We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is wonderful and service is great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
MKE
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Location is wonderful and service is great!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The location can't be beat. Right outside of the French Quarter but not in it. Front desk staff very, very helpful. A big thank you to Amy, Christina and James. They were wonderful. Rooms on the small side. Breakfast is delivered to your room but it is not very good IMHO. A small glass of OJ and some coffee. A huge croissant. I am not a croissant fan so I wasn't impressed. You should go to breakfast at Mother's or Ruby Slipper, both of these restaurants are about five minutes away. WiFi worked great. A charming courtyard separates the main hotel from the annex.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaime000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    314
    87
    36
    22
See reviews for
161
366
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grenada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel whose location is great as it is so near to Canal Street, Bourbon Street,The French Quarter and the river. We were extremely fortunate to experience the services of Mr. James Stowe, as well as, the Front Desk Staff, Amy and Ashley. They all went out of their way to make us feel welcomed, they suggested places to visit and to dine, and arranged our adventures in a very professional manner. The hotel exhibits an old world charm, the courtyard is nice and quaint, but should be covered in the event of rain. If ever we are able to return to New Orleans, it is our hope that James, Amy and Ashley will still be there as they truly made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

James Stowe, Amy and Christine were wonderful and very helpful. very good location, walking distance to most areas we were interested in. would go back to this location. the room was quiet, breakfast was on time, and on one occasion, when we requested the service earlier, it was delivered on time. again, the staff took very good care of our entire party.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slynnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Like many others, I try to stay in a different hotel each time I go to new Orleans. I now have one that I will use as my go-to option. In terms of value and quality of the room, the St. James Hotel is a real gem. It's only two blocks away from Canal in the CBD, so walking anywhere is a breeze.

To avoid being redundant with all of the other positive reviews, I will add this one caveat to my review. This is my new go-to hotel IF I can book their king suite. The suite is fantastic, with a seperate living room, two 42 inch tv's, and REALLY comfortable furniture. It's really nice to be able to watch TV in the living area while the wife is taking a nap in the bedroom (or me watch football while she watches her own shows). I also wake up earlier, so it's nice to step out of the bedroom and have space to kick out. Also, the bedroom has a ceiling fan. This is a huge plus for me, as I need a fan on at night. Needless to say, I felt complety at home in the king suite.

Economically, the king (or queen) suite also makes perfect sense. Compare prices. You'll pay more for a regular cramped guestroom at the Marriot, Sheraton, Rennaisance, etc, or you can pay less, AND have a large suite all while being only a short walk away. It's really a no brainer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40Rouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Each time we visit New Orleans, we try to stay at different hotels in different downtown areas. Generally we are pleased with our stay, but occasionally, we find a hotel that we love to suggest to our friends when they travel to NOLA. St. James Hotel is a true find. It is affordable, easily accessible, and charming in style and service. We walked to all the places around us with ease and even discovered a few new restaurants in the vicinity. From the bellmen who greet you as you drive up, to the polite and efficient front desk, to the cleaning staff, the hotel is a great place to stay. We had a corner room with three windows and loved it so much we recorded it for our next visit. Also, the Chophouse restaurant, which is attached to the hotel lobby, was always filled. We didn't have time to dine there this trip, but will definitely do so in the future. Even though this hotel is just a stone throw from the French Quarters, it is in a quiet area. Our sleep was never disturbed except for the average police sirens.

Room Tip: There are few room without windows. Make sure you avoid these rooms. The front desk was very accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agranier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We planned to stay here months in advance, but didn't realize that the weekend we were staying was a Saints game weekend. A lot of people were in town, which we did not expect. Nonetheless, the service that we got from Danielle, Amy, James, and everyone was spectacular. I've never had such great service at any hotel before. The room could have been cleaned a little better, but all in all we had a good experience. Not too many complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prather6635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel. We chose it because it was very affordable, but we were blown away by the hospitality of the concierge (James) and the front desk staff (Amy and Ashley). They took care of every request we made, helped us book attractions, and gave us great recommendations for restaurants. The hotel itself was very comfortable with a wonderful internal courtyard. We couldn't believe how close it was to everything we wanted to do in New Orleans, including Bourbon St, the Aquarium and the Riverboat dock. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing