We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big hotel can be nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #74 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Really recommend joining hotels frequent programs - no cost so why not. We stayed here with a conference. Conference rooms were in a 2nd building in back - make sure you don't accept a room there. Because we were freq. program we were in main bldg and got bumped up. Room was large, we requested and got Mississippi River view, just refurbished our floor so everything was new with fresh paint, curtains, rugs, etc. The restaurant in lobby - Drago's is a New Orleans restaurant and not a hilton. Food was wonderful - Go and forget it is in your hotel!
Has nice location that makes it easy to get any where. Staff including housekeeping and conceirge were very friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in main bldg, ask for high floor with view of Mississippi River - or if you like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Molly,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your New Orleans destination and thank for the wonderful review. Your comments have been shared with the team and all were most appreciative. There are lots of fun events scheduled here in New Orleans in early 2013 so when that opportunity arises take a take a winter vacation, keep us in mind. Our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to help you plan your winter getaway.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,588 - 4,594 of 5,873 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was in town for an Organo Gold convention and at first had such a difficult time getting a room for the duration of my trip but lucked out with Priceline at the last minute. I stayed in Room 704 and I arrived at the hotel around 10am and to my surprise I was allowed to go right up to my room. There were so many people in New Orleans, I didn't realize it would be so busy. At first glance I was extremely happy with the room. The carpet in the hallway was stained really bad but the carpet in the room was okay. The bed is always my first place of inspection and for one of the first times, it passed. There weren't any stray hairs in my bed. My second place of inspection is the bathroom and there was something black on the outside of the toilet. I proceeded to take a tissue and remove it, thinking it was a sticker and ewwwwwww it wasn't and God only knows what it was. The supervisor came in and cleaned it off but there was still some residue left ewwwwwwww! The view of this room is the parking garage but over that you can see Harrah's. One of the elements I loved about this hotel was the fact that the Riverside mall was literally attached to the hotel, so that made finding something to eat very easy and in my downtime somewhere to walk around. The hotel is very close to Canal Street and Decatur Street, where you can find many eateries and horse and carriage rides. The staff were very friendly and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladiinred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Ladiinred,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Hopefully your next visit will be without the hurried pace of Conference business. The problem with the bathroom has been addressed and our sincere apologies and we appreciate you alerting us to this issue. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to assist you in planing your next stay with us.

Best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Recently stayed here for a family wedding for 3 nights. Entire staff from Fred Sawyers on down were great. He has a very "can do" team assembled. Special thanks to Tony Abadie for the many accomodations he made happen. The view of the Mississippi River, the close proximity to Harrah's Casino, the convenience to all Nola night life, close to convention center, the trolley that travels the riverfront, and of course the Char-broiled oysters etc. at the famous Drago's Restaurant made this stay very memorable!!
Stan H

Room Tip: get a river view room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed having you here and happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Your nice comments have been shared with Fred Sawyers and with Tony Abadie and both say ' Thank You". Lots of fun times ahead down here in New Orleans with Sugar Bowl, Mardi Gras 2013 and the Super Bowl just around the corner. Hope to have you celebrating these awesome events with us.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After a shaky stay earlier this year, I returned on business to this hotel with relatively low expectations. This stay was MUCH better in every possible way. The staff has been unbelievably helpful and friendly -- a big change from the last experience. The room is lovely; the in-room dining has been very good, and the charbroiled oysters at Dragos downstairs are NOT to be missed. Actually my favorite thing to eat in New Orleans, and there are a lot of good places to eat here! Very comfortable bed, quiet at night, and the best water pressure in the shower I have ever experienced. Wow, these guys really turned things around in the last 6 months! Very pleased. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel now. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for coming back and giving us a second chance. We enjoyed having you here and it is good to hear that we were able to change your mind about us. I have shared your comments with the team and all are most appreciative. Keep us in mind later this year when you start making your New Year's Eve plans. New Orleans hosts an awesome NYE party and we would enjoy ringing in 2013 with all of our friends. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

Best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have never been treated any worse compared to the inhuman, rude, nasty and utterly poignant treatment I have received from the customer service at Hilton New Orleans. The staff are 'exceptionally insensitive,' rude and pathetically dubious. They make promises and deliver on none. They fail to hear out the customer, only concerned about ramming their legalistic protocols down your throat. If you are going to New Orleans, it is the last place you want to stay!

Room Tip: The whole place is devoid of the serenity Hilton is noted for. You could hardly get a good night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Our sincere apologies for not providing you with a satisfactory stay . Unfortunately from the information provided I am not sure what occurred. However we are certainly interested in hearing more about your stay. Please call our Executive Office (504) 561-0500 ext 3910 and leave your name and telephone number and we will certainly contact you about your stay.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a convention recently. Location was ok, pretty central to everything. Within walking distance to the convention center which was nice. However, had to walk through a back alley filled with construction debris and garbage dumb. Very unsightly. A train runs right up the back of the hotel which blows its whistle at all hours of the night. Annoying to be woken up at 3 am. Found black mold on the shower curtain which was promptly changed. I've stayed in worse but you should look hard before settling on this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5STARz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you choosing us as your New Orleans destination. Our apologies for the construction debris in our side drive. We are nearing completion of our rooms renovation project in our main tower and we are very excited about the new rooms we will offering our guests this Fall. We can certainly agree that the late night train noise can be a nuissance and I have shared your comments with the Yard Master at the Public Belt Railroad. Sometimes their Train Engineers become too agressive with their alert whistles when crossing the pedestrian and vehicular crossings. The Yard Masters work well with the businesses along the Riverfront when these matters occur. We hope to have an opportunity to see you again. Our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to help you plan your next stay with us.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A 1600+ room hotel on the Mississippi that has excellent service. Comfortable, clean rooms. The riverfront trolley is just outside the door. Across from the casino. We called room service for breakfast. Quick delivery, cordial, plentiful, etc.

A special compliment goes to Sylvia at the concierge desk. Extremely knowlegable. Friendly is an understatement. She is a wealth of knowledge for both those who are first time visitors and the frequent visitors. Stop and say "hi" to her whether you need her services or not.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Mississippi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Good to hear that you enjoyed you stay. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again soon. I have shared your nice comments with Sylvia and her Concierge team. Sylvia does a very good job for our guests and we are happy to have her here with us. Lots of fun events planned here in New Orleans for later this year and in early 2013 and I know Sylvia will be happy to help you plan your next stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#32 of 166 in New Orleans
1,045 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,609 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 166 in New Orleans
2,425 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 166 in New Orleans
2,686 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $149 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing