We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Staff and Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #49 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Wonderful Staff and Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girls and I booked this Hotel for Essence Festival weekend and as soon as we pulled up and walked in we were greeted with the most warm welcome by Amy (who is freakin awesome btw). This hotel has the perfect price, is in the most perfect location and has the the friendliest staff. Beautiful hotel and our room was wonderful. Whenever I visit the Big Easy I will be sure to book here and only here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmoniqueelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the St. James! Essence Festival is one of our favorite weekends and we strive to be your home away from home while you're traveling. Amy is one of our greatest commodities and was very pleased to read your review. We can't wait until next year!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    256
    69
    26
    17
See reviews for
125
267
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Throughly enjoyed my stay at the St. James. I had booked a Queen room and was upgraded to a King at check-in, which was nice. I got a good deal on the room at Expedia, and hotel exceeded my expectations. It's a small, boutique hotel, so there are not a lot of amenties like a bar or restaurant in the hotel, but there is a great breakfast place (The Ruby Slipper) nearby and it is close to both the French Quarter and Warehouse District which made it the perfect jumping off point for us to explore New Orleans. Amy and Danielle at the front desk were wonderful -- giving us lots of great suggestions on places to go and, especially, places eat and drink! All of the staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the bed was comfy. Oh, and I enjoyed the cucumber water in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belladex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I am elated to read your review! It is our goal to exceed every guest's expectations and we take pleasure in doing so. Your positive comments make performing our services that much more enjoyable! We look forward to ensuring continued satisfaction on your next visit to New Orleans!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Came to NOLA to celebrate my 30th birthday - and stayed at the St. James. Price was exceptional, rooms nicely appointed (enjoyed the iPhone alarm clock) and the staff was extremely knowledgeable and nice. They provided great recommendations on things to do, where to eat, etc. location was great...out of the quarter and way from the noise, but close enough to walk to everything or catch the streetcar. Only "downside" our room on the third floor was TINY - but we were prepared for that, knowing the property to be historic. I understand there are larger rooms available.

We enjoyed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wnchgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are thrilled you found our hotel to be a "Gem"! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel for a recent music festival (Essence). The location and customer service was great. Danielle, Amy, and several other employees worked hard to keep us satisfied. However, the rooms and overall condition of the hotel leaves too much to be desired. We will not be returning. But if location and smiling, friendly faces is your only requirement, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_small12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review our your recent stay!

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just wanted to let you know that I love the hotel we stayed at. Love the old architecture and décor The location was perfect, right in the middle of downtown, within walking distance to everything. The service was exceptional. Staff very friendly, helpful and in formable of the area and place to visit, eat etc. I Love Amy, Danielle, David etc. Everybody Made us feel at home and part of the family. You guys rock and I miss you. Made some friends for life. I hope I can visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We miss you too!! I am delighted you had such a pleasurable experience! I'll will be sure to pass on your sentiments to my entire staff. It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a girls weekend this past weekend and we were helped by a professional and friendly staff. Tori and Ryan both helped us when we had some inital hiccups. They initially put us in a wrong room and when we went back to tell them it would not work, it was quickly fixed. The rooms were comfortable, but at 1am we undid the sofa bed only to find a dirty sheet and crumbs. Apparently the sofabed was not cleaned. I went out to the front desk and was given clean sheets to put on the bed. We just decided to fold the sofabed up and put the sheets directly on the sofa cushions. Our door handle the bathroom kept falling off. We mentioned it to the staff one morning and still was not fixed when we came back at almost 3pm. I finally brought them the handle and it was put on right away after that. Like I said, there were a few hiccups, but I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again. The location was perfect and was within walking distance to most anything you needed. And there was 24/7 in out privileges with the valet. The rooms seemed to be remodeled with new bedding and furniture. Perhaps next time, there will be breakfast - since that is what we read on the sign "coming soon"-- I only wished it was last weekend soon! The pool (if you want to call it that) was small - reminded me of a kiddie pool but about four feet. We decided not to use it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunrisebreezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I appreciate the feedback and will consult my department heads about the issues you encountered. It's great to hear the staff was friendly and we look forward to future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Tori was the guy at the front desk that helped us the most! He was super friendly and was helpful enough to ask what we are interested in and if we had any plans so he could make some suggestions of things for us to do while we were there! The hotel was a lot nicer on the inside then the outside, so don't be afraid when you first pull up because I was a little. Not that it's terribly run down just didn't look quite as nice as the photos. The vallet was nice, you have to give them about 20 minutes to get your car back to the hotel so just call ahead, they did tell us this at check in! We walked everywhere from the hotel and overall had an amazing trip! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to leave such a nice response. Tori is our rock star at the front desk and I am happy to see he was friendly and helpful for you. I will absolutely share this review with him and the entire staff.


Thanks again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#39 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#76 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#41 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing