We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good things but really pretty average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Some good things but really pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2006

This is a hard review for me to write. I research my trips carefully and am usually able to give glowing reviews. I normally keep quiet when I am disappointed. However, since the St. Marie is rated the third best hotel in New Orleans, I feel that I need to let other travelers know what to expect.

We visited the Hotel St. Marie for my birthday. It was our first trip to New Orleans post-Katrina. I'll start with the good.

Management and staff - Kudos, Kudos, Kudos to the manager. For reasons described below, we requested a meeting with the manager. I really hate that I forgot his name (sorry) but he was wonderful. He met with us quickly, took our complaints seriously, and took appropriate action. He even followed up with us a couple of times. It was obvious that he works very hard and takes pride in his work. The Hotel St. Marie is very lucky to have him. Also during our stay, we talked to at least three different people at the front desk. They were all great. They were friendly and helpful.

Location - As other reviews have noted, the location is fabulous. Easy walking distance to anywhere in the French Quarter and crawling distance from Bourbon Street. We did not experience the noise that other reviews mentioned but our room was on the courtyard side.

The average - I think I expected too much because of the high ranking of this hotel and the price that we paid. The room was very ordinary. There were none of the special amenities that I am used to receiving in small boutique hotels. The bedspread was worn and tired-looking. We paid extra for a room with a balcony. The balcony was a joke. It was about the size of a postage stamp and completely covered by a palm tree (we were on the second floor). Even to open the door, you had to fight off palm fronds. Most of the balcony rooms (including ours) did not have chairs on the balcony probably because the balconies were too small.

I could not sleep very well the first night because the mildew smell in the room was bothering my allergies. When I mentioned it to the manager the next day, he said they had a "machine" they could put in the room that should help. It worked great! When we returned in the evening, the mildew smell was gone. I wish I would have complained the first day.

The reason that we were talking to the manager is because the second morning (and all day) we could not take a shower. The water company told him they were working on a 30-inch main and the problem was all over the French Quarter. However, we talked to several people while we were out and about who did not have problems at their hotels. We did have a little bit of water coming out ...not enough pressure to get to the shower but enough for a sponge bath. The manager did adjust our rate for the second night and sent a bottle of champagne to our room. I believe he did everything he could to try to make a bad situation better.

I think my major complaint is about the price (before the adjustment). Our rate was $149 for the balcony room plus 13% tax and a lame $1.00 per night occupany tax. It also cost $24.20 per night to park our car which I consider to be a complete ripoff. For that much money, I expected a lot more.

I wish the Hotel St. Marie all the best although I would only stay there again if I could get a much better price.

  • Liked — hotel staff is great!
  • Disliked — The price
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared for taxes and add-ons
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    726
    245
    100
    57
See reviews for
288
731
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

Stayed at Hotel St. Marie Sept. 26 thru Sept. 30 and was well pleased with handicapped accomodations and the hotel's employees. They went above and beyond to be sure we had a great stay!!! Will definately stay there again.

  • Liked — The service and location.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Caneriver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

* Our all-in cost for a suite on Friday and Saturday nights (2 nights) was about $300. This included $250 for the room inclusive of taxes (quoted rate was about $110 a night without taxes) and approx. $45 for two days parking on sight inclusive of taxes. Note that the rate on the suite was obtained at their website and was lower because we prepaid in advance.

* I give all the detail to say that this is very reasonable for a suite in the Quarter on a weekend with parking.

* The parking is on site and very convenient, although we did have to walk through from the main hotel through the entrance to the parking facility to get to our room. My wife noted that this did not seem all that safe, because someone could easily walk the 150 feet from Toulouse and be in our hallway. Not a big deal to me, but might be to some.

* The two suites on the lower floor are nice with very high ceilings. Nothing spectacular, but roomy and clean, which is nice.

* Biggest complaint, and it is understandable, was the noise in this room. The "window" is actually a door, which appears to be permanantly closed, onto Toulouse. You are about 1/2 block from Bourbon in this room and one of the loudest 80's rock bars in the Quarter is on the corner on Bourbon. You have to realize you are near Bourbon when you check into this hotel, thus you also have to realize that if you want peaceful sleep this is probably not the room for it. Loud music to the early hours and drunks on the street after that. We recognized where we were and accepted it, but you need to be aware. I think there are probably many quieter rooms in the hotel, but there will always be partyers in the hotel and you might be next to them.

* Service was accomadating and reasonably speedy, even though the hotel seemed a little understaffed (this is common in NO right now and patience is all that is needed).

* There will be a glitch here and there, but for the price, I believe you just overlook them and have fun. The couple in front of us at checkout complained about college kids on their floor keeping them up all night and the desk clerk gave them their parking free. YOU ARE 1/2 BLOCK FROM BOURBON. Be aware of that when you book the hotel. There will be some noise and partying going on. If you want quite, stay farther from the action.

* Overall, a nice experience and would stay again. This is one of those hotels where you just need to find a room you really like and request it every time. I don't think you will be disappointed with a stay at the St. Marie.

  • Liked — Clean and roomy (suite).
  • Disliked — Little loud (understandable).
  • Tips/Secrets — Know that the suites will probably be a little loud if you are in bed before 12 or 1.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MSJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

I stayed at this hotel August 15th though 20th and found it wonderful. The staff are friendly and always very willing to help out. For the 5 nights I stayed at the St. Marie I did not have one unpleasant experience. Perfect distance from Bourbon. Hillery's is a great little restaurant downstairs off the lobby, and the bartenders down there are fun to shoot the breeze with. Rooms were very clean and room service came everyday. This is a hotel with plenty of New Orleans charm coming from both the people who work there and the building itself . New Orleans is alive and well!! I will definately be returning in the future to visit the city again and will without doubt stay at the St. Marie.

  • Liked — staff, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book directly through hotel website for best rates
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Solfiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bumphuck, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

Indoor valet parking on site allows you to forget about any hassles getting in or out of your Hotel.

On site resturant provides better than avarage Cajun, creole and contempoary cusine at fair prices for the location.

Courtyard pools offer warm relaxing mellow downs between juants to 1/2 Block away Burbon street and the rest of New Orlean's unique myriad of clubs, watering holes, bistros and music houses.

The facilities are CLEAN!, The whole eatablisment has a clean smell to it without seeming to have to resort to any air enhancers, or incense.

Rooms are clean, modest but they are spotless and hooked uo to the brim with coffee, soaps and the like. Beds are comfortable and have nice linens.

Overall, I've gave it a 4 out of five stars. Next time in the Big Easy there really will be a big n easy decision for us on where to stay.

Location, value and ambiance make this the best Hotel value in the area. We will be back soon.

  • Liked — They care about your investment with them
  • Disliked — I had to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — Help New Orleans rebuild herself.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Graveling_Trome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2006

this hotel was outstanding... no complaints. very close to bourbon st... everything went as advertised.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank southsideslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

Stayed at the Hotel St Marie Aug 13th and 14th. It was great! Everything I read about it is true. The staff are very friendly. Room was really clean. And the hotel its self sits about a half block from Bourbon St. I highly recommend this hotel. I cant wait to go back to NOLA. I just wont do it again in Aug. Way to hot!!! I mean melting hot! But it still was a good trip!

  • Liked — Great Beds. Location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Harvickfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing