We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Come Stay at the St James” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Amelia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Come Stay at the St James”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The St James has a feel of a boutique hotel, the staff is extremely helpful and attentive with Director of Sales Ms Sarah Hixson leading the way. The front desk has wonderful people like Ms Arial and Ms Christina that perform customer service that make guests feel at home while letting them know that they are a valued guest. The location is fantastic, a few blocks to the French Quarter, Casino or the CBD, the Superdome is also walking distance with bars and restaurants along the way. Take your time there is plenty to see and do in the Big Easy.
If on business or pleasure the St James offers great value and comfort at a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    242
    65
    25
    15
See reviews for
117
243
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We travel to New Orleans frequently, and I like to try different hotels each time. After reading reviews and getting a great price, I decided to book the St. James. Checking in I had high hopes. I was traveling with my husband and our 3 yr, old daughter. I booked a room with 2 doubles, but when we were shown to our room we were given a king bed for 3 people. The room was so small that the bed took uo the whole room. We decided to make the best of it and all 3 sleep in the same bed since our daughter was small. One reason we stayed here was because the rooms had mini fridges, and we neede to refrigerate my daughters medicine. Well, the temperature in the fridge was barely cool. Still, we were in New Orleans and on vacation! Fun to be had!
The next morning we were getting ready to go out, and I was getting our bag ready. I needed to put our valuables in the safe just to be sure while we were out. I didn't think much about it until the day we checked out. I opened the safe only to realize I had a book of checks, some jewelry, and cosmetics stolen. It was a brand new book of checks. I went to the front desk, only to be rebuffed. I askedto speak to a manager, only to be told rudely by them that no one stole my property, and they would nit look into the incident. I told them I was a travel agent and would tell all my clients to never come here. I filed a police report, only to find out 2 weeks later that the maid cashed 3 of my checks at a check cashing service.
Then the hotel had the nerve to send me a letter telling me that they hope I would come back and stay there again!!! THE NERVE!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Michelle,

Let me begin by apologizing for the initial problems regarding your room type mix up and refrigerator. While these issues should have never been encountered, you tried to make the best of it which I thoroughly appreciate.

The valuables that were stolen as well as the attitude by our front desk agent is outrageous. I can not apologize enough for this experience as it is completely unacceptable. May I please request that you contact me directly to discuss this matter further. I would like nothing more than to discover the bad seeds in connection to your experience and to reimburse you for any losses. This is something that is taken very seriously by our staff and will never be tolerated.

The letter that was sent to you is something we try to do as a follow up with guests to show our appreciation and was in no way meant to affect you the way it did. Once again, please contact me directly at the hotel at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

These were the main things I was looking for in a Hotel during my birthday stay here this past week. I found them all at the St. James.

The staff was always very accomodating, even when we may have dragged our feet due to some Hand Grenades and Mint Juleps here and there, but they leave you at peace, and show up when you request them to do so in a quick manner. Im very low maintence and my girlfriend isn't as much, but nevertheless, they met the needs of us both greatly, so a big thanks to Amy, Julia, Ari, Kate and Barbara for their hospitality, and reccomendations of places to visit, shop and eat.

The St. James Hotel is extremely close to the action and alcoholism, which is what, I feel, people flock to New Orleans for, besides its cultural vibrancy. So why stumble a mile when a few blocks (literally) from Bourbon Street, will do?

I definitely plan on returning here whenever I am back in town, unless it's to live. And even then I'd stop in to say hello. They certainly gave my visit to the city peace and consistency when not out on the own, and that's what I will forever be thankful for.

-Diamond

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn-Bro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Does the job. Good location, easy to walk a lot of places or take the streetcar, quiet for comfortable sleeping. Staff was friendly at check-in. It's definitely nice that they offer free breakfast croissants and juice/coffee, although they woke us up to deliver them and the croissants were so-so and they were already out of OJ by 7:30AM. It IS free, so I can't really complain, just don't get overly excited about free breakfast! Clean room, clean bathroom, nice soap, great amount of towels (yay! I hate not having enough towels). Better price than a lot of places. I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abwolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The St James hotel is a located only a couple of minutes from Canal Street and about 5mins from the French Quarter. You're close to streetcars and buses so you can commute with ease to everything

The Hotel has a lovely little courtyard which sadly, because of the rain, we didn't use but is available to use all the time. The beds were so comfortable we wanted to take them home with us. The hotel was really quiet, we were only disturbed a couple of times as our room was by the ice and vending machines and due to a university graduation that took place in a courtyard next to the hotel.

The staff were brilliant. Amy, Christina and Ariael looked after us so well! They took care of organizing tours for us and gave us great recommendations of local places to check out. They're all local to the city and very friendly and fun.

It was our first visit to the city and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit.

Room Tip: Avoid room 210 as it's opposite the ice machine and vending machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachImo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We had to book a hotel at the last minute and got a good deal through the airline. The staff was great and accommodating. The room was clean and very comfortable. A small breakfast of fresh juice, coffee, and croissants was brought to The room each morning. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

First visit to New Orleans. Located in the CBD with an easy walk to the French Quarter. Staff were friendly and helpful. Was some building work outside but wasn't a major issue. Only minor downside was the lack of a bar to have a quiet drink in whilst escaping the heat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing