Wyndham, but the Hilton offered a lovely river view from the 27th floor and also access to the Executive Lounge (as Hilton Diamond members), which enhanced the stay. The views from the 29th floor are amazing. The hotel also has a great restaurant (Drago's), which we enjoyed while we were waiting to check in and for lunch after the race.

The major downside, at least on Saturday, was how busy the hotel was. There was a cheerleader convention in town, and the line to check in was extremely long. We actually gave up, checked our luggage, and went on a City tour. When we came back around 5 p.m., the line was still long and (more surprisingly) none of the rooms on the executive level were ready for check-in. But the desk agent spent a great deal of time finding us a comparable room with a great view and, even better, switched the reservation so we would not have to change rooms during the stay. We were very impressed that she took the time with us, epecially since there were many folks waiting to check in.

The hotel was a lot less hectic the next day, and thus more enjoyable. It has a great location, which was a couple blocks from the race start, and within easy walking distance of the French Quarter, World War II Museum and many other attractions. It also is adjacent to the Riverwalk, which meant we could enjoy some shopping without having to go out in the inclement weather. On balance, if we go back, I would stay at either hotel (depending on the rate), but would prefer the Hilton.

One disappointment was that the concierge at the Executive Lounge told us the hotel has a spa/jacuzzi, and my son and his friends put on their suits and went there, only to find that it was boarded up.

A plus is that we took two of the Grayline Tours (which were excellent), and the driver dropped us directly in front of the Hilton on our return, saving a walk or a cab ride from Jackson Square.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Susan K,

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our team enjoyed having you all here and we look forward to seeing you all again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Our apologies for the delay at check in. Our Front Desk team has been been reviewing what happened and will be coming up with a game plan to ensure that this does not occur again. We hope to you all had success in the Marathon - we certainly enjoyed all the participants who stay with us. Thank you for the very nice review and we appreciate you all choosing us as your New Orleans destination.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for a business convention in mid-September. Location was perfect to get to the French Quarter with ease, as the riverfront boardwalk is right across the street (Less than 10 minute walk to Jackson Square). The exercise/health club is a hike through the hotel (near the parking garages), but it is large with lots of machines. We paid a fee, but some guests had facility use included in their room package. Our room was small, in the first tower. Not a bad room, just a little tired. Hotel lobby bar is lively in the evening, and a good place to get some apps. Walked to the World War II museum (warehouse district) .. it's definite "must see". Hilton staff were all very helpful and friendly. Solid choice in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeMist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Lake Mist,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our team enjoyed having you here and we all look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Thank you for the great review! I have shared your comments with the team and everyone was most appreciative, If we can assisit you in planning a future stay in New Orleans, please give us a call.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is largely what you'd expect- a big Hilton, mostly professionally run, pretty busy, but comfortable. It's centrally located, making it very easy to get to the French Quarter by food and many other areas by trolly car, a longer walk, or a cab. The house-keeping was a bit slow and not at the very top level- I came back to take a rest one day at 3:30pm to find my room not made up yet, and the tea for the in-room coffee maker was never replaced after I used it for the first time. But, it was mostly fine. If what you want is something reliable, comfortable, and centrally located (though without any special atmosphere or the like) this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Matthew L,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and thank you for the very nice review! I have shared your Housekeeping concerns with our Housekeeping management team and we are very sorry that these issues occurred. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a weekend stay seeing the sites and running the half marathon
Location good for walking to several locations and restaurants. Pleasant staff, helpful in all interactions. Room clean, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancydto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

nancydto,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the recent marathon. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Our team will be happy to assist you in planning your next visit to New Orleans-just give us a call when you are ready to return.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 167 in New Orleans
1,070 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 167 in New Orleans
3,647 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 167 in New Orleans
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 167 in New Orleans
2,729 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#75 of 167 in New Orleans
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $168 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, bedfinder AG, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing