We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Hilton on New Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #76 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at this Hilton New Years eve and the 1st. Basic room, clean and nice bedding. Furniture has a little wear but all in all good basic room. They charge for WiFi but I was able to get a promo code for free internet. Need to push them a little to get it. Drago's restaurant in the lobby is a must try for the charbroiled oysters. The hotel was very busy with Sugar Bowl fans in town. Harrah's casino across the street and the French Quarter less than 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

We certainly enjoyed having you both here for the New Year Eve /Sugar Bowl weekend and we look forward to having you both here again next year. Thank you for the nice comments about Drago's. I will pass them on to the team and we thank you .

The best of 2012 to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,833 - 4,839 of 5,796 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a nice hotel, but I waited one hour in line just to check in. These people have no concept of customer satisfaction. Staff is disorganized and the computer system must be from the middle ages.

Think twice before you book here!

Room Tip: Get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Our apologies for the long line at check in. Unfortunately from the information that I have I do not know when you arrived. Sounds as though it was December 26, 2011 when our system went down for approximately 20 minutes at the most unopportune time. Our sincere apologies if our team was not helpful during this time. Customer service is a priority and we would certainly like to know more about the poor service you recieved. Please send a synopsis of the incident to our Executive Office, Hilton New Orleans Riverside, 100 Poydras St, New Orleans, La 70140 and I will certainly have someone follow up with you. Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked our hotel through Expedia and requested river front or river view. When we arrived, it was an interior room with a view of a smoking courtyard. I called the desk and within 2 minutes, we were given a room on the 22nd floor with a river view. I was so happy since the Saints were playing, the BCS championship was coming to town AND the Sugar Bowl so we couldn't ask for anything better! The place was across the street from Harrah's (our favorite resting spot), a block from the main street (Canal) and a 5 minute walk to the French Quarter. There was a little trouble one night in the hallway and I didn't report it but when I talked with a couple security guys the next day, they said I should've called and they would've escorted the boys back to their rooms or out of the hotel immediately. It was nice to know they had our backs. If we ever go back to NO, we will probably stay here again. The room was spacious, and comfortable, and the view incredible. A little pricey, but what hotel isn't?

Room Tip: Ask for Riverfront or at least river view. A room in the tall tower on the uptown or river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elliottjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

It sounds as though your recent New Orleans vacation was a good one and we are happy to have been part of its success. Our apologies about the noise issues. Always contact hotel Security whenever something like that happens. It is very easy for hotel Security to become involved and take care of a situation before anything can get out of hand. We certainly enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you all again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. There are lots of fun events planned for 2012 in New Orleans so when you have an opportunity for some well deserved R&R, consider coming back. Our team will happy to assist you in planning your next stay.

The best of 2012 to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed 12/28-12/31 at Hilton Riverside. Booked an amazing rate on Priceline. Arrived 11 a.m. A quick, easy registration and right to room on 18th floor with river view. Nice size with king bed, frig, coffee maker, desk and chair. Quiet, clean and comfy. A little walk to French Quarter, but not bad. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. There are lots of fun things scheduled to happen in New Orleans in 2012 whether it is sporting events or heritage festivals our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

The best of 2012 to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Hilton customer service is top notch in every aspect. We, family of 5, spent two nights and it was a pleasant experience from the beginning to the end. The hotel is clean and the staff is polite and friendly. Our room had a beautiful city and river view. The location is safe and close to the French Quarter. There is a Trolley stop by the hotel and it takes about five minutes to get to the heart of the city. If you have young kids, make sure to visit the Aquarium and Insectarium within a short walking distance to the hotel. In regards to parking, it indeed is expensive, but comparable to other hotels. You can get a discount if you get "Park and Stay" package. In summary, it is a nice hotel in a nice location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors with city and river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abuzerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

It is nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent New Orleans vacation and we are happy to have been a part of its success. We enjoyed having you here with us and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. If we can assist you in planning your next stay, please do not hesitate to call upon us.

The best of 2012 to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans RIverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed for three nights. Took 45 minutes to check in... Was very crowded due to a game in NO and overbooking! Rooms are big and comfortable ( no bed bugs as another review said) other than the fact that the tempteture control in the room didn't work. It was 76 degrees throughout the stay. When we complained they sent an "engineer" to fix it who obviously didn't do anything. Housekeeping was great we came bk each day to clean rooms. The parking is redicoilusly expensive $102 for three days of parking. The garage elevators leading to the hotels did not work, there were no stairs and we were stuck for 30 minutes in the night waiting for an elevator. Used an emergency phone to call the hotel desk they sent someone.

Overall good location. Parking way too expensive, won't stay there again. There are plenty of nice affordable hotels in the French quarter where one can stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Familykhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Our apologies for the challenges that you expirienced during your stay. I have asked our Engineering team to follow up with me regarding recent down elevator issues.Unfortunately from the information provided I can not tell when you were here however I can certainly understand your frustrations - 30 minutes waiting for an elevator is not acceptable. Our rates for parking are comparable with other convention hotels both locally and nationally. Our Parking team does bi annual surveys to ensure that we are offering our guests a fair price. Hopefully next time you stay with us you ask about of Park and Save package that includes parking in your room rate. We certainly enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

The best of 2012 to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

When we first booked at the Hilton Riverside we were a bit skeptical because of a few reviews we read that were not too flattering. However, our stay at the Hilton Riverside in New Orleans was wonderful!

The hotel is clean, the staff is very accommodating and the location is excellent. My husband and I stayed at this Hilton for 4 nights right before Christmas. Of course, being in New Orleans is always a treat, but Christmas time is special. The entire city is decorated beautifully and the tours etc. are fitting for the season. The Hilton Riverside is located mere steps from the Riverwalk Shops and the Riverwalk itself. It has easy access to Harrah's Casino and is only several blocks from the French Quarter. A short walk took us to the location where we boarded buses for tours of the Garden District and later the Plantation tour.

Overall, the Hilton Riverside was an excellent choice for us. We couldn't have been more pleased!

Room Tip: Rooms near the tracks right along the river do get the sound of the train whistle, however, we never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RogersJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you for the very nice review and we are happy to hear that your Christmas vacation in New Orleans was a success. We certainly enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you both back at Christmas time in 2012. Hopefully this will become a family tradition.

If you have time later this Spring our Heritage Festivals begin in April and in May and what great months to visit. The weather is wonderful and all the tropical and subtropical plants are a bloom. If our team can assist you in planning your next stay, please do not hesitate to call upon us.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans RIverside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,571 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#35 of 166 in New Orleans
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,649 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $114 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing