We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to a Stay-Bedroom, living room, kitchenette”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #35 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Place to a Stay-Bedroom, living room, kitchenette”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way back from Florida. It is close to the WWII museum in the warehouse district. We found great restaurants close. It is a bit of a walk to the French Quarter, but we took the trolley and there are street cars also. Good breakfast. The staff was helpful and friendly. Your car is parked in a lot that is lit but not attended. The room was clean and well kept.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonahueA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    400
    101
    44
    26
See reviews for
414
150
28
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I had a free night so my family stayed here. I would stay closer to Canal Street next time. Parking is a bit scary and I didn't feel like our car was safe nor did I feel safe walking with my family to the car. Staff was nice, but I wouldn't recommend. Not up to par with other Residence Inns I have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer H, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Greetings from New Orleans KGR1980!

Thank you very much for taking the time to reference your stay while with us in New Orleans. I am glad to hear that the staff treated you well. However, we have heard you with regards to your comments regarding the parking. We use a third party vendor for our parking and have addressed these concerns with them. Our goal is to improve the total guest experience and safety is a number one priority. Should you decide to join us again in New Orleans please don't hesitate to reach out to any member of the leadership team to ensure an excellent visit to the Crescent City!

With gratitude,

Vanessa Jackson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stay at a lot of Marriott hotels but the Residence Inn just was an okay place to stay. The second day that we were there they did not make up our room. We called down to the reception area and we were told that someone would come up but they never came. I then called and asked for them to send up clean towels but they never came. I was a little disappointed but maybe it was just an "off day" for their staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsononthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer H, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We do apologize that your stay with us was not flawless and understand how this inconsistency would impact your stay. We use this valuable feedback in order to better serve our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and we wish you a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn in downtown New Orleans when I attended a reading conference in May 2014. The hotel is located in the Warehouse District, and is within walking distance of the Convention Center and several restaurants and bars, including Emeril's. The French Quarter is also within walking distance, about 7 blocks away, with lots of interesting buildings and businesses along the way.

The hotel features kitchenettes in the rooms, which is convenient for longer trips (I stayed 5 days). The maid service was great, too; I always had a clean room to come back to at the end of my day. One of the greatest benefits was the free continental breakfast served daily, featuring items like scrambled eggs, potatoes, coffee, juice, water, cereal, breads, and make-your-own waffle station. The employees are very gracious and courteous.

The front desk staff, including Hannah and Senae were very friendly and courteous, even when there were some problems with getting our rooms paid for by our school district. These ladies kept their cool and tried to explain everything to us, despite our escalating stress levels!

This property is quiet and clean, and the view from my room was one that I enjoyed. It looked out onto the street below (I was on the 3rd floor) and the building across the street from my room was lovely. For a business trip, this was a great location/facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carin_LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My sister and I stayed at this property last month (May 18-24) and love the property. It has a good location, not to close from French Quarter (meaning far from the crowds and crazy people haha) but close enough to go walking, about 7 blocks from there. The property is nice, the common areas are not that modern but they comfortable tough. The rooms are fine, nice living and kitchen area, the bed comfortable and spacious enough if you are staying for a considerable number of days. The breakfast included in the room rate is great since most of the hotels in NOLA does not include it. They could change a bit the breakfast menu but still is quite good (fruit, eggs, juices, waffles, etc...). The neighborhood is nice, lots of galleries and nice restaurants in the surroundings and pretty close to the Riversidewalk Outlet which recently opened. Also close to the Convention Center, Canal Street and Harrah`s Casino. The front desk staff is really helpful unfortunately I can not say the same of Yolanda, the lady at the weekdays manager reception. She is not that friendly and always looks that she is not enjoying her work. But all in all is a good place to stay if you want a place close enough to the French Quarter but far from the craziness.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last night to get away for an evening. Upon arriving, I was a little surprised to see a NOLA hotel with no valet parking. Still, it wasn't much of an issue--the parking lot was just across from the side entrance to the hotel.

The hotel is very interesting. We stayed in the more conventional building, but we walked through the building that connected to the courtyard and it looked pretty cool. The courtyard was good looking and included a singles tennis court, but it was too rainy to enjoy it.

The location of the hotel was excellent. It's just a few minutes from the Superdome, and there are scads of great restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance.

The room was like any other Residence Inn I've ever stayed in. Our room had a bedroom separate from the living room. The bathroom was just large enough. The bed wasn't as comfortable as I'm used to from hotels, but not by much.

The only complaint I would have is regarding the noise level from the street. I was awakened a few times by traffic, alarms, and a person yelling. I'm not putting this one on the hotel--that's about as well as you can do in this area.

Breakfast had a good variety of food and a large number of people partaking.

If I were staying in New Orleans again, I could see myself staying here again. I might look elsewhere. For the money, there are more interesting and better appointed locations in the city, but this one covers all the important bases. You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: If you choose the 4th floor, you'll end up in the conventional building. We did, and I liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the suite, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, and one extra room with pull out couch and French doors. The place was very spacious and well worth the price. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the property was well maintained. Would definitely stay there again if I go with a group.

Room Tip: Can't speak to regular rooms, but the suite was one of the largest rooms I've ever stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trav521el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#83 of 164 in New Orleans
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Property: Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Address: 345 Saint Joseph St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing