We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Marriott standards but a decent stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #36 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not up to Marriott standards but a decent stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Second time we stayed here. Good location around the corner from Emerils and WWII museum,about 6 blocks from French Qtr. Be sure to ask for inside room-- rooms on streetside are noisy. Emeril had a private party on St joseph on a Friday night and our windows vibrated till party broke up We came back from a day in the Garden District to find all our towels gone and no TP,soap, or shampoo. Desk said they get to it, but after an hour my husband found housekeeping and got resupplied himself---not the service we've come to expect at Marriott properties. Nice courtyard area but pool was dirty (lots a small leaves and bugs). Hot breakfast buffet but always the same-- be nice to see a few items change from day to day.

Room Tip: request inner rooms-- street side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    379
    90
    40
    24
See reviews for
362
136
25
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Residence Inn - we lucked out and since our room wasn't ready at check-in time, we were upgraded to a 2-bedroom suite (1.5 bath, kitchenette).

We were in town for a conference, and we found the location to be extremely convenient - 15 min walk from the French Quarter, 5 minutes to the convention center. Taxis were plentiful, so if you're not up for the walk, it's easy to catch a cab.

The rooms were surprisingly quiet, although it was clearly an older building. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette had everything we needed.

Check-in was rather slow, which was disappointing. We spent a long time waiting behind two other guests, and our check-in took several minutes, despite being straightforward. Breakfast was okay, but most of the 'hot' food was cold.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJane0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel. Room is very large. Location is great. I'd recommend this hotel to others. No complaints. Breakfast was decent too. We tried to book two additional nights but they wanted $100 extra per nights; so we moved out. Staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed going to Garden District and Tulane which were not far by street car. Audubon Park is also a treat to visit. Recommend Tipitinas Bar for Sunday night Cajun dancing. Also liked WW2 museum. We also took excursion to oak alley plantation which was great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The comments of previous reviewers are all so true. Close to French Quarter and closest to WW II museum. Pet friendly and therefore pet poo. Pot smell on the hall way. good hot free breakfast. Large, well appointed, clean suites. Friendly staff. I could not however help compare this with other residence Inn that I have stayed. In fact I seek and choose Residence Inn when possible, Wifi here is terrible. Could not get signal all through our stay. Kitchen lacks spoons, cutting board, a shallow frying pan - all requested but not delivered. In fact they mentioned they do not have cutting board at this hotel. Knife I can understand if they did not have, but board? Staff while friendly are scarce. You would see them a moment, and then they are gone promising to come back, but would not. However, if you think of it as a home, a nice one with great housekeeping, and not as a suite with service, you shall not be disappointed. One more thing> the pillows in the room were strange, small squares, Cute but hardly functional. so in a sense this Residence Inn is different, a bit, but nothing to challenge my loyalty to the brand.

Room Tip: WW Museum closes at 5 PM. It would indeed be good to give yourself entire afternoon to savour what i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vfmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

If yo are in New Orleans for a Conference, look no further. Within walking distance from the Convention Center, French Quarter, bars and restaurants this hotel offers all you need for a comfortable stay. Rooms are large and well equipped, neighborhood quiet assuring you a good rest. Facilities, like gym, restaurants and bars, however, are limited in choice but as said you need not to walk far to have ample choice.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auvo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit worried with the mixed review but we LOVED this hotel! We loved the layout of the room and the property. The staff was friendly and gave excellent recommendations on restaurants and attractions. Parking was convenient and it was far away enough to be quiet but close enough to walk to where we wanted to go. The breakfast and evening drinks and snacks were awesome-we will definitely be returning!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glgrant1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was a one night stopover while traveling on Amtrak. It is convenient to the train station and the riverfront. We had time to walk around before leaving the next day and the area was safe and nice. The hotel is clean and the staff very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jccpbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Property: Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Address: 345 Saint Joseph St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing