We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the bargain”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #63 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If I had one word to describe Hotel St. Marie it would be old. When I say old I don't mean charming. I mean old as in dank and smelly and in some serious need of updating.

The hotel while perfectly located is run down and in need of some serious TLC! Sometimes it pays to spend just a little bit more when it comes to comfort and service. The beds are springy with horrible linens. The room smells musty and the shower is clogged. The staff ( most not all) are in some serious need of customer service basic etiquette classes. To make a long story short; they charged the full amount of our stay on a debit before asking how we wanted to pay, demagnetized our hotel keys and tried to get us in an unmarked cab because they get a cut from the drivers.

There are plenty of hotels to choose from that are reasonably priced in the French Quarter so don't waste your money/time here.

Room Tip: If you must stay here get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lipton333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

931 - 937 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Up and down visit here. First have to say the guest reception was cold. The room was nice clean but but the balcony had a french door that had a huge gap at the floor which when 4 am came resulted in loud street delivery noise. Other than that charming the court yard was wonderful the onsite garage restaurant was great. Goodfoodandgreat drinks at. Good price just off of Bourbon. Great staff without a change of shift did find a les than friendly staff we won them over and found valcherie to be our favorite place and the hotel to be also, good experience , room was ok, bed nice but ask for a blankets and extra pillow. Noisy no balcony unless courtyard. Restaurant awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springtnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed four nights at the St. Marie, and I thought it was a good option, especially for our first time in New Orleans. While we were not interested in the Bourbon St. scene, even being one block away things quiet down quite a bit, and it was still a very convenient location for touring the rest of the French Quarter and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel is a little shabby - new carpeting would be a good call - but our room was big and nice enough, with a large balcony that we shared with our neighbors, looking out over the inner courtyard. We didn't make much use of the courtyard, but it is really beautiful, with a pretty little pool and tall palm trees. I can see how having a balcony on the street might have made for a louder experience, but looking out over the courtyard I found it plenty quiet. The front desk staff were polite and helpful, and the building itself is very nice. I would recommend staying here, just manage your expectations and focus on the location, the lovely courtyard, and the reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was worried it would be dirty and overly used because of review's of all hotels in the French Quarter but it was very clean the restaurant breakfast is delicious, great happy hours at the bar and it's a nice clean one too, not all covered in bourbon street. Speaking of Bourbon Street, literally 2 minute walk, there is also a convenience store on the left as you walk there. GO TO FRITZELS AND FUNKY PIRATE FOR GOOD JAZZ AND BLUES!!! Madame Laveu's Voo Doo shop is a little ways down on the same side of the street. FRENCHMAN ST. is also a great place to go for Music and Food (where the locals go). Once Frenchman St. is shutdown GET OUT OF DODGE!!! Same for bourbon street. OKAY BACK TO THE HOTEL, valet parking and they will charge for it up front so no worries about trying to drive in that city. Our room, we took a cheapy on a deal through Hotels.com so we didn't have a view BUT what we did have was a quiet room away from Bourbon Street noise. Matresses were crap but me and the hubby are used to sleeping on a Serta iComfort (love that matress) so no other matress really compares AND when you come in trashed on your first night on Bourbon St. you'll just pass out any ways and it won't make a difference. THE FRENCH QUARTER IS AMAZING, so much to do, so much to see, you really have to pace yourself to get through it all, DO THE CITY TOUR through Cajun Encounters our tour guide JASON was the bomb, he was funny and gave us SO MUCH INFORMATION and made it fun and it's a great way to beat the New Orleans heat and humidity (we're from New Mexico so we're used to dry heat). Anyways, the Olivier Hotel is right across the street for anyone considering staying at these 2 locations. I would recommend not staying in a hotel on Bourbon St. but if you want to be close HOTEL ST. MARIE IS BEAUTIFUL AND QUIET WITH A GREAT RESTAURANT AND BAR, HOTEL OLIVIER IS RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET IF YOU BOOK THERE INSTEAD........Otherwise I don't think you can go wrong, you won't be in your hotel much anyways.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaW8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Friends highly recommended this place so we gave it a shot. We booked a suite so our 3 and 1 year old could run around. There was no elevator to our room so my husband had to carry our double stroller up and down. I believe we were given a Mardi Gras party suite ... It was huge and we had a great balcony where we could watch Bourbon St... But that was as good as it got. The carpets were stained, the furniture was tatty and the finishes were old. We would leave the room by 8am and return around 3pm and our room still was not serviced. It was not worth what we paid and we will not return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missilegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

so the room was just ok. Not bad-clean but old and the carpet into the bathroom was ripped but hey this is the French Quarter and this hotel is just off Bourbon street (about a half block from dead nuts center of Bourbon street). Lobby and hotel was kinda cool, Old New Orleans. Hotel parking good but pricey at $32 or so. Hotel Prices vary by day of week and season. We paid about $75 for Tuesday night in early May (low season). All in all, very good for the price-good location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdbBBBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed a week at hotel St. Marie and could have stayed longer. Large clean room on ground floor with semi private courtyard. Staff helpful and friendly especially Carl. He gave us good advice on restaurants and attractions. Bourbon street is to be avoided on Saturday nights unless you like hoards of drunks everywhere. We were convenient to all the attractions in N.O. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and oh yes the restaurants in the hotel are excellent especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John13251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 167 in New Orleans
2,297 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 167 in New Orleans
1,648 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
629 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $128 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing