We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre hotel with inconsistent service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #44 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel with inconsistent service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was extremely excited to be staying in the St. James over Thanksgiving weekend for a quick getaway for just us. Given the previous reviews, I thought I had found a real winner. Unfortunately, I was wrong. The St. James is a mediocre hotel with inconsistent service and dated fixtures and furnishings. It is a great Days Inn or a below average Hampton.

LOCATION: The hotel being a couple of blocks away from the French Quarter is a plus especially if you want to get a good night’s sleep. HOWEVER, it is right near Poydras St. So, if there is anything going on at the Superdome, you will NOT be getting that good night’s sleep. This is especially true if you are in rooms on the South side of the hotel which front a parking lot with two buildings serving as an ideal echo chamber for noise form Poydras St. Our room was 320 on the South side and it was the weekend of the Bayou Classic. No good sleep for us.

ROOMS: The rooms and fixtures are dated. Water pressure was so low that the “diverter” on the shower/tub wouldn’t stay shut and one had to hold it to get water through the shower. The hot water was inconsistent with my wife and I each taking at least one cold shower. In our room the in-room safe was broken (see photo), the bathroom backsplash was broken (see photo), and the return vent hadn’t been cleaned since Katrina (see photo).
This falls into the persnickety category but having pre-wrapped plastic glasses and coffee mugs and still charging $200+ per night seems inconsistent, as well.

HEATING ISSUE: After our check-in we went out to grab a bite and returned to find our heat not working. The front desk finally answered on the sixth try and 20 minutes. They said the maintenance folks were gone but would try to call someone. There was not another word from them for the balance of the evening. It was a cold snap in New Orleans and we slept in 50 degrees for the night. The next morning I explained the situation and Allison the front desk manager immediately comp’ed the first night and got maintenance on the issue. The issue was resolved that day. Points to Allison.

BREAKFAST: The morning croissant and coffee is a nice touch. However, of the four morning we got it while we were there it was delivered at the requested time only twice. On one of the correct deliveries, they were out of jelly/preserves.

WI-FI: Free and easy to access wi-fi throughout the hotel was great.

OVERALL: Overall there are many other choices in and around the quarter. I would take a pass on the St. James and pay 20-30 bucks per night for something else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rossharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    289
    80
    34
    20
See reviews for
146
329
39
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a three day weekend and really enjoyed it. The receptionist was super friendly and all the staff members we interacted with were really polite (holding the doors for us, asking about our day, etc.). Our room was clean and quiet. We're looking forward to staying there again the next time we visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaydenHurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavernia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff was extremely friendly! Especially Amy Ross!! My sister is a special needs adult and we needed to get her from st James to where we were. We called Amy because we were concerned for my sisters safety. Amy called the taxi company, walked her outside, made sure she got in the cab safely and called us back to let us know she was on her way. She was very knowledgeable about the city and informative. Also very professional, friendly and funny. We love Amy!!! Next time we are in new Orleans you can bet we will be staying at st james

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linares0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed 11/21-23 and we feel the value proposition was decent. We are in our late 20's and we felt the hotel had a great location for those that weren't dead-set on going to bourbon. We enjoyed checking out the more local areas in the warehouse district and this hotel was great for that. Room was clean, somewhat noisy (we back up to the loading dock). Wi-fi was hit or miss and the "breakfast" was really a croissant.

The staff was pleasant and the area felt safe. We weren't blown away with the stay... this was a solid average hotel that did what we expected it to do. If you are looking for an off the French Q experience, this is a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Like others have said, I would shoot for a room that is not on the street. Our room was in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here after another hotel in NOLA and had corporate pricing. The rooms are renovated but the bathroom is nasty with mold in the corners of the tub with a poor grouting and caulking job. When you're on the john, you focus on a lot of disgusting imperfections. The croissants, coffee, hot tea and OJ is a nice added perquisite although they ran out one day. Would recommend this hotel which is part of Choice Hotels Ascend collection.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YourWorldTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is a nice small hotel in a very good location. It's 300 meters away from French Quarter and nearly 15 minutes away from the Convention Center by walking. The staff is very nice. They have free wi-fi in rooms.

If you stay in the rooms facing the street (Magazine Street) your sleep quality can reduce because of traffic, lights and noise of air conditioners. They also do not have a breakfast room and delivering the breakfast to the rooms but the breakfast only contains a cold coffee and a croissant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights while traveling on business in New Orleans.

Pro's- this hotel is in a decent location just off of Canal St and far away from Bourbon St to avoid the craziness. Its walkable to many areas of the downtown core including the French Quarter and the Warehouse district and its close to many great restaurants and an awesome yoga studio, as well as the Shops at Canal St. The beds are also really comfortably. It is cute, though a little worn around the edges; definitely a 3/5 star as it indicates on its website.

Con's- I definitely would NOT recommend this hotel for a business traveler. The internet did not work for me past the first 5 minutes after I arrived and even when it did work for those 5 minutes it was PAINFULLY slow. We were unfortunate enough to have a room facing Magazine St which was very noisy at all times of the day and night, and the single pane windows definitely do not help in this regard.

The ChopHouse sign (to the restaurant below) is a HUGE neon sign that shone so brightly right into our window it was almost like daylight- the blackout drapes helped, but even with some maneuvering we were not able to get rid of all the light pollution flooding through the windows.

I don't like giving a bad review but on our 2nd (and last) night it appeared that there was some type of wood being tossed out onto the street right below our windows at 1am, yes, seriously. The next morning we were awakened at 6:45 am to the sound of a chopsaw and looked out to see that indeed, a large pile of wood had been ripped out of the restaurant and new stuff was being installed.

Im sorry, but if you are doing a reno like this you DO NOT put guests right above the work being done. When I questioned the front desk staff they said they had only been made aware of it when they came to work that morning and the manager had not been in over the weekend.

In my opinion when you pay for a good nights sleep its the managements job to know if the restaurant attached to the hotel is having its insides ripped out- sorry, but UNACCEPTABLE.

Room Tip: best to ask for something on the courtyard side if you care about a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing