We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect French Quarter Hotel - Great price - Charming - Friendly - Clean”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #58 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Booked thru a discounter and still found this to be a PERFECT French Quarter hotel. (Have stayed at the Hotel Provincial, and the Bienville House in the past - and was surprised to find that I liked this best of the three, even though it is the least expensive!) Bienville House is ever so slightly more upscale, but this is a close second and the location is FAR better. Provincial is on par with Hotel St. Marie in terms of decor, style and yet again, isn't quite as 'central' as Hotel St Marie. The location is just right - everything you'll want to visit is in walking distance in all directions. What really made our stay extra nice was that upon asking at check-in, we were offered a FREE upgrade to a balcony room overlooking the charming street, even though we'd used priceline and only reserved an interior room. On a quiet Sunday/Monday visit they were able to accommodate this request, and did so nicely. It really made our stay! The wrought iron balcony was very relaxing to come back to for a brief rest after wandering the Quarter with a couple of patio chairs and small table. Balcony is spacious (visible in all pictures of the exterior of the hotel) and though individually divided, you'll be sharing space with your neighbors as the only dividers are wrought iron of course. Bourbon Street is close, but, no worries, this is a quiet, side street location. Beds were very comfortable with quality linens, bathroom was clean and well stocked. Charming decor and period style furniture. (Louvre doors to the bathroom - if privacy is an issue.) Courtyard and pool are small but clean and abundant with lush greenery - romantic and quaint. Front desk staff were friendly, helpful with directions and suggestions -- and on a rainy night even offered us an umbrella. If you'd like to experience true New Orleans style charm, instead of a boring old chain hotel, and want a real bargain in a great location - do not hesitate to stay at Hotel St. Marie. We will most definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainydayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2011

It's icy cold outside, and you're just finishing a nine hour drive from Austin, and there on the corner of two charming streets, around the corner from all the interesting parts of New Orleans, is a delightful, quiet, cosy hotel. Wonderful! This is a lovely hotel. I didn't realize until I was here, that I had stayed here many years ago and had remembered what a wonderful place it was then, and it still is. It came highly recommended by friends and we're glad we stayed here instead of at one of the big chain hotels. It has a pool and nice courtyard, and lovely ambience. It's one block from Bourbon St and once block from Preservation hall. We easily walked over to the Garden district and down to the river front, and to the far end of the French quarter in the Marigny district, so it's very convenient to all the interesting areas.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiveaFullLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

The rooms are comfortable and quiet. We had a balcony that overlooked the courtyard swimming pool (which closes at 11, but if you're quiet they won't ask you to leave.).
I'm not interested in Bourbon Street, but if you like to party then walk across the street because Hotel St. Marie is at the corner of Toulouse and Bourbon.
The staff was extremely helpful and so were all the other locals we met.
It's centrally located, so you can walk to just about anywhere or catch the cable car, which is not to be missed during your visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamilleAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was my 3rd stay at the Hotel St. Marie. My husband and I were here 1/13/11-1/16/11. I booked online and requested a balcony room with a street view and a large balcony. We stayed here over Labor Day weekend, and ironically were put in the same room this time. Room 214 with the large balcony and 2 double beds. They have made updates to this room, and it has been painted and furnished with new linens. We were happy to be in our home away from home again. We live only a 2 1/2 hour drive from New Orleans.

We love the location in the heart of the French Quarter. It's so easy to walk all around and work off all the calories from the delicious rich food we enjoy in New Orleans.

Down to the nitty gritty...Patrick at the front desk is super nice, as is Donald, the bellman and concierge. We arrived on a Thursday and had no trouble at all with valet parking. Our bags were packed on a cart by Donald and he brought them to our room. When we were ready to leave, we called for bell service, and a different bellman came right up and loaded our car.

Some have mentioned the louvered doors in the bathroom, but, really, my husband and I don't understand the problem. Nobody can see in, and anyone you are traveling with who would just barge right in is someone you don't want to travel with anymore anyway, in my opinion.

The continental breakfast is basic, but when you are in New Orleans, you'll want to try the local restaurants anyway. We got coffee in the mornings and a croissant to bring back to our room. It was so nice to sit on the balcony and listen to the clip clop of horse drawn carriages go by and feed the little birds some of the croissant.

It seems to me that before they redecorated, there were 4 pillows on each bed. They now offer only 2 with a decorative bolster, so if you like sleeping with more pillows, bring one. We wound up going to Riverwalk and purchasing some very nice pillows at Brookstone. Needed some new ones for home anyway, and don't want to skimp on pillows. We were awakened around 7 each morning by the garbage trucks, but we both went right back to sleep. Sounds of the city are what you will hear in a streetside room, although at night when we closed the balcony door, we really couldn't hear any noises at all.

Our room was clean, and I imagine they will be replacing or removing wallpaper and replacing carpet as the renovations continue. We love this hotel, and will definitely stay here again. It's interesting and exciting to see how it is evolving.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This hotel is right around the corner from the most action on Bourbon Street. It is small but our room was especially spacious...3rd floor courtyard balcony with two queen beds. The balcony was very small as is the courtyard which has a pool. Our other family members had a courtyard king balcony which was much smaller than ours. I've read other reviews about this hotel that mention old bedspreads..ours was an updated duvet cover, matching roll pillow for each bed..at the foot of each bed was a setee' . The only thing mentioned in other reviews is the louvered door to the toilet and tub area however before this door there is a vanity area on one side and closet/safe on the other wall. In the am fresh coffee, juice, croissants and danishes are offered complimentary. The staff was very nice and courteous. The price is about one third less or more than Inn on Bourbon and other French Quarter Hotels. Its location is very near to Rouse's Market and other little stores. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanimeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Paid $71/night (plus parking) for this three-star hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. The rooms are large and quiet, and there is a nice patio area. It could be a 3 1/2 star or maybe a 4 star if: (1) there was better upkeep on "fit and finish" (e.g., most mouldings a banged up), the barebones continental breakfast was upgraded (even a little), and (3) the front desk staff was more welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alta34675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We recently stayed (for the 6th time) at the Hotel St. Marie. The location is awesome, staff for the most part are friendly but the cleaniness seems to be slipping some. The room we were in needed the bed, dresser and chairs moved out and a good sweeping. We love this hotel but might try it's sister hotel next year...but then again maybe not!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedi072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#27 of 167 in New Orleans
2,419 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
1,705 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,356 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#46 of 167 in New Orleans
3,573 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#51 of 167 in New Orleans
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $146 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing