We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #46 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I loved staying here during such a busy weekend, and I still got the attention to detail from the staff. Christina and Amy were like my go to gals. The hotel is close to everything and the staff restaurant recommendations were awesomely fulfilling. I can say the bathrooms in the hotel either need a face lift or better cleaning tools everything else I loved.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Joann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while taking in a Saints game. Our room was on the third floor and had a walled balcony/patio. We liked the room and the exposed beams. As is inevitable in travels, we had an issue. The staff resolved it quickly and with the professionalism of the best of hotels. It has all of the New Orleans charm we enjoy without the "old building smell" of some other hotels in New Orleans. Two blocks to the Quarter in a chic area with great restaurants. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedfishDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here at the St. James Hotel. It was very quaint with comfy beds.
We thought the little breakfast they brought to our room each morning was very sweet and
we didn't expect any thing more. It was just nice to have some coffee and a croissant, before heading out for the day. We commend Amy, Christina, Ariel and Shaughn for their friendliness, and always being so helpful. We felt like family by the time we left. We had a great time in New Orleans, and staying at the St. James was a very pleasant experience for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

St. James hotel was a really nice place for us to stay during Mardi Gras. We got the rooms kind of last minute and it was right in the middle of everything. They charged me the deposit which was fine, however when I asked them about a deposit they promised me no charges till check in. They charged it 2 weeks prior to check in. When we first arrived I paid for 3 nights of parking WITH CASH and they have valet which was AWESOME. The stay was overall good except no housekeeping ever came to our room, but with it being a super busy time I understand. When we went to leave there was a bill under my door saying I owed 179 for parking so we went to the front desk only to find out that they charged my card $100.62 for parking 3 different times. The lady at the front desk her was beyond rude she acted like it was my fault for the charge. They took care of it after an hour of waiting and we left. When I checked my account on the way home they had again charged my account $63.49 that still hasn't been taken care of after 3 days. Now this morning I saw a charge for instead of $914 for the rooms they charged me $1017. If you want anything done talk to the managers they are the nicest ones there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location of the St. James was great - room our 1st night was spacious and clean, however my sister and I wanted to actually sleep on this trip - but the noise from the bar/rest below had their singer/music going till 11:30 pm. We asked to be moved, and they put us up in another room, not nearly as nice. must have been in the 'old' part of the hotel. The staff was nice, and but not very helpful with recommending things. Over-all the location is A+ near everything and in a good area.

Room Tip: try to stay away from above the lounge/bar - too noisy - even up high.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here two weekends in a row around the Mardi Gras season in part based on earlier T.A. ratings. These ratings have dropped and I became acutely aware why during our stays. After the first weekend, we were contractually obligated to stay so we hoped our issues were related just to the particular room. Our room the second weekend was no better.

I called ahead the first visit and request a quiet room, off the street. The lady sounded indifferent but stated she would try. We received room 213 which is one floor above where the garbage is picked up every morning at 6 am. Upon leaving we asked that for the next weekend we could move away from this area. Our room assignment ended up being 211, next door with a window facing the corner of the garbage pick-up alley and Magazine St. So I pointed this out the the attendant and she moved us into the next building back but a nearly identical room down the alley just back from Magazine. The noise level in the hotel is the worse I have even been in. Be prepared.

During our first stay, I received and email from the General Manager Jennifer Dragna stating valet parking would not be offered the next week due to the parades. Ok, I understand, and knew that parking was just three blocks away at Harrahs. After dropping off the luggage the second visit, parking away and walking in, the security guard, Devin, mentioned I dropped something, returned it and wasn't sure if it was the valet's item. I ignored that initially but upon leaving three days later it turned out they had valet parking the whole time. One even helped stop a tow truck from picking up our car while we were loading our bags. Bizarre.

The rooms themselves are two to three stars. Mold in the shower and A-C vents. Firm mattress and even firmer pillows. We brought our own pillows the second time. Patches in the carpets, dated furniture and generalized wear and tear can be over looked.

While I would not stay here again, the location is perfect but there are several higher rated hotels very close by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluesDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The st James hotel was amazing professional fun staff.. Amy and Cristiano were so fun. Helped us with coordinating our plans, as we needed plenty of assistance while there in New Orleans for all-star, we did not sleep . A nonstop party in Nola. This hotel was a great find, cozy and cute. We Will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 165 in New Orleans
1,304 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 165 in New Orleans
2,381 reviews
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#73 of 165 in New Orleans
1,128 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $110 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing