We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel!! Wonderful Location, Fine Accomodations....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #55 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!! Wonderful Location, Fine Accomodations....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My Partner and I chose this hotel because of its great reviews, convenient location, and affordability. We were not disappointed. Poolside room with balcony was clean, nice, and well appointed. All employees very knowledgeable and helpful, from the guys who carted all our baggage, parked the car, to the check in clerk. We were there for a Celebration of Life Event/Getaway and could not have had a better time. If you want good value, great location, and great service, the Hotel St. Marie would be the place.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rsbomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    669
    228
    92
    53
See reviews for
249
670
72
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed here October 3 - 6, 2010, for a business trade show. Just about all the hotels in the city were booked by the time I made my reservation here. I read the reviews on here and the hotel was rated 22 out of 154 hotels in New Orleans so I figured it would be pretty good, especially for $100.00 per night. Seemed like a good value. Plus the pictures looked good.

Great location, right off Bourbon Street; close to everything in the French Quarter. Hotel is very inviting on the outside with a very nice & attractive lobby. Got in the elevator to go up to the rooms and got off on the 3rd floor; halls very appealing. Then got to the room and Whoa! What a let down compared to everything else. A little dated for my taste. Old furniture. Old TV. Old wall paper pealing off the walls in the bathroom. How about an update! And fast. They still use real keys to get in the door instead of the swiped cards. What do you expect for $100.00, though?

Overall, very average room. Front desk clerks weren't that friendly. Maids and maintenance people very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSimpson30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

After staying in many of new orleans large impersonal hotels ... it was a treat to find the st marie..in New Orleans.. Great location romantic pool free breakfast.. and a staff that is geared to helping the traveling public find their way around new orleans.. you can have the big stuffy hotels with all the glter.. I'll take the st marie.. and its lovely alure.. Others could learn from their hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barcher52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We chose this hotel based on feedback from Trip Advisor. We wanted a hotel with old world charm and a great location- which this hotel had....however, the price was inflated because we were here the weekend of the football game. The staff was not helpful. We asked multiple times for recommendations and got poor feedback. The housekeeping staff left dirty glasses in our room every day. The room was muaty smelling. There was a bag of trash- cigs and an ashtray- 0n top of our TV stand. The staff said sorry but nothing else was done to alleviate the issue- cost reduction, etc.....The balcony was shared with the room next to us. It was not clear when I made reservations. I wanted our own balcony or would have requested such. I was very disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvnabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I loved the old city hotel ambviance. The hotel is one and half blocks off of Bourbon Street but is very quiet and full of old world charm. The maid service are the nicest people ever who go far out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. I received a wonderful rate from booking through Amtrak.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FortWorthNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We needed to get out of town, so I looked for a hotel with a good rate. Stayed at one of her sister hotels with absolutly no issues and wanted to see what this place was like. Doesn't hurt that the rates were the best I could find in the FQ for the location.

The staff were all beyond nice and helpful, honestly some of the best I have ever experienced. The courtyard/pool was beautiful, and the lobby beat the hell out of the sister hotel. They checked us in way early which was yet another bonus for the hotel. I booked us a courtyard view balcony, and it was awesome. The balcony was a little small, but it was still really, really cool. We were far enough over and up to where we got a great view of the FQ.

The room needs a lot of help. Mold in the bathroom, sheets were beyond worn, towels were so worn it had holes in one, a/c leaked(yet worked almost too good, which is never a bad thing in NO), toilet seat looked like someone had been chewing on it, and the fabric was coming off the chairs, as well as the door handle to the balcony was coming off.

Raise the rates a tad and clean/update the rooms and you will have an amazing hotel. But as is, I wouldn't recommend to my parents and would warn my friends about the room, yet remind them the location is amazing, the staff is amazing and it can be had for an unbelievable price if they are more budget minded and won't be worrying about the room all that much.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleetus97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

As this was our first trip to New Orleans and the French Quarter, we were not sure where to stay. The Hotel St. Marie turned out to be perfect. The price was reasonable, condition of the hotel and room excellent and the location excellent as well.
Being less than a block from Bourbon Street and centrally located made it easy to come and go.
All the staff were helpful and professional. Everything we asked for was provided.
The light continental breakfast is a nice way to start the day. The peaceful and refreshing pool a great way to unwind. The room was quiet and secure. The A/C worked great. Lighting was a bit low, but nothing untolerable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick-Aurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,473 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,322 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#5 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing