We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great convention hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #74 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great convention hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Really works for such a very large hotel next to (or really near to) convention center. Good public spaces; staff well organized. Decent restaurants - especially grilled oysters in Drago's. Lots of nearby shopping and of course lots of good restaurants within walking distance in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
James P,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again soon. The best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,617
    1,655
    829
    315
    164
See reviews for
669
994
165
2,003
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sunny california
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent a few night at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside. The location is great for the convention center and easy walking distance to the tourist sights. New Orleans is a pretty easy city to walk and see the sights. The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. It was kept clean and tidy daily. We were in an executive room which allowed us to go to the executive club. Breakfast was served daily and there were snacks served during the day. There is coffee, tea ,sodas and water available all day. I think the club should be about three times larger, as it was really crowded at breakfast and hard to find a place to sit. The cash bar was pretty pricey. We have stayed in Hiltons on the executive levels in Europe and they never charge for alcoholic drinks. Maybe something the US Hiltons should think about. The view in the club was amazing. We enjoyed our stay at this Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isoyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
isoyhappy,

Thank you for the great review and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. I have shared your comments regarding our 29th Floor Executive Lounge and the staff was most appreciative. We enjoyed havng you here and look forward to the next time your travels bring you back here with us. The best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I requested a room away from the elevator that wish was granted! The rooms were spacious and the beds were quite comfy! I have not heard a peep for the 4 nights I was here.. The floor plan, is simple and easy to get around, and the staff well I didnt have much interaction as I rarely needed anything. My room was kept nice and clean, it felt fresh! I had a queen room with a view of the river. This hotel is accessible to the street cars, walking distances of many attractions and it felt safe.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator. High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Cindy H,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to your next stay. The best of the upcoming Holiday season to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The location is ideal: it's on the river, it's a short walking distance to the convention center, it's across the street from Harrah's if you like to gamble and it's at the edge of the French Quarter. The room we stayed in was clean and seemed updated. We were on one of the executive floors and really enjoyed the convenience of having the option to eat a continental breakfast in the executive lounge. They also offer afternoon snacks.
I highly recommend the restaurant Drago's. Fast service, even though it seemed super busy. The broiled oysters were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoRooroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
ChicagoRooroo,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your New Orleans destination and thank you for the very nice review. I have shared your comments with our team and all were most appreciative. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to your next visit.

The best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

New Orleans is back and they love tourists! We stayed 2 nights at the Hilton Riverside and had a river view queen room on the 23rd floor. It was very spacious and clean. All employees that we encountered were polite and helpful. This is a large hotel with many events are going on at once but they are quite prepared to to cope with it all quickly and calmly. At the same time guests are treated as special and your needs important.
The hotel is at the end of famous Canal Street and has a trolly station at the front door. Many popular sites are in walking distance. We visited wtih friends in the lobby bar for several hours and as per southern hospitality we welcome to stay as long as we wanted. The bar food was hot and tasty. I'm spoiled now and will have to return on our next trip, which I hope is soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on an upper floor. You might get lucky. Watching the river traffic is very inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookwoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
bookwoman2,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Lots of fun planned here in New Orleans in 2013 including the magic of Super Bowl, Mardi Gras and of course our Spring Heritage festivals scheduled in March and in April with all the fun within walking distance from the hotel. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to help you plan your next stay. The best of the upcoming Holidays to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night during the Final Four championship. The hotel was located within walking distance of the Super Dome, but it was a long walk that night due to it pouring down rain. When we arrived at the hotel all of the passenger elevators were not working, but luckily enough they opened up the short supply of service elevators. The room was pretty standard for a Hilton property and provided a good night's sleep. We didn't get to see much of the hotel lobby or any other features. When visiting New Orleans in the future we would definitely consider staying here again, but would also be open to trying a new hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
philflyers,

Thank you for the nice review and thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your 2012 NCAA Final Four destination . Yes, I remember the night very well with the thunderstorms and power spikes however we were able to recover quickly and we appreciated all of our guests' patience. Since you were here in early 2012 all of our guest rooms in our main tower have been renovated and we are very proud of our new guest room product. Hopefully you can find some well deserved R&R time this winter and come back to enjoy our new rooms. Sugar Bowl, Super Bowl and Mardi Gras all start off 2013 here in New Orleans and we look forward to seeing you here .

The best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hilton New Orleans Riverside is one of the most popular hotels in the city. The location is excellent with numerous restaurants, shopping, and tourist attractions nearby. The rooms are stately and the staff is efficient and friendly. Drago's restaurant in the hotel is a great addition and being connected to the Riverwalk Mall is fantastic. We enjoyed our stay there for a business/pleasure trip, and definitely plan to revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agranier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
agranier,

Happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Lots of fun events planned here in New Orleans in 2013 with Mardi Gras, Super Bowl and all of our Spring Heritage festivals so when the opportunity arises and you can take some well deserved R&R time, give us a call and our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to help you plan and customize your next stay.

The best of the upcomig Holiday Season to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Harrah's Hotel New Orleans
Harrah's Hotel New Orleans
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,190 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing