We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brent House Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #124 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I didn't havwe big expectations from a hotel connected to a hospital but I was pleasantly surprised. Courteous staff and clean, quiet rooms. The only drawback is that it's far from downtown but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    51
    23
    17
    17
See reviews for
56
36
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
unguidedmissal
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have been rather amazed at the sometimes less than stellar reviews of this hotel. We have had nothing but good experiences there. The location is fine. It's easy to get just about anywhere in NOLA from there by car and there is free, covered parking, an utter rarity in NOLA. The service has always been warm, accommodating and helpful. We have always stayed in the older section (cheaper) and there the rooms can be in mild disrepair (little stains on carpet, baseboard off in places) but they have been large and reasonably clean especially for NOLA. The WiFi has been perfect everywhere in the hotel including in the room. It was quiet and the beds were comfy. There really isn't a restaurant, just a kind of coffee shop which we never used (we're in New Orleans folks!). There's no bar. The health club is smallish and crammed with equipment but you can certainly get a work-out there.
For people visiting friends or relatives in Ochsner, it couldn't be better as the hotel is one with the hospital. We have friends who stay there for football games in NOLA because the price is right.
We visit NOLA with some regularity and usually stay in B&Bs. We might consider staying at the Brent House in the future.
Over all, The Brent House compares very favorably with hotels available in NOLA especially in this price range.

Room Tip: Old wing is considerably cheaper than renovated one. In the old wing check the room before settling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unguidedmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viterbo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel in the complex is not so bad; despite it is strictly connected to the hospital (it's part of it), the structure is good and quite recent. The drawbacks are the location (10 km from the French quarter) even though there's a straight and fast hwy to get there, it takes less than 20 minutes. The room we quite bad for the fact that it smelled like smoke. And bad smell was quite strong. What is more, there's no breackfast, but if you pay there are a lot of bars and shops in the same structure. Staff is good. Conditioner is great! efficient and quiet! Good to check out at 1 p.m!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italiansinchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a great hotel stay. The hotel is actually connected to the hospital. Rooms were clean, internet worked well. We had no problems at all. Would have stayed longer, but all the tourist attractions in New Orleans are too far to use this as a home base.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I, too, was staying at this facility because of a family member undergoing treatment at Ochsner. The lack of customer service was deplorable - and I DID speak to the manager, several times over a two week period. Room request mix- ups, safe not open, children running up and down the halls at midnight. And this facility supposedly caters to the patients post-care at the hospital. They weren't getting much rest that night.

It was obvious the front desk staff just comes in, puts in their time and goes home...could care less if your needs were met.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor, the rooms on that floor have been renovated.....if you must stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheliab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Starkville, Mississippi, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked a room there because there was a conference we were attending in the conference center. First the good:
The place has a very pretty indoor courtyard. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms were unbelievably quiet. The hotel is a short drive from the downtown area. The Blue Tomato is a great little restaurant around a mile away. The price was $110 a night which, I think, is very reasonable for New Orleans. The guy at the desk was very friendly when we were checking in. Parking is free. We accidentally went to the hospital part and several hospital staff were very friendly and helped point us in the right direction. Room was spacious enough.
The bad:
The hot water was not very hot. The shower pressure was a drizzle at best. The place is old, and it shows. The lady at the desk when we checked out was not friendly at all. The floors were stained and gross. The bathroom had built up soap scum and some mold that could have easily been knocked out with some cleaning. The layout is somewhat intertwined with the hospital which sent us on a wild goose chase a few times.
Overall, the experience was nothing to complain about. I would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Brent House Hotel and Conference Center is a part of the Ochsner Medical Center and is on the same campus with the main hospital on Jefferson Highway in New Orleans. If you have an early morning medical appointment, or outpatient surgery at Ochsner, this is THE place to stay. You never have to go outside the building to get to your appointment or surgery. People often stay here following minor surgery to recouperate before traveling a long distance home.

Pricing is competitive with similar hotels. In fact, it may be a bit lower in cost than many other hotels.

Judging from the architecture, the building was likely built in the late '60s or early '70s. However, the Brent House has had an extensive remodeling program underway for some time and most of the rooms are furnished about like what you would find in a Hilton Garden Inn or Hampton Inn. I believe that all rooms have a flat screen TV, a dorm refrigerator, a microwave, and an ironing board. The rooms we have stayed in recently have all those amenities.

My only complaint is that there needs to be additional training and supervision given to their housekeeping staff. A time or two when we stayed there we found only one roll of toilet tissue in the bathroom. We had to ask for more. As any reader knows, if you are there for certain medical procedures one roll will simply not do.

Overall, I will give it a four. Good places to eat within a short drive from the hospital/hotel campus.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#111 of 164 in New Orleans
147 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#135 of 164 in New Orleans
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#113 of 164 in New Orleans
128 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#71 of 164 in New Orleans
243 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brent House Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brent House Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Brent House Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1512 Jefferson Hwy, New Orleans, LA 70121-2429
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brent House Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brent House Hotel is adjacent to Ochsner Clinic Foundation and is located midway between New Orleans Airport and downtown New Orleans, approx 5 miles. The Brent House has 137 rooms and suites that surround a beautiful 6 story Atrium featuring tropical foliage and fountains. Spacious rooms face the interior Atrium or view the city and pool. All rooms are furnished with in-room refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, flat-screen TV's, and internet access. Guests also enjoy access to our 2 restaurants, gourmet coffee shop, heated outdoor pool and hot tub, gift shop, barber shop and beauty salon, 24 hour gym, and FREE covered parking. The Brent House Conference Center offers 3,000 square feet of flexible meeting space accommodating functions and banquets of 10 to 300 persons. Ask about upgrading to one of our newly renovated Preferred rooms when making your reservation or at Check-In. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brent House Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brent House Hotel And Conference Center
Brent House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing