We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #79 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
franklin, ky
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Substandard Hilton”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the first time I stayed at a Hilton property and quite frankly this hotel did not live up to the standards of what Conrad Hilton would have in mind. There is picture of him & his son Barron right there in the lobby.
Here is why I am giving this hotel a lousy review. First upon check in I was not offered even a bottle of water. The check in was....bland no greetings no nothing. When I got to my floor there was a maid cleaning some rooms so I asked her if I could get a bottle of water she told me that water is only given to VIP guests and obviously I was not one so I was told to go to the vending machine. Which I did.

I have taken some pictures of the room and the dark spot on the shower curtain was definitely some "excrement". You be the judge of what you think that is.

The hotel is obviously old was opened in 1977 the pictures of the drawers as you can see are worn down and needs to be "patched" or replaced, the worse part is the dust between the drawers I put my fingers between them and as you can see it has not been dusted for days or maybe even months.

I also took a picture of the little overhead light fixture on the guest elevators and as you all can see it looks like nobody has cleaned them for a while.

They have a fitness center but when I went to the front desk to use it they said I had to pay an extra $16 per day to use it. Really!! Whats the point of having a fitness center and asking guests to pay for it. A better thing would be to include in the price when quoting guests.

I liked New Orleans but I will not stay at this hotel there are others that are little more pricey but worth a shot.

Room Tip: I stayed in 1103 so it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRNKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. I am especially disappointed your shower curtain was not cleaned properly and that you did not receive the excellent welcome our guests deserve. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel and have a pleasant stay. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,013
    1,943
    983
    404
    204
See reviews for
820
1,170
185
2,518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at many of the major hotels in New Orleans but the Hilton Riverside is my favorite for Mardi Gras. Many hotels struggle during large event weekends but the Hilton does a great job. The hotel staff is super nice and helpful plus Drago's is downstairs and has take out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
JM,

Happy to hear that you all enjoyed Mardi Gras 2013! What a great time to be in New Orleans.
Thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family and I stayed at the New Orleans Riverside Hilton February 7 through February 11, it was a wonderful experience! The hotel staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. The rooms are tasteful and CLEAN. An overall perfect experience.

Room Tip: Great Location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseRagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
DeniseRagan,

Thank you for the very nice review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team enjoyed having you here. We certainly look forward to your next visit and our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to assist you in planning that next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a conference next door, thought the proximity would be worth the extra cost. Turns out it wasn't that close or convenient after all, partly because of the construction work directly adjacent, also because the size of the conference centre means you could stay a few blocks in either direction and have the same sweaty walk.

Internet costs an arm and a leg, for each device. For conference / business travel this is really annoying (someone else isn't always picking up the tab).

The final insult was turning up to the gym to find out that they want you to pay for that too!? Really got pissed off at that point. Is it a hotel or what?

If you have a conference, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else... (the "cheaper" hilton suites have comp wifi, gym.... don't know why the main hilton hotels keep letting themselves down)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScruffyH399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
ScruffyH399,

Frist of all thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. We aplogize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We were disappointed to hear that you had some issues at our hotel and we are to hear that you found our hotel to be inconveniently located to your points of interest. We can assure you that our main priority is for our guests to have an exceptional stay. We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests expirience and will keep your review in mind. Thank you for your feedback and we invite you back to stay with us next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed here on several occasions. This time I booked a Deluxe room and was placed in building 1 (tower). The Room was prepaid however Hilton had charged me a higher rate than what I booked it at on an alternate website. The gentleman at checkout placed a refund for the difference very quickly. I would recommend they have more front desk staff and bell hops during checking for such a large event. The line was very long and it appeared to around a shift change. There was only one bell hop holding luggage for guest as rooms were not ready even at the 3 or 4 pm checking time. Luggage was all over the place not secure and no way for only 1 person to watch. As I stated I booked a deluxe room but I am not sure what made it deluxe other than having a microwave and mini fridge. Otherwise the room was okay. It did have a good river view. Hotel confidently located on the river and within walking distance to most attractions as well as buses and trolley cars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjones4180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
jjones4180,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appeciate hearing from our guests -including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I see that you had some inconveniences while staying with us and we thank you for bring these matters to our attention. Your feedback is very important to us and your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel. Again, we thank you very much for your review and we hope that you consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had a great stay at the Hilton for Mardi Gras. Even though the hotel was extremely busy, everyone was still friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Eating Charbroiled oyster at Drago's is the best. This hotel is in the middle of everything and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on Riverside near a courtyard. Very quiet and easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jst0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
jstOne,

Thank you for the great review and we certainly enjoyed having you here. I have shared your nice comments with the Drago's team and all were most appreciative. The team, here, looks forward to seeing you again next time you are back in New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were very happy for many reasons with this hotel. First, they were very understanding that we could not make it the day of our reservations due to weather. Second, we were upgraded to the executive floor with free Internet and breakfast. It was also nice, during the day, to go to the executive lounge for hot tea, soda or whatever. They even had pralines, to which my husband is now addicted.

The room was large and well appointed, although not the best I have seen in NOLA but it was clean and quiet and comfortable.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageurmonde19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Voyageurmonde19,

It is great to hear that you both enjoyed your Mardi Gras time here. We enjoyed having you both here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. While Mardi Gras is a fun time don't forget our Festival Season in April and May when the city hosts our famous Cultural and Heritage festivals. One that is always enjoyed is the French Quarter Festival - a weekend of fun, music and of course a "Taste of New Orleans" when all of our many famous restaurants participate. Let us me know next time you will be here and I will ensure the Chef prepares some Pralines for you and your husband to enjoy.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#38 of 165 in New Orleans
917 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 165 in New Orleans
2,517 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#75 of 165 in New Orleans
3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
#67 of 165 in New Orleans
3,876 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing