We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I just returned home from a 4 day stay, and the best thing about this hotel is the staff! The location and price are great as well, but the staff here made our stay memorable! Tonya at the front desk saved our day when we got left behind by our swamp tour, she promptly booked us with a different company, made arrangements for our cab when we were leaving, and even took care of our bags after check out so we could enjoy our last day without worrying about them! Every staff member we encountered from the doorman to the maids and bartender were extremely polite and went out of their way to do whatever they could for us, and being in customer service myself, I understand how important, and even trying it can be. There was even a brand new employee ( only his 2nd day) who went above and beyond his duty making sure our needs were met. I cant remember his name unfortunately. Rooms are very clean and location is great, but we will stay here again due to the exceptional staff! See you in October!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank darkkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    737
    250
    100
    60
See reviews for
294
742
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My spouse and I stayed with our kids, 14 and 6, during the week. The location is great but I suggest you take a courtyard room rather that street balcony as it's close enough to the party scene to be woken up by revelers. Also, the garbage and street cleaning crew come by noisily at 3:30 and 5am.

The bathroom did not have a fan and it's door was louvered rather than solid which compromised privacy a bit. The two beds were small, a full size rather than Queen. Otherwise, a nice hotel within walking distance to everything in the French Qtr.

Room Tip: Get an interior room for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just returned from my very first trip to New Orleans and so glad I chose Hotel St. Marie. The staff was absolutely wonderful and welcoming! The location was great, only a block from Bourbon, I could see the Funky 544 from our balcony. Everything was within reasonable walking distance, as far as the French Quarter goes . I do wish the rooms had a mini fridge/microwave, but no biggie. I will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from New Orleans where we spent 5 nights at the Hotel Ste. Marie. We had a fantastic time - but, it was made even better by the terrific service we received from both Brad & Jen.

They definitely went "over & beyond" in their efforts to make sure our stay went extemely smoothly.

We are already in the planning stages of our return trip to this hotel, and will certainly recommend it to anyone wondering where to stay in New Orleans.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

From the moment we entered, it was like being transported to an earlier golden age. Crown moulding, lush wallpaper, good furniture, lovely art, and not a modern looking thing in sight - unless you count the computer in a small corner of the tourist information area close to the front deak. The room was spacious and well-appointed. We had a balcony overlooking the lush inner courtyard wih a pool. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Parking is by valet, and does cost extra, but considering we were close to Bourbon Street and in the French Quarter, worth it. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that the inner courtyard was not kept consistently clean of debris and teh pool was not available during our stay because of repairs. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room is extra, but beautiful when one wants a breeze to sleep in at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel St. Marie. The room was clean and the location was great. We could walk to basically everything we wanted, but it was back far enough from Bourbon street that it was quiet. Had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was amazing so I highly suggest that. The bathrooms are a little small and the doors do not lock. The doors are also not solid so if you're going with someone you don't feel comfortable with hearing you pee you might not like it. The day staff was very friendly, helpful, and funny. My only complaint however is the young man that worked the night/early morning shift at the front desk. He was just flat out rude and unhelpful, both times I interacted with him. All in all though, it was a great place to stay and if I return to New Orleans in the future it will be the first hotel I look at.

Room Tip: Ask for a street balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohyeahtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was Awesome! My sister and I went for Mardi Gras & all the employees were so helpful. Plus, I think we caught pics of orbs in our room. .. It's still up for debate. .. Either way, we will definitely go back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Deyrdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing