We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the business traveler, affordable and convenient...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Ranked #76 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the business traveler, affordable and convenient...”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Nice hotel for the business traveler, offers no more or les then is needed. Good price, clean and comfy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. New Orleans is a fun destination year round so don't forget us when you are planning that next relaxing getaway. Our team will be happy to take care of all those pre arrivals details for you.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,982
    1,929
    973
    391
    200
See reviews for
807
1,161
185
2,475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Riverside Hilton for a convention and the room rate was very reasonable. We even got a discount on parking which was nice considering the regular rate is $35 a day. The rooms were nice but did not have all the amenities I'd have liked - no mini fridge or microwave and no free wifi, but all that seems to be the norm with a lot of large convention hotels nowadays. The hotel is large and sprawling, encompassing several buildings connected by lobbies which can be a bit confusing at first. Direct access to the river and Riverwalk Shopping Mall is a big plus. Location near Canal Street and French Quarter couldn't be better. Word of warning: check the coffee maker in the room. The water reservoir in ours was scummy and looked as if it had never been cleaned. Also, if you want a view of the river from your room be sure to ask for one. Our room looked out over another section of hotel and railroad tracks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
We are certainly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. I am happy to report that as part of our new rooms renovation project we are installing mini refrigerators in all of our guest rooms, Phase 1 has just been completed and we are very excited about the our new guest rooms . Please accept our apologies for your coffee maker not being properly cleaned prior to your arrival. We agree that this is not acceptable and I have shared this information withour Houskeeping management team. We do offer complimentary Internet access in our lobby areas for our guest's convenience. Our team will be happy to assist you in planning a future stay so when you are ready to return give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here during the 4th of July weekend. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet was really good...it was included in my room rate. The restaurant and bar were nice and the food was good, but since this was a holiday weekend and a major festival was going on, I don't think the quantity of staffing was adequate. Though the staff tried hard, they were definitely understaffed. The hotel is located very close to the Convention Center, which was a breeze to get to and from via the RiverWalk. Only had a short walk in the heat! The Pavilion was approx 1.5 miles away not a bad walk in the evening, too hot during the day. The French Quarter was a definitely a cab ride. I really like the hote and would definitely stay again if I need to be in that area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your July 4th holiday with us and thank you for the very nice review of our hotel. Yes, the July 4th/Essence weekend was very busy and we did make some notes for next year to ensure that we are adequately staffed in all areas. We certainly enjoy our Essence friends and certainly want to ensure that we are available for their hotel needs. New Orleans is a funplace to be all year round and we have a great New Year's Eve celebration that has been ranked as one of the top 10 NYE destinations in the US so do not forget us when considering your NYE plans. If our team can assist you in planning your next stay, please do not hesitate to call upon us.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside last week for five nights during a travel trade show and it was wonderful! The meeting areas were nice and convenient. The hotel is right across the street from Harrah's Casino and next to the trolley stop that takes you down the riverfront. You can walk to Cafe du Monde and the French Market or take the trolley (it's $3.00 for hop on -hop off all day). I also recommend taking the trolley up to the Garden district and past the colleges to see another side of N.O. - it's not all just about Bourbon St, you know. The riverwalk is right next to the hotel and provides for a nice morning or evening stroll. You can get on the ferry or take a paddle boat cruise on the river. The aquarium is right there, a mall, great restaurants (Drago's is wonderful, so is Poppy's, next door). The hotel has beautiful views of the city and river, with some glass elevators to see different scenery. It's just beautiful. I'd definitely stay again and will recommend to my cruise clients - the cruise terminal is walking distance or a short cab ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the front entrance of the hotel (overlook Harrah's and the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I'm a Hilton Honors rewards member so I try to stay at hilton properties whenever I can for business and pleasure. I stayed at this hotel for a conference last month and it was really nice. The rooms are well appointed and clean, elevators are quick - which is a plus in a hotel this size and this busy. The on site facilities are nice - gym was great but if you aren't a HH member there is a steep daily charge to use it. The internet service was much more expsneive than other hotels in the area. I brought an aircard after seeing the charge ahead of time on their website but it doesn't justify what they charge. I usually stay a few blocks down at the Hampton and the internet is complimentary and works fantastic so there's no reason for them to charge so much here. Also, had a package delivered to the hotel to my name and they auto routed it through the business center, then charged me $107 to receive it saying that was the holding charge for overnight (1 night!). Also the parking is astronomical - $42/day. I think this is because they try to keep the cruise goers away from parking there (it's very close to the cruise terminal, but still) Again, the Hampton has park and stay plans where the parking works out to be $15/day and if you aren't going to the convention center than the Hampton is in a better location anyways!
The bar is great and prices are what you would expect. It's attached to the Riverwalk mall for easy, convenient shopping needs and the Aquarium and Harrahs are all within 2-5 min walking. The staff was very friendly and the valet was always quick. It's unfortunate that there are little fees for everything because otherwise I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 16th floor or higher with a river view for a great sunrise every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goalgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Our apologies for any miscommunication regarding our fees and services. Our fees for parking, health club use and internet access are comparable with other convention properties both locally and nationally. Our team does a great job in polling other convention hotels to ensure that we are offering competitive pricing to our guests. We do offer seasonal packages that do include parking and health club use so whenver you planning your next stay, give us a call and our team will assist you in customizing a package to fit your needs.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The entrance lobby is nicely designed with a few restaurants and large bar. The meeting rooms were lovely, but I was a bit surprised that table linens were never changed in the main ballroom over the course of the 3-day conference.

We were in an executive club room that had a lovely view of the river. The rooms had recently been refurbished and the bedding was very comfy, but there was too much furniture squeezed into the room for its size.

Personnel working at the hotel were friendly and professional. The location is great. Across the street from the River Walk and Harrah's casino. The river line cable car stop is right out front and it is a 15-minute walk along Canal Street to Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly enjoyed having you here. New Orleans is a fun year round destination and we look forward to seeing you again next time for a leisure vacation. Our team will be happy to assist you in planning your next stay and taking care of all of those minor pre arrival details for you. I have passed your comments on to our Banquet team regarding the table linens. Thank you for the very nice review of our hotel and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

As a Diamond member I've stayed twice now at the Riverside, once for Voodoo in October, 2010 and the last time for Mardi Gras, 2011. Both times the location has been perfect--close enough to the Quarter, CBD and streetcar lines (the river line is right at the hotel--very convenient) but a nice distance from the chaos. The valet service, however, have definitely been spotty (sometimes a valet is nowhere to be found). Hope it's improved for next time.

Rooms are large and clean and quiet, although we've yet to have a full view of the river, which would be nice.

Executive Lounge view and layout are outstanding--one side overlooks the river, the other overlooks downtown. Both sides have rocking chairs, which is a nice touch. The Diamond breakfast offering is a standard Hilton continental breakfast--yogurt and cereal and juices and pastries. Not a gram of protein to be found. It would be nice if restaurant vouchers were available for Diamond members for breakfast instead.

It's definitely a fun place to stay for Mardi Gras because it's host to many of the krewes prepping for their rides, so the color and excitement make it all the more enjoyable.
It's good the site houses Drago's Restaurant with those charbroiled oysters too--pure lagniappe! See you in February!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fqandceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
February is just around the corner and we will have your room ready for you when you arrive. Lots of new things happening in the hotel which includes a guest room renovation project in our main tower and the opening of our new Hilton Marketplace in our Riverside complex which will be our on site " convenience store" for our guests to fill their newly installed refrigerators. Drago's will be ready with some charbroilled oysters when you arrive and prepare for a fun time at Mardi Gras 2012! See you soon!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#41 of 163 in New Orleans
883 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,470 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 163 in New Orleans
3,426 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Property: Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing