We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Long Check in and no room one night!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #137 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Long Check in and no room one night!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

First off, I want to say that this was my first time in New Orleans and I booked it on Hotwire.
I got to the hotel around 2:00 pm or so, as said in my reservation to check in. I didn't get checked in till 3:30 pm because none of the rooms were cleaned and ready. Housekeeping issue apparently. Got the hotel room with the gracious Jasmine who checked me in. I had a room block of 5 rooms and none were ready, and I was there plus 30 other people at the same time were needing our rooms for the convention in town.
I don't know who worked on Sept 29th, 2012 around 9:30 pm, but I paid for 5 rooms for two nights. Some lady at the front desk (not Jasmine), checked out one of the rooms (bus driver's room) and sold it to another person. There was one room left that was not cleaned at all and was not sold, so the bus driver had to sleep in the bus for one night. When I knew about this, I was going to scream! Properly train your staff! Look at your reservations clearly and carefully before you check out people out of the wrong room and let someone stranded for one night in a bus. I would have opted to sleep in the bus and let the bus driver sleep in my room if I knew about it earlier. Rooms were cleaned except for one room 132, complaints from my guests that not vacuumed and the sheets and blankets weren't even made. I will not be staying at this hotel unless i get comped on my next visit to New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality504, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and receive their valuable feedback about our hotel. We do appreciate your comment about our staff. Again, we sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    12
    24
    31
See reviews for
28
21
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked a block of rooms October 2012. The rooms were terrible. Smokey smell, dirty carpet, shower head missing, water drained slow in tub. Basically this place was a dump. Pay more money and stay far away from here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality504, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Quality Inns New Orleans Lakefront. We appreicate your comments about our hotel. I do apologize about your room, I wish I would have known while you were here so we could have switched you to another room. The maintenance staff has been cleaning carpets on a weekly basis to ensure cleanliness. The room you were in certainly does not speak for our rooms here. We would appreciate if you would give us a chance again. I do thank you for bringing this to our attention and I have discussed your comments with our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this location were awesome. Front desk were very helpful with getting a taxi and also some good places to eat. Rooms were clean and housekeeping was very curtious. Would define tly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajezierski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality504, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We appreciate you telling us about your experience at the Quality Inns and Suites New Orleans Lakefront! We are so delighted you had such a nice stay. We pride outself in staff service at this hotel! We will certainly let front desk and housekeeping know your comments! We hope we have the opportunity to provide your accommodations again in the future.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

i could not...this was the only hotel i could find in the area at such a short notice because of the hurricane...the hotel itself has some bad reviews about its area and clientele but that was certainly not the issue i found...the problem is the staff...i arrived at 4:15pm and waited for a half hour for someone to show up at the desk...not a soul to be found...i left to make a briefing that was scheduled for my work...when i returned at 7:15pm i was told my room wasn't ready and i'd have to wait till they found one...forty minutes later i was put into a room...the interior was fine...not the flea bag that other reviews listed it to be...by 10:30pm i was in my bed and just about falling asleep when my door was pushed open by the inept staff...i had the bar across the door so when they pushed it open the force was so strong that it sounded like the room was being broken into...the manager yells into the cracked door "who's in this room"...scares the living hell out of me...door being forced open at 10:45pm...the manager tells me he was 100% sure there was no one in the room...great customer service there...i'm 100% sure that he's an moron...even if i were positive the room was empty i'd have still knocked once just to be sure...but no, this idiot doesn't think to do that...just tries to bust into the room...if i hadn't paid up front with a web site i would have left right then but i knew there would be no way to get a refund...the manager on duty did not apologize...he just acted like he was in the right to open a door without knocking first because his computer showed the room to be empty...didn't bother to check with the paper work on his desk left by the other front desk worker...my advice is find a different place to stay because i'm pretty sure they don't learn from their mistakes by the looks of all the negative reviews of this place...i wish i had read a few before i pushed that button to book...the manager tried to blow off all the bad reviews by saying people who enjoy their stays at hotels don't bother to write good reviews...what a crock...learn to treat your customers right and maybe you'd get some good reviews...

Room Tip: rooms that are at another establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality504, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed on this occasion, and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I appreciate your feedback and have discussed every issue in your letter with our staff and corrective action is being taken. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The staff was extremely helpful and willing to go the extra mile when it comes to their guest. The breakfast was freshly made and it tasted so good. I would not change 1 thing about this hotel it was really a nice place to stay. Really close to Bourbon and the Superdome. Staff are the friendlist.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This Quality Inn was ok, but it looked like it was situated in a rather dodgy (unsafe) area. We used it because we had a dog, and a lot of the other hotels charge a substantial premium for a dog in a hotel e.g. $25 per night plus a $100 non-refundable cleaning fee. If I hadn't already booked it online, I would have gone to a better quality inn and location.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a tip. I always ask for a room in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_a_forster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The MOTEL was not a nice place to stay at all!!...First I received an E Mail about four days before my trip stating that it was to late to cancel my reservation. I thought most HOTELS give you at least forty eight hours prior and up to four pm the day of the reservation. Nooooo not this place. Come to find, I was actually charged the full amount of the room charge the day I received that E-Mail. Seems deceitful and underhanded to me. No where did I ready you will be charged before you even arrive?!?!.....Secondly, ALL of the horrible reviews said about this place "IT'S TRUE!!!!!!" This MOTEL was off the beaten path, the carpet was dirty, water bugs in the bathroom, lighting in the room was horrible, people hanging out on the balcony, people screaming obscenities all times of the day, loud music, pool dirty (no one swam) B-B-Q pits in front of doors (like they rent rooms by the week or month?!?! etc. DO NOT STAY HERE. I grew up in a semi ruff neighborhood and I felt unsafe at this MOTEL.

Room Tip: Check the reviews first.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MotelnotHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Days Inn New Orleans Pontchartra...
#129 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Pontchartra...
#141 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 8400 I 10 Service Rd, New Orleans, LA 70127 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites New Orleans)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy affordable rates at the Rodeway Inn & Suites(R) hotel in New Orleans near the historic French Quarter. If you are travelling on a budget, this hotel in New Orleans off Interstate 10 is close to a variety of area attractions, including: The National WWII Museum New Orleans Cruise Terminal Mercedes-Benz Superdome Ernest N. Morial Convention Center At this New Orleans budget hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: Free continental breakfast Free WiFi Free coffee Free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites New Orleans
Quality Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
La Quinta New Orleans
New Orleans La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing