We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our first time in this hotel. It is located in a perfect spot. Quick walking distance in a nice area to Mothers restaurant, Harrahs casino, streetcar, Aquarium, Insectarium, nice bars and restaurants.

Staff was friendly and asked several times how our stay was and if there was anything they could do to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    242
    65
    25
    15
See reviews for
117
242
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had booked a multi-centre holiday and needed to book at least one night in a hotel for the best airfare - so we decided that we would book this hotel as part of our overall package. It had been a long journey, London to New York then change planes for the trip to New Orleans. When we arrived we were both hot and tired and as there was no bar in the hotel we felt a bit let down. We were told there was a complimentary continental breakfast delivered to our room. We had no great expectation for that either.
HOW WRONG CAN ONE BE?
As it turned out, the breakfast was excellent. We have holidayed in France many times and the croissants were as good as any we have had in France. The orange juice was also excellent. They have an outside patio area and we were told we could order breakfast to be delivered there - which we did every subsequent day. A great start to the morning.
The hotel is really well located for the French Quarter - an easy walk in the evening.
The staff on reception were really helpful and friendly and offered a lot of help in terms of getting around and parking our car - when we had collected our hire car after a few days.
I am sure there may be flashier and more expensive hotels in New Orleans, but if I were to return I would have no hesitation in returning to the St James Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location of this hotel can't be beat. You can easily walk to the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, Aquarium, Harrah's and the Riverfront. But you are away from most of the crowds and noise of these busy tourist areas when you want to come back to your hotel and unwind.

The front desk will valet your car ($34 after taxes), which is good since it was literally impossible to find any parking within a 3 block radius of the hotel. It can be a little tricky to even find a spot to pull up and unload your bags (if you are not looking carefully and driving slowly, you can easily miss the front of the hotel). Once my car was parked, however, I did not need it until checkout.

The hotel and rooms are very nicely decorated and the small size of the hotel feels a bit like a hotel in London or Paris. My room on the top floor had ceilings with exposed timbers and french doors that lead to a nice rooftop balcony. There are two small courtyards with outdoor seating to relax and enjoy a drink or morning coffee. The hotel had all the character and charm I was hoping for in a "boutique" hotel in New Orleans.

They do have a very tiny pool. So tiny in fact, the front desk lady used air quotes when she pointed out where the "pool" was. It is a little bigger than a hot tub and kind of looks like you are swimming in a fountain. Still okay if you want to cool off for a moment while sitting outside (or for taking a photo of you "swimming" in a comically tiny pool). I am not much of a pool guy, so the pool did not bother me...if you have kids, they may be disappointed.

The breakfast is not your typical Choice Hotel breakfast, it is simple a fresh croissant and coffee delivered to your room in the morning. It is enough to get you out of bed and down to enjoy a real breakfast at of the local restaurants (the "Ruby Slipper" two blocks down is awesome...but be prepared for a wait in the morning).

All the staff was very friendly and clearly cared about customer service.

I would definitely choose this hotel for future trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JollyMon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Very classy hotel that is a short walk from dozens of restaurants and attractions. 5th star withheld because of little things - weak coffee served with the hotel breakfast, wifi doesn't work beyond the lobby, etc. overall the st James is a great stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickman, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed at the St. James on our first trip to New Orleans. It's not fancy, but very functional and clean. We had a 3rd floor room which was very quiet. The beds were comfortable--slept great every night! The St. James was within walking distance to everything--great location. The pool is quite small but that was fine--we didn't come to swim. Enjoyed the courtyard for a relaxing place to have a drink. The complimentary morning croissants with butter, jam, and orange juice/coffee/tea were much appreciated. One less meal to buy! The best part was the awesome staff at the St. James. They are so friendly and helpful and will attend to everything to be sure your stay is wonderful. Shout out to Burton and Megan who were just exceptional at all times.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but the A/C has a little trouble keeping up with the humidity--especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here with some friends when visiting NOLA recently. The hotel was very clean and very quiet, while being pretty close to the French Quarter, which for the most part is neither. It was a nice distance from the action so it did not disturb us on our more relaxing nights, but also close enough for when we went out on Bourbon St. Since it was a little further, it was only a few blocks from the WWII museum, which we also walked to.

The rooms were nice, but the shower was a little lacking. Also the pool is more like a glorified fountain but you can tell that from the pictures when booking it so it wasn't a surprise. Only other complaint was that there seemed to be some construction going on nearby which we heard fairly early on a few occasions, which was obviously not the hotel's fault but also not great.

I would recommend this hotel for people looking to be close to the action but not in the middle of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for our 5 year Wedding Anniversary and her birthday! The staff was great and very helpful when giving us directions to different restaurants and attractions. They also wished my wife a happy birthday almost all day. The room was nice and spacious. We had a small living room with a television and the bedroom had a television as well. The bed was comfortable and they delivered our breakfast to the room. The location is great and close by all the action. The only draw backs were the small pool, the junk in the courtyard, the elevator made lots of noise, and smudges of paint and dirt all around the room. Other than that we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afeldersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing