We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than staying in the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #77 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Manila
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Much better than staying in the French Quarter”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

A lot of New Orleans tourists book at the French Quarter, because it is the-most happening place in town. When we visited last December 2010, we looked at reviews and pictures of several of these French Quarter hotels, and had the impression that the only thing going for these tired (and sometimes seedy looking) hotels was location.

We decided to book at the Hilton Riverside, and it was the best decision we ever made.

First: location. If you want the French Quarter, then it is so easily accessible from the Hilton. One of the streetcar lines is right at the hotel entrance, and the streetcar line leading to the French Quarter (about 5 minutes away) is a 3-minute walk from the hotel.

Second: THE VIEW. The Riverside is AT the riverside, so you have gorgeous views of the Mississippi River. I would suggest booking a room with this view; it is worth every penny.

When we booked online, we were given a choice of upgrades at a hugely discounted rate, the deal being that if your upgrade was available upon check-in, you could avail of it.

We chose an upgrade to a room on the executive floor, which gave us access to the executive lounge. A great choice, considering the wide selection of food and drinks at the lounge throughout the day, but particularly for the early evening hours. And in the morning, having breakfast with the panoramic view of the Mississippi that the lounge provides? An unparalleled experience.

For rates equal to or even less than that of French Quarter hotels, you get the superior quality and standard – and modern rooms and amenities – of a top notch Hilton hotel. You even get Lavazza coffee as the room complimentary coffee -- perfectly brewed by the cup. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If given the choice, upgrade to executive floor for access to the great executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,863
    1,837
    932
    361
    193
See reviews for
771
1,133
178
2,297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poteau
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed at the Hilton Riverside for 3 days. Great location, connected to the Riverwalk Mall, across the street from Harrahs casino, streetcar stop at front door. You can take the street car to the French Market, French Quarter, cementeries, zoo or Garden District. You can also easily walk to the French Quarter. For the streetcar buy a Jazzy Pass on board for $3 for unlimited rides until 4am.
The hotel has a great health club which includes indoor tennis courts, racketball courts, weight equipment, treadmills, sauna,ect. There is a fee if you are not a Hilton Honors Member. Nice pool area, fast elevators, nice bar, very good seafood restaurant (Dragos). The room was very nice the view was fantasic. Only complain I could make is the bathroom was a little small.
In downtown New Orleans there are hundreds of restaurants and bars so you have a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here in New Orleans and with us. We are proud of our hotel and thank you for the wonderful review. As a neighbor just to our north we hope to see you again soon. Lots of fun times ahead in New Orleans with the Sugar Bowl, BCS Championship game, Mardi Gras and the NCAA Men's Final 4 just before we begin our Festival Season in April. Give us a call when you are ready to return and our team will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I spent 4 days at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside in July whilst attending a large conference at the adjacent conference centre. Despite the hotel being full, service was not diminished, and the hotel worked like a well oiled machine. Room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Staff were particularly helpful in assisting me in retrieving or replacing lost credit cards. Lounge is lovely, as are the staff looking after this facility. Location great for conference attendance, and only a short walk from the attractions of the French Quarter etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for the very nice review of our hotel and we certainly enjoyed having you here.
Your nice comments have been shared with our team and we thank you for them. New guest rooms and a new Hilton Marketplace on property this Fall will ring in the New Year for our guests on a very positive note. Hopefully you can include us in your New Year's Eve plans, we would like to have you spend this fun time with us.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Found a deal online--stay 2 nights, get the 3rd free. This came out to $66 a night for a very clean hotel in a convenient location. I've stayed here several times before and have always enjoyed my stay. This time I did not have a river view but it didn't matter as I was rarely in my room. My room was spotless, spacious and well-appointed. The salt-water pool on the river side was beautiful and clean and no one was there in the middle of the very hot afternoon. Very relaxing. They do have breakfast available but I decided to wander over into the quarter for that. I was able to get free parking for all three days at Harrah's by eating once at Gordon Biersch (you just have to spend $10 dollars) and getting my parking ticket validated.

Room Tip: You can ask for river view; it costs a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msannie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly enjoyed having you here. When planning your next stay, ask our Reservations team about of our "Park & Stay" seasonal packages. Parking will be included in your room rate. We are just completing our guest rooms renovation project and we hope to see you again soon so that you can enjoy our new product with us.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for a conference of fellow (450) travel agents. Excellent conference facilities,
banquet staff & food. Meetings were well planned & marked: and facilities were fine.
In the large banquet hall for the conference luncheons and speakers, the sound for the speakers was a constant problem. Staff tried to fix but it was never resolved. But must say the Hilton staff did try to work the problem. And we could still hear everyone speaking.
Stayed a few days after for vacation with family who flew in. Still well located and well serviced by the staff. Drago's restaurant and the bar staff were very friendly and professional. Well served by all!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors facing the Mississippi, great views of the river, ferries, barge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThere4352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is nice to know that you have enjoyed the hotel and the city from two prespectives - work and leisure. New Orleans can be a fun place any time of the year and with New Year's Eve just around the corner, don't forget to include us in your NYE plans. What a better way to ring in a New Year than New Year's Eve in New Orleans. We would certainly enjoy having you here, great food, fireworks and one of America's largest block partys on NYE just down the street ! Hope to see you here.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel over all was great! I had an issue with the Parking and I was directed to the Director of Parking. He treated me like a child. He talked down to me as if he was the smartest man in the world. He was arrogant and snobbish! He didn`t care about my problem. My car was damaged by his staff and it seems as if it was nothing. I called him back several times between 9am and 5pm but he was always unavailable. When I did talk to him, nothing was solved just more of his degrading conversation. He does not know how to talk to guest. I liked the hotel and all other services. I didn`t even mind paying for the internet or parking. You need to improve your Director`s leadership and people skills in this area. The next day when I was checking out, I even witnessed him talking down to one of his employees that asked him a question. His answer to his employee was do as I say not as I do. The arrogance of that man!! I may return because I liked every thing else you had to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. It was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
We are sorry to hear that your vehicle was damaged. At this time we are confident that our Claims team has contacted you and has advised you on the status of your claim. Your comments have been addressed with our Parking Management team and we apologize for any problems you encountered with our staff. Unprofessional behavior at any level is not acceptable and will not be condoned here. Robert C unfortunately from the information provided I can not access your claim however we will be happy to contact our Claims team for you if they have not yet contacted you regarding your claim and its status. You can contact the hotel at 504-561-0500.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We recently spent 8 days at the Hilton Riverside and were very pleased with our choice of hotel.

I requested a riverside view on our arrival and our room on the 23rd floor had a spectacular view of the Mississippi.

Our room was light and airey with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on.

It was kept spotlessly clean thanks to the excellent cleaning staff.

A special mention to the lady concierge (shoulder length hair/glasses) who was extremely helpful, always polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Two negatives- 1. Some of the concierge staff were not as helpful as could have been and need to brush up on customer service (smiling would help when dealing with guests!) 2.Some of the carpets in the hotel had seen better days in certain areas and could do with either being replaced on cleaned!

Hotel was situated in an excellent location and it was only a short walk to French Quarter and other attractions.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Riverside and would stay again.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a riverside view-makes all the diffirence
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to seeing you again. Our rooms renovation project is coming to a completion later this month and we are very excited about the new product that we offer our guests this Fall. When you are ready for another visit, let us know, our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
765 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#80 of 161 in New Orleans
704 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing