We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for a bachelorette party. I couldn't have asked for a more convenient location. The hotel is less than a block from Bourbon Street, but we didn't hear much of the Bourbon Street noise from our room (which over looked Toulouse). The staff was extremely friendly and greeted us as we entered and exited the hotel. My only complaint is that one of our rooms smelled like paint.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniC508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    737
    250
    100
    60
See reviews for
294
742
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Fulton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at the hotel Saint Marie for an girls trip. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Rooms on the street side are kinda noisy. Small balconies. The restaurant Valcherie( I think how it's spelled) is great. 1 block off Bourbon ST.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramc210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Twice I have stayed there. They were wonderful visits! The first time was a vacation, the second I requested to my company to move my reservation to stay there again!! I can't wait to come back..soon!!! Friendly staff, clean hotel, WONDERFUL LOCATION!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Inside valet parking was first positive. Being located a half block from center of bourbon was great too. Quiet enough for good nights rest and great ac. It is an Old hotel that could use some updating but overall nice. Slowest elevator in the world and only one ice machine by the lobby if I got to pick a negative. Would stay here again though.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I totally enjoyed our stay at St. Marie! We had a balcony on the second floor which was great for relaxing and people watching. Our room was clean and comfortable. The courtyard area with the pool, was so comfortable for breakfast, lunch or drinks outside. The food was delicious. The landscaping in this area was quaint with palm trees, flowers and a historical, old brick wall. We were within walking distance of the Hop on Hop off bus, Bourbon Street, Louis Armstrong Park, The River Walk, and numerous other attractions. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with directions and organizing excursions.

Room Tip: We loved the balcony on Toulouse Street. A balcony on the pool side would be nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoDelle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a great stay at the Hotel St Marie and enjoyed the sights and sounds of New Orleans/French Quarter. Location of the hotel was fantastic. Not much noise from outside the hotel (half block from Bourbon St). Room was nice and had a good balcony overlooking the hotel's courtyard. Staff was very nice and the restaurant (Vacherie) had good food (only ate breakfast there). Easy to get to the other sites int he Quarter (Royal St, Jackson Square, Cafe DuMonde, etc.). Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

First off, if you have kids then you may want to stay here. But......if you're here to relax and party, then this is NOT the place for you. The hotel lobby is inviting and tastifully decorated. That's the nicest thing I can say about this hotel. I visit the French Quarter 3 to 4 times a year and try to stay at a different hotel each time just for variety. This hotel needs updating........everything from the carpet to the beds to the wallpaper and lighting in the bathroom. And speaking of lighting ladies.....this is definitely not the place to try and apply makeup to go out. The lighting in the rooms are dim and give off a yellowish light and feel to the room. The carpet is NASTY. I took a shower and walked across the floor several times getting ready. By the time I got ready to put on my shoes the bottom of my feet were black!! Gross! The staff are unfriendly and the hotel basically sucks. I will NEVER stay here again or recommend it to anyone. Yes....it's that bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing