We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #44 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel on magazine St. It is a couple of blocks outside the quarter but easy walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go. Very clean, and very nice staff. Christina on the front desk was particularly helpful and pleasant. This is a European style hotel so if you are looking for a Marriott or Hyatt, this isn't it but the price was reasonable and the vibe was great. An added plus is a free continental breakfast delivered to the room every morning. I recommend that you ask for a room that does not overlook the courtyard as there is a bit of thumping and bumping noise at night

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 549janetl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

The St. James is a wonderful little boutique hotel in a spectacular location of New Orleans. My wife & I recently stayed there over our wedding weekend, and we were treated fantastically by the staff - setting us up with a particularly nice King Suite during our stay, and just generally making us feel as though we were truly "at home."
Can't say enough about the staff and how friendly, pleasant and accommodating they were - in particular, Ariael, Christina, Amy & Michelle (and the list goes on and on). Although it was a relatively short stay, it was a pleasure to feel like we truly welcomed by the staff there. [And a tip for future guests, if you can convince Ariael to sing for you, you're in for a real treat - she broke out some John Legend for us on our wedding night, and we were absolutely blown away!]

Room Tip: Having the extra room in the King Suite (especially if it has courtyard access) was quite a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewrrutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Smallish Boutique hotel with rooms that reminded me a bot of Europe. The room was very comfortable and the bed with 4 high post was a bit of a climb to get into but very comfortable. There was no real view from the windows - but that was okay. The hotel is in walking distance to the quarter and has a separate entrance to the Chop House Restaurant.

Parking is a bit of an issue as the garage is a few blocks away so you have to call down and allow a time for them to retrieve your car. But I had no problem with that. It is just different from a few hotels with a close parking lot. The lobby is very small and the front desk staff was helpful and check in was easy as well.

The walls are thin so I could hear the conversation next door. But I could sleep with no problem. Overall I would stay at this hotel again. And it is in my list when I visit New Orleans for business.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank cyberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My friends and I stayed at the St. James during the St. Patrick's day holiday week. From arrival, we were impressed by the incredible hospitality and warmth with which we were received by Amy and Ariel at the front desk. They were charming and personable and even showed me how to mend the broken zipper on my change purse. The great service continued all the way through. Our room was spacious and clean, and the croissants in the morning were delicious, though the coffee could've been a little stronger to counteract the effects and strength of every other beverage we drank in New Orleans. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights just last week. Ariel at the front desk was great- she recommended a place for lunch and was super helpful. Now for the place itself- I think it's 4 stars for the price and location, both of which are quite good. There are some drawbacks that may lead others to give it 3 stars, but if you want everything, stay at the Waldorf and pay for it. Yes, the pool is more like the size of a large fountain, and breakfast is just croissants, but I didn't care about a pool, and we went out for breakfast. The suite had a separate sitting area- one tv in the bedroom and one in the sitting room, so the hubs could catch up on basketball, and I could watch what I wanted right before bed. Room was quiet and clean. The bath could've used a fresh coat of paint and a different bath mirror (appeared to be made out of wicker, which isn't a surface you can get very clean, which grossed me out- why not just install wall to wall mirror that you can wipe clean?). Bath was clean though- no moldy caulk or other issues. Water pressure was light. Overall, it's a good value. Not perfect, but as close as you will get for price and location.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dcattorney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here on the recommendation of other Trip Advisor reviews, and believed the location just outside the French Quarter was perfect, and was sadly disappointed. Stayed over the St Patrick's Day weekend. Even though I said the reason I chose this hotel was based on reviews & that I'd previously stayed in the French Quarter & it was too noisy .... No, they gave us a 2nd floor room right over the street & the dumpster. Noisy every morning between 3am & 6am- except Sunday. But, the room was always clean, plenty of fresh towels & bathroom amenities, as well as a fridge, microwave, big screen HD TV with premium channels ( not that we were in the room long enough to watch them, but...). Room was smallish (not as small as NYC basic), but room enough. The "courtyard" is nothing more than a small alleyway with flowers, shrubs & some places to sit. One "draw" was the coffee & croissants delivered to your room - which was nice the first morning, then I had to go downstairs to the coffee station in the lobby to get more cream, then had to be sure to request it the next morning, and the last morning had to ask at the desk for any cream & was told very matter-of-factly, "I guess we're out" .... Didn't seem to be much of a concern ..... Will look elsewhere next time....

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Good location, Great customer service, overall very pleased with this stay. We went for a quick trip before mardi gras. The price was very reasonable for 5 of us, close enough to bourbon to walk but far enough to be out of the craziness!

Room Tip: the suite is quite small says its sleeps 6, but we could barely move. I expected their to be a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 166 in New Orleans
1,399 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,586 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#86 of 166 in New Orleans
2,899 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $87 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing