We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient & Comfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brent House Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #121 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Convenient & Comfortable Room”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I love this place! The employees are awesome, from housekeeping to front desk. I stay with Brent House quite often and can tell you they consistently do a good job! I noticed a couple of negative reviews but I can tell that is not the norm. Don't hesitate if you are interested in staying there. Say hello to the front desk staff and tell them- Mary said hello!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms, there big and spacious and very well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    51
    23
    17
    16
See reviews for
55
36
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The front desk will immediately let you know that they are indifferent. Hotel and rooms are dirty. The positives are: Beds are clean. WIFI is complimentary. No other hotels are available close to the hospital, therefor stay here if you must.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Mobile
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

After searching for a room, only to find all were booked in the area where we usually stay, I booked here. A little out of the way, but only about 15 or 20 min from most things. Free parking! Enter like you are going to the hospital, which was comical to us. However the lobby was perfectly normal. Our room on the third floor was wonderful. It was new and sparkly clean. There was a mini fridge, microwave and coffee. For the price would stay there again. Pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janfj1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has old rooms with broken plumbing system, no pay phone, no food and no cabs!

If you wish to stay with recovering patients and sick people's family that's the spot.

Reception desk only says I'm sorry for that when you complain about everything. No manager available.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Manager1512, Manager at Brent House Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience during your recent visit. We pride ourselves on providing great service and good food. However, during your most recent visit, the area Taxi Cabs were extremely busy due to the city wide Ophthalmology convention and we had very little control over that service. And yes, the restaurant was closed for renovations and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We have recently renovated 75% of all guest rooms and I'm sorry one was not available upon your arrival. Please feel free to contact the hotel manager to discuss any of these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Brent House is very well hidden on the first floor of The Ochsner Hospital on Jefferson Highway. The hotel has no outside signs to indicate its entrance or parking. Don't expect a conventional hotel, expect a hospital with a dedicated hallway for some visitors.

Amenities: an ironing board and iron. Coffee maker (did not use). No breakfast, etc. Remember, you are in a hospital, not a hotelCoffee at PJ's in the hospital lobby was delicious. Staff behaved as if customers have dog crap on their shoes: rude, behave as if they hate customers and their jobs. Coffee flavor was however, delicious.

Room: my wife and I had a king bed, (room 155), no complaints on cleanliness, or operation of utilities, TV etc. Window faced interior: very quiet.

Good: very secure locale, no feeling of danger or risk. Free indoor garage parking. (its a hospital)

Bad: expected a hotel with some sort of hotel features. We did get a clean room and quiet environment, but the interior of my hotel was a bbustling hospital!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveyoungUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH_Manager1512, Manager at Brent House Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your response. Although we are located next to a Medical Facility we are currently undergoing renovations in the restaurant and were unable to provide a sufficient service during your visit. We are happy you enjoyed the newly renovated room. We are continuously working to upgrade and renovate the facility to meet traveler expectations. Please come again and I'm sure we will meet or beat your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were surprised to find out this hotel was connected to a hospital (Oschner Hospital), but were pleasantly surprised. The accommodations were very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who is going to New Orleans, LA. We were only about 5-7 miles from downtown and the French Quarter, both Loyola and Tulane univ. and the garden district, which were all places we wanted to go.
Thanks for a great stay on our vacation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank desiluv2bareit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My friend and I came to New Orleans for a wedding and to get away from work. We are nurses and the hospital is the LAST place we wanted to be. There were several conventions going on last weekend which meant a lot of the hotels were either booked or way too expensive. My friend and I didn't inspect good enough on their website to see that it was a hotel mainly for family so when we arrived to oschner we were shocked. I was surprised at how nice the room appeared to be but I would never stay here again. There definitely needed to be some updates in the bathroom and room. The kingsize bed was big but the sheets reminded us of the same sheets that are used in the hospital... it had markings on them and they were thin. The pillows sank as soon as your head touches them and my head is not extraordinarily large or heavy. We had to take a taxi to and from the french quarter which is a little over 20 dollars each way. Most of my money went to taxi fare. Please.. do not stay here if you are in nola to have a good time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlinpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 163 in New Orleans
145 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#133 of 163 in New Orleans
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#112 of 163 in New Orleans
128 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#85 of 163 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#107 of 163 in New Orleans
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brent House Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brent House Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Brent House Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1512 Jefferson Hwy, New Orleans, LA 70121-2429
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brent House Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brent House Hotel is adjacent to Ochsner Clinic Foundation and is located midway between New Orleans Airport and downtown New Orleans, approx 5 miles. The Brent House has 137 rooms and suites that surround a beautiful 6 story Atrium featuring tropical foliage and fountains. Spacious rooms face the interior Atrium or view the city and pool. All rooms are furnished with in-room refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, flat-screen TV's, and internet access. Guests also enjoy access to our 2 restaurants, gourmet coffee shop, heated outdoor pool and hot tub, gift shop, barber shop and beauty salon, 24 hour gym, and FREE covered parking. The Brent House Conference Center offers 3,000 square feet of flexible meeting space accommodating functions and banquets of 10 to 300 persons. Ask about upgrading to one of our newly renovated Preferred rooms when making your reservation or at Check-In. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Brent House Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brent House Hotel And Conference Center
Brent House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing