We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Spent 5 nights at this hotel and could not have been happier. Had a two bed room suite with a pull out couch in the living area. The only down fall in our room was that we only had one bath. The rest of the suite was beyond my expectations. Both bedrooms were very nice sized, kitchen and dining area were very nice as was the living room. What made this hotel a 5 star was the staff. From the front desk to any staff member you happen to pass, they were the friendliest, courtiest and most helpful staff I have ever come across.

The breakfast was okay, nothing to write home about but it filled you up and it was free so you really can't complain.

If the staff of this hotel is an example of staff in all Residence Inns I will always look to this hotel when I travel. I would recommend this hotel especially if you need a larger room, more space, and a place away from it but near enough that you can get to everything without spending lots of money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMM119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    395
    99
    43
    25
See reviews for
399
149
26
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crepy-en-Valois, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this residence for holiday in July 2012.
Great surprise when we get into this appartment : quiet, very clean and great layout.
All that you need in the kitchen, one TV in each bedroom and living room.
Bedrooms are separated and large enough.
Various breakfast even if the orange juice is not so good.
You can use BBQ in the patio. The pool is not so large but we never saw it full.
Wifi is easy to use.
The parking is not so expensive (20$ a day)when you look around for car parks
15 minutes from Bourbon street.
We stayed for three days and will come back with pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan0uille60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Having relocated to the area we were looking for a spacious suite and was pleased to find it here. We had a two bedroom suite with a sleeping area in the living room, full kitchen and 1.5 baths. Our rooms were immaculate as was the rest of the facility. I especially enjoyed the open air courtyard.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This Residence Inn is located in a very convenient downtown location. It is close to the interstate and within walking distance of many downtown sites and attractions. The parking is expensive - $20 a day. The hotel has traditional rooms and another section with an open air feel to it that open into a indoor pavillion type area. The rooms are up-to-date, well furnished and clean. The breakfast area is fair sized but can be overwhelmed by the number of residents using it. During my time there, no fresh fruit was ever served, which I found unusual. Manager's socials in the evenings (M-Thurs) were equally modest. Typically one of my favorite benefits of the Residence Inn, but here, they are slightly more than an appetizer. These can get very busy as well but the food never ran out. Business center is typical 2 computers with internet access and a printer available in a hallway nook adjacent the breakfast area. The workout area is well outfitted and is right off the eating area as well. Very nice and refreshing pool. I didn't have any issues with noise from other rooms, but there were many children staying there during my visit and they occasionally made a ruckus in the hallways. Additionally, being in downtown it wasn't unusual to hear sirens at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We wanted self-catering, and separate sleeping spaces. We got a complimentary upgrade to a much bigger suite than we had booked and paid for. This is not a 5 star downtown hotel, but many of its services were far beyond what we expected, especially in a city the size of New Orleans. Our room was immaculate, and serviced daily. Everything worked. Our only minor gripe related to the kitchen ... excellent stove and microwave, but one frypan and one pot does not match the "full kitchen" description. And like so many hotels, the moment you actually use the cooking facilities, the smoke detector goes off.
Everything else was great. It is conveniently located. Rouse's supermarket is a few blocks away and if you don't want to walk, give the staff the shopping list and they will get it for you.

Room Tip: Ignore room service above. I clicked by mistake and there is no way to undo it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have stayed at numerous Marriott hotels and residence inn locations in which this hotel blew the others out of the water. I absolutely never remember a staff member but Claydette at the front desk was one of the most efficient and courteous staff members I have ever encountered. When we checked in she welcomed us, quickly checked us in, gave us directions to the parking lot and local restaurant recommendations. We proceeded to go out to the car and noticed that all the luggage carts were in use and asked if she knew where they were. Instead of pushing us off, she radioed for someone to go around the hotel to find us a cart.. that is service! Shortly the cart arrived and we loaded up to out 2 bedroom suite. Upon entering our buildings lobby, it was open air and it reminded me of the Caribbean hotels (although secure to the outside). We were on the second floor and walked into our seemingly new room. The room had a long hall with the two bedrooms off the hall connected by full bath, also on the hall was the half bath. At the end was three steps which entered the living room which had a sectional sofa and TV (full size sofa bed), kitchen with full size stainless steel appliances, four person table, and large desk with multiple outlets on it for electronics. The room had a full wall as window which let in so much light (it overlooked the courtyard) and was quiet and spotless. The full bathroom had the largest shower/tub I have had in a hotel. The hotel has a nice courtyard area in the middle with the standard sport court, pool, covered areas to sit, grills, and a fenced dog run area. The breakfast and dinners were nice with hot items in addition to regular cold fare, but did not have as much variety as others in the chain. On two occasions we needed extra towels and sure enough Claydette answered at the desk and both times within 5 minutes the towels had arrived. The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions and I if I am ever in New Orleans again I will stay here. The parking is in a lot next door in which you enter through a secured side door which worked when we were at the hotel. The staff and accommodations here have raised my expectations of the Marriott brand!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powdersville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed 3 nights and very pleased with hotel. No issues or problem except for lack of yogurt on the breakfast bar. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerekir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#83 of 163 in New Orleans
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Property: Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Address: 345 Saint Joseph St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing