We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #47 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nola was fun.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed there for Nba allstar and loved it all. The staff, Amy was great.. with advice for food , entertainment nightlife.. we enjoyed their location it was central to all main events, walking distance to all the action. We had so much fun in new orleans mixing in with celebrities... at check in we saw Carmello Anthony in their shared courtyard with the trade board. The facility is historical,an ascend collection of choice hotels.. we loved it and will be back when in nola, La!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina_iam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    313
    87
    36
    22
See reviews for
161
366
39
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Ok hotel, need improvement. We checked in on wednesday last week of febuary for Mardi Gras, staff at the front desk freindly and welcoming, no bellboy or security we had to take our suitcases with us, when we got to our room dirty towels on the bathroom floor called and the housekeeping came puck them up and apoligies, beds nice and comfly room ok big tv bath needs a place to put the shampoo in the shower. The breakfast is only croissonts coffee tea OJ thats all they must specily that instead of breakfast. The hotel is walking distance from everywere. And the next day of our check in they had security do to mardi gras. The patio between the two buildings needs some TLC it would be nice if they give it a bit of love it is a nice place to rest after a lng day but it would be nicer if they would pay some attention. And the elevator needs some grease we got stuck for a couple of min then it work by its own. Nice stay during a busy time, near parades.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachJunky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I enjoyed this gem of a hotel this year's nba allstar was greAt. The staff was awesome amy and desmond sung happy birthday to us. Sara was very kind , I found this place to be very homely and near everything. Their breakfast was a jumpstart needed . Our room 116 was the sweetest. The supervisor yulonda was kind and nifty.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Michell was absolutely amazing! If it wasn't for her we would have never made it to the hotel. We stayed the night to attend the Zulu Ball, and thanks to Michell we were able to arrive and get ready for an amazing night! The hotel itself is very nice. I was glad that we did not stay in one of the major chain hotels that were over-priced. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

The only complaint that I had about the room was the water pressure. It was considerably low, but it didn't really matter because we were only there for a very little while.

Thanks again for everything Michell! Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I needed a room last minute with 2 beds and there weren't many options. I ended up picking the St. James and was very pleasantly surprised. FIrst Ariel and Amy at the front desk were wonderful, both with checking in, helping with the car, finding places, etc... and I did test them. We got a room on the top floor with vaulted ceilings, redone bathroom all quite clean. Unfortunately I only got to use the free continental breakfast once on the last day and then only a bite, but it was there in front of my door as I requested, on time. The location was ideal EXCEPT if you had a car and it was during Mardi Gras. Streets do get closed off and that made it difficult, but only because we were going out of the city for a tournament with specific times.
tHere was a lovely little courtyard. And the restaurant next door, The Chop House, that supplied room service was an excellent "New York" steakhouse.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nba allstar is a continuous must among friends. We attend all games in Nola , as natives we love to stay in a different hotels for these events. One of our attendees suggested the st James hotel& it delivered! Amy's graciousness topped it all off for us! A Great concierge , the others were okay. Management is professionally kind. We will gladly pay what ever their rate is!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltanyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I enjoyed nola so much. Great city, great vibes, wonderful times in nola. Location, service, staff... Amy was super... a perfect fit at this quaint little charming place. Jennifer the GM was also awesome ,very involved with guest satisfaction. Next NBA allstar or any other grand event hosted by the kind city of new orleans, I will find my way to the beautiful st. James hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drika_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing