We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“My new favorite hotel in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #55 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“My new favorite hotel in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in April of 2010. I have stayed in probably 25 different hotels/bed and breakfasts in New Orleans, but this was my first time at the HSM. It is my new favorite New Orleans hotel.

The location simply cannot be beat, just 1/2 block off of Bourbon, a safe and easy walk even for 'seniors' like my husband and I (ages 61/58). There is a convenience store right by the hotel and that was handy for picking up soda/candy, etc.

Reception staff was very friendly and helpful.

Our room was a 3rd floor balcony room that overlooked the pool and courtyard area. The room was very spacious and clean. Good tv and plenty of storage/closet area. Bathroom was typical size and very clean and well supplied. The balcony was small but it was fun to stand on it and watch the pool area. We had a king bed (huge!) that was very comfortable. Our room was down a little hallway next to a supply room and I was worried that we would hear the staff getting things out of there, but we never heard a thing, no noise issues at all.

We did not eat the continental breakfast because we prefer to eat at the restaurants New Orleans has to offer, but we did walk down to that area and it look cute.

When taking everything into consideration - location, size of room, comfort of bed, cleanliness, etc., the HSM is my new favorite hotel in New Orleans. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    686
    233
    93
    53
See reviews for
266
681
74
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

I have been to NOLA three times now. I would not say this is my favorite place or that I would go back there just because there are so many choices. For value, you can't beat it and I love the staff. I'm just curious what else is there and I don't drink so could care less how close a place is to Bourbon St. If you do, it is so close it's crazy.

I stayed at their sister hotel last year -- Prince Conti. The room was bigger. My room at St. Marie (room 420) was small but that's OK, it's just me and I wasn't living in that hotel. So who cares, right? The courtyard and pool were lovely. It was WAY quieter than Prince Conti. For that, I give it 4 stars. But the room had a bit of an odor and there were papers on the floor behind the door from the previous person. It did not look like the sink was cleaned well and the bathtub drain did not open for some reason til half way through my shower. Plenty of fluffy towels and hot water and no bugs (good). Bed was super comfy and I slept great. Maybe if I went back I'd ask for a different room? Don't know. The staff was great. John Marshall a real southern gentleman. Amy, who also works at Prince Conti and she was at St. Marie when I was there. She was so helpful in planning my trip to another part of the city via cable car. If you want to get out of there and like estate gardens, visit Longue Vue in Metarie. A nice refuge. I took the cemetery cable car to the end and walked. Not a good idea. Had to go under the highway and it was dangerous but I made it. Also if you take that cable car to the end of the line there are two great cemeteries right there.
The spinach oyster salad at the Desire restaurant on Bourbon was excellent as was the red snapper stuffed with crab meat. As far as I can tell it's one of the only place around there that serves salad!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

we recently stayed here and had a great time. I booked a room with a street view balcony and the room was great. Big room, clean, beds were great. The balcony was huge with a patio table and chairs with a view of Bourbon 1/2 a block away. The hotel staff was very professional and helpful with suggestions of tours and restaurants.
The continental breakfast is not the best but it is adequate for a quick cup of coffee and a croissant. With all the great food in New Orleans, I would rather eat out at one of the many excellent restaurants anyway.
Perfect hotel right in the middle of the French Quarter, 1/2 a block from Bourbon. We did not have a car and had no problem getting anywhere in the Quarter. We walked or took the streetcar around the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tontoMillville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My expectations weren't high with a boutique hotel in the Quarter at this price point so I suppose I was neither pleasantly surprised or disappointed.

The staff wasn't exceptionally friendly nor were they rude or unhelpful. We dealt with the same receptionist the handful of times we required assistance. He directed us to a few restaurants when we asked about that, helped us get some dry cleaning in, and called us a cab for the airport. Again, he wasn't rude but he was kind of subdued and robotic in his interactions. Maybe that's just his personality.

The room was comparative to a old, slightly run-down 2-star hotel (e.g. Days Inn). The room and bathroom were plenty spacious and the bed was usable but not comfortable. I think I may have had some trouble sleeping some nights if not for the excess amounts of alcohol. The room was clean but just had this sort of drabness about it.

We had a balcony room facing Dauphine. It was pleasant to sit out on the balcony in the afternoons even if there wasn't much going on to watch on the street. But it was quiet, save for the delivery and trash trucks in the morning, more interesting than the courtyard; and better than having a balcony on Bourbon (e.g. noisy!!)

Oh, there is a continental breakfast that includes croissants, apples, oranges, coffee, milk, and juice.

Overall it was a clean and comfortable stay at a good location in the Quarter at a hotel that was neither exceptional nor terrible.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastal96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Older building. When we got to our room it smelled musty and was told that older brick buildings all smell that way.We have stayed in older New Orleans buildings ,even in November,and there were no such odors.????The desk did send someone with an "Ionizer" which seemed to take care of the problem along with opening the French doors and airing the room out for several hours while we were out.But the beds..there is no fixing them.If I have on suggestion it is to get some decent beds.It's a good thing it"s New Orleans...the late nights and a few drinks help you get to sleep.On the plus side..great location in the Quarter,good staff,clean and with character.On balance I would stay at a place with some period charm than a new non-descript hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Fl.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

The Hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter, perfect location. Within walking distance to everything. We highly recommend Acme, the best food anywhere in the quarter. Also, shop at Rouse, it's a grocery store a couple of blocks away, 24 ounce beer cans for $1.84. Saves you alot of money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmjw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Hotel and staff were fantastic. Even when the toilet overflowed they came right away and fixed everything. Fantastic experience.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tams1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,468 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing