We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #37 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sweet suite”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I went to NOLA for a meeting. The residence inn. Very convenient. The suite was huge! The pool and garden area were refreshing. This is a great option for families. There is a small kitchen with full refrigerator.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    401
    101
    44
    26
See reviews for
417
150
28
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second stay and it was just as nice as the first. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Beds were really comfy. Love closing the door on the sleeping kids and cracking a beer.
Obviously the free food is awesome when travelling with a family on a budget!
The location can't be better for our family. Safe and quiet. Easy to get to everything we want to do in NOLA, just a couple of blocks from the street cars to the Quarter or Uptown, the bus up Magazine Street stops a block away. We loved that we could walk one block to both the WWII Museum and the Children's Museum.
Butcher (yum!) is 2 blocks away and the newish Poeyfarre Market is really close for stocking up on groceries and even diapers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveoyl1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for families! We will come back. We loved the a) location b) incredibility spacious rooms c) pool and inviting courtyard d) extras (ample free breakfast, nice complementary happy hour drinks and appetizers e) pool, hot tub, and basketball/tennis courts f) overall value. It's a tad bit generic, but they do try hard to make it local - i.e. nice New Orleans art throughout, etc. Overall, it's really great and we will come back when we are here with our kids or extended family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhbiglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel has a very nice lobby and common area with pool and BBQ pavilion. The Breakfast provided daily was not all that wonderful, but at least it was included in rate. I was not able to attend the nightly reception, but heard good things about it. The room was nice but could use some updates. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to the traveler that is not looking for that WoW factor.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the street level if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BmcD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We did not want to stay in a heavily crowded area. This place is a few blocks walk from the French Quarter in a quiet and safe area, and has adjacent parking at $20 per day, no valets needed. Nice restaurants nearby. This area is much cleaner than the French Quarter. The room was decorated modernly, with a separate bedroom and kitchen (with granite counter and full size fridge). The breakfast room was clean, good ambience, and a good selection of food.

The front desk people were very helpful with questions and requests, advice on local restaurants, and friendly.

The guests here were a cut above the average tourist crowd, yet the price is much less than most of the hotels in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RocketFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is off the main drag (aka Bourbon St/Canal St.) which places it in a quiet neighborhood, but you can still walk everywhere you would need to go. (About 25 minute walk to Bourbon Street, or you can take the street car down about 4 blocks). We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which had two toilets, 1 bath and a very nice sized living room with wall-to-wall windows and a full kitchen (oven, microwave, dishwasher). The floors had a few spots that looked sketch, but we are in New Orleans, so that's almost to be expected. We saw quite a few families and middle aged couples, not too many young people. I imagine becuase it's not in the heart of the action. However, this meant it was quiet at night, we only heard one drunk person yelling in the middle of the night. The hotel has a decent sized gym and free breakfast. During the week they also have a happy hour/lite dinner. Cochon is a great new ish restaurant within walking distance and has received great praise both local and nationally. Make a reservation to ensure you get a table.

The reason the hotel didn't receive 4 stars had to do with a maintenance issue. Both toilets didn't flush/fill up with water, so you had to jiggle it for 5 minutes to make water appear and then it would flush (room 319). We called both days we were there with no answer/solution. When we checked out we mentioned it again and the comment was oh I'll talk to maintenance. Also, the front desk needs more staff, when we were checking out Sunday midday there was only one young woman working....which is crazy because there were people leaving and coming. She handled it okay but she just didn't have 8 hands to handle the all the people.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room to avoid hearing upstairs neighbors and facing away from courtyard as the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALWAYSTRAVELWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Before I sat down to write this review I thought about whether I would choose to stay here again. My decision is 'Yes". This hotel is in a great location for people like me - those who want to be within walking distance of the city sights and attractions, but don't want the noise and craziness of French Quarter for your place to rest. Parking was easy - right across the street and self park. :) We arrived at 3:45 but our room wasn't ready yet. :( There were other families waiting in the lobby for their rooms to be ready too. The desk clerk offered to store our bags and call us when the room was ready. Ten minutes later our room was available. :) The hotel is a square with a lovely courtyard in the center. :) It was peaceful and away from any street noise. It featured several nice patio chairs and tables, a bbq grill, a large pool and a hot tub. :) The pool and hot tub closed at 9 PM, no late relaxing for us :( . The inner hallway is made to appear as if you are outside - absolutely gorgeous! :) Glass roof, winding pathway, street lights, and trees and flowers. The room was clean, kitchen beautifully modern, and great furniture. :) The beds weren't very large but were extremely comfortable! Small bathrooms, large closets. Free WiFi but the reception to my computer listed as Poor so ran very slowly. I think our room was too far from the WiFi source. The toilet paper holder was broken :( , a minor thing.
There are several restaurants within walking distance. We easily walked from the hotel to the Arena/Superdome, The French Quarter, The St. Louis Cemetery, Mother's restaurant, and Cafe Du Monde. Breakfast was nice hot and cold food :) BUT closed down at 9 AM :(. When we're on vacation we don't want to be up and dressed and finished with breakfast by 9 AM! Yes, I'd stay here again, mainly for the great location. Look over the pros and cons and decided if it's worth it to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#84 of 165 in New Orleans
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Property: Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Address: 345 Saint Joseph St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing