We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$279
$269
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$215
$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
$229
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$296
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$247
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$343
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
109
103
26
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
103
26
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheesecake bistrogarden districttrolley stop cafetrolley linevalet parkinggreat locationfrench quarteron st charles averestaurant downstairssmall hotelcontinental breakfastcoffee makercharles trolleywould stay here againfridge and microwavebreakfast areaaudubon park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 251 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were actuall booked @ a different hotel for our stay in NO, when we arrived it was a dump, we immediatly checked out. We googled hotels in NO and this one popped up, the rates were resonable so we figured we would drive over and check it out. When we arrived the girl at the front desk let us look at several different rooms to make sure that we wanted to stay and also so we could pick our room. She even matched our rate that we were getting at the dumpy hotel. Our room was large and had the large jub with jets. It was actually in the room insted of the bathroom which was different but OK. We had PLENTY of room and everything was nice and clean. The hotel is not right on Canal but still close to everything by car, trolly or walking. We ate dinner at the restaurant that is in the lobby and they have BY FAR the best steak that i have ever tasted. Also, nice and knowledgeable waiters. This hotel also has on site valet parking and the attendants wasted no time getting our car for us. Overall we like this hotel and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2011

Thank you so much for your review! I am very pleased to hear we lived up to your expectations. Hope your travels take you back our way soon!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2010 Choice Hotels International Platinum Award Winner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We had a bit of a problem upon check-in when they didn't have the reserved room available. When we went to speak to the woman at the front desk about it, she shrugged her shoulders and said she could get us the room we wanted on the day we were leaving. Gee, thanks.

The next day, we realized our TV remote didn't work and the staff person at the front desk was friendly, polite, and helpful.

In short: Day staff-delightful Night staff-rude

Every interaction we had with the evening staff was disappointing to say the least. Any time we asked a question, it seemed as though they couldn't be bothered. Probably becuase they were on the phone most of the time.

Upon leaving, however, I was able to speak to the manager on duty who was more than helpful and understanding of our situation. He even took the time to figure out why the room we reserved wasn't available. Our staff experience was greatly improved after meeting him.

Aside from that, the rooms are large, clean and well cared for. The location is superb (you can catch the St. Charles trolly right outside), close to shops, cafes, and restaurants (try The Trolly Stop next door!).

We, personally, may not stay here again, but would have no hesitation suggesting it to anybody. It's a good hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for writing a review. I am always happy to know how my staff and I are doing with our guests, weather it is a positive or negative experience, because we can only improve by knowing how we performed.
I am so sorry that you had a bad experience with our evening shift. I do want to assure you that after we spoke i scheduled a retraining workshop for all staff to ensure the highest standards of customer service are met with each and every guest.
Like I stated at checkout, it seemed that your room was booked through a wholesaler which does not reserve a specific room type. We do try our best to accommodate requests for bed types for these reservations, but it is based on availability.
Other than that I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and that you would suggest your friends stay with us. I do hope you will give us another chance to show you our platinum award winning service.
Best Regards,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2011 Choice Hotels Platinum Award Winner
2010 Choice Hotels Gold Award Winner
2009 Choice Hotels Gold Award Winner
2009 Choice Hotels Inn of the Year Finalist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stayed here for a convention. Good location, clean large room, awesome staff. I will come in next time i am in new orleans! The desk had great recommendations for dinner and i always had a cab waiting for me. Kudos to the management for keeping on your toes!

Room Tip: I got the cheapest room and it was perfect
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardio2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The location couldn't have been better...right on the St. Charles streetcar line so the French Quarter was about 5 minutes away but far enough that we were near grocery stores, Walgreens, and regular fast food. We were able to buy our Streetcar passes at the grocery store almost next door, along with milk and juice for the kids so we weren't paying tourist prices everyday. There were taxis available anytime. Our only complaint, not even worth complaining to management, was that our room was not vacuumed a single time in our 4 day stay. The sock fuzz that was there when we checked in was there when we checked out. Towels and sheets were changed and the trash emptied daily. The front desk kept all 8 pieces of our luggage on the last day so that we could check out on time (noon) but still sightsee before hading to the train station. The Cheesecake Bistro located in the hotel was amazing. It was elegant enough to justify the above average pricing but noisy enough that we didn't feel like our kids were a bother. One problem with a room service order was more than corrected by the Kitchen Manager. One suggestion - if you are a light sleeper you should bring a noise maker or air purifier. The air conditioner was great but didn't have a setting to run constantly. I was the only one in my group bothered and not much at that. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyb336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to hear both what we are doing correctly, and what we can improve on. I want to assure you that we take cleanliness very seriously here at the Grand Boutique Hotel. I have showed your review to the housekeeping staff and have stressed the importance of vacuuming stay-over rooms each day. I am glad that this did not diminish your impression of our property or our city! I hope your travels bring you back to New Orleans soon and, if they do, that we see y'all again!
Best Regards,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2011 Choice Hotels International Platinum Award Winner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We booked at the last minute for Mardi Gras and absolutely loved the location...all the good parades on St. Charles, Grocery store, drug store, great restaurants and bars all within walking distance....the staff was very hospitable and gracious. The entry into the hotel was controlled during the big parades....and we always felt safe. We have already booked our rooms for next year.....

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TikiMan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay. I hope we will see you next year!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2011 Choice Hotels Platinum Award Winner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews